We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm NOT a tourist!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean
Ranked #15 of 58 Lyon B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm NOT a tourist!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were fortunate to spend five nights here in the 'cote sud' appartment. The building is old but well renovated and the place has all the modern conviences. The furniture is stylish and we found the bed to be hard (which we like). At night the only thing one hears is the hourly striking of the Cathedral's bells.

Having an appartment instead of a hotelroom ads to the feeling of being one with the Lyonnais and not feel a tourist.

Set in the 1st arrondissement it is dead centre Lyon it is close to the public transport system and very good resaurants and bakeries.

Mrs. Breuilh is a charming lady and allways willing to help out. We would love to return here, although honesty permits that chanches are small as there are so many other cities to visit.

And yes, there are four flights of stairs... but we soon got used to them and with eating all that good food in Lyon one can only be grateful of the absence of an elevator ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael_G33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyonBellavista, Propriétaire at Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I thank you for this kind message. Yes, the apartments are located, Place Saint Jean, heart of the historical district. If, you are looking for them to have a visit , it is in the 5th arrondissement and not in the 1rst one as it is said. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Many thanks to Beatrice for a lovely stay in her delightful cote sud apartment! The location is very convenient for exploring Vieux Lyon, and the Metro just across the square makes it easy to reach other destinations throughout the city. Don't miss the quenelles at the nearby Cafe de Soleil, or the incredible fresh meats and produce (and why not get some beautiful fresh flowers?) at the market along the Soane. The bakery just across the street has fabulous pastries, sandwiches, and breads. You can also grab a morning coffee or evening nightcap at the bar just across from the apartment. Otherwise enjoy the views from the lovely salon morning and night. You will find Beatrice has provided everything to make your stay enjoyable. Do be aware that there is NO elevator and the apartment can only be reached by climbing many many old stone stairs (thus, the incredible views over St Jean!). I was able to manage this even with a bad knee that flared up on the airplane ride, limiting trips and taking it one step at a time. Many thanks to Beatrice for her genuine concern about this. In sum, this is an absolutely charming apartment with a lovely hostess, and I hope to return to enjoy it once again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Perfect perfect perfect location in the old part of Lyon. Lots of character, being part of an old medieval building. Right near metro as well. Lots of great restaurants. Best bakery in Lyon right across the street -- yummy pastries, perfect baguettes, great sandwiches.

Apartment is very clean and functional, wirh great views. But there are lots of stairs, being on the 4th floor of the building, and with WC on a separate floor from bedroom and shower. Not a problem for me as a healthy person traveling alone, but not for the weak knee'd.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WACPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I chose this apartment because of the pictures and the location - I was not disappointed in any way. The changing light on the cathedrals durng the day and lit up at night make for lovely views out of all the windows. The apartment is well set up for self catering, although I prefered to taste the delights of the patisseries and restaurants around this lovely city. The apartment is well located one minute's walk from the metro, close to buses and perfect for long or short strolls in the Old town or along the river

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 875Donb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the fifth floor apartment. It was lovely. Fully self-contained. With everything we needed for our stay in Lyon, including functional kitchen and washing machine. It is located right in the heart of the old town, overlooking the main square and in easy walking distance of the main shopping district and daily fresh food market along the river.
The only downside is no elevator to get you up to the fifth floor - but the climb helps work off some energy to make room for the lovely restaurants recommended by Beatrice and the delicious French pastries!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyonBellavista, Propriétaire at Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
It's kind of you to write a message. The apartment is at the 4th floor and not the fifth. There are only 4 floors in the buiding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,250 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#16 of 194 in Lyon
979 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#34 of 194 in Lyon
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean

Property: Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean
Address: Rue Saint-Jean, 69005, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Lyon
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town apartements with splendid views on the old historical district of the Vieux-Lyon. Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean CÔTÉ SUD is labellised 4****. Apart'Observatoire Saint Jean CÔTÉ OUEST is labellised 3***. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing