We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Remanence

La Remanence
Ranked #521 of 3,228 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $97
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Cordeliers - Jacobins
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent food and service. The waiters were really friendly and professional, not pushing to take the most expensive food and for example. The menu "lumiere", especially created for the "festival of lights" early December, was really interesting, mixing flavours and texture like in a this foie gras and truffle foam. The wines were really good and the bill affordable (approximately €80 per person all included).

Helpful?
Thank pmdaguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    71
    33
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food, Service Needs Work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We (4 in total) had dinner here on a Saturday night at the end of November 2012. The wine was excellent (red Givry), the food and amuse-bouches were simply divine and perfectly thought-out.

We most enjoyed the scallops with a light truffle foam, the duck and the dessert (a sort of chocolate cake with pecan/maple syrup ice cream to die for). The atmosphere is nice - exposed rock walls and big tables, with thick white tablecloths.

The service was so disorganized (who is the sommelier? who is the waiter? who clears the table? I have no idea!) and out of place for the quality of the restaurant. It became a problem mid-way through our meal, and delays meant that although we arrived at 20H30... we left after midnight. I hope this was an off evening, because the service was really unacceptable.

The food was exceptional, however, and we will return soon to try the other dishes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Fantastic welcome, food and service and all at very reasonable prices.

We shall certainly return again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneyFosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Do the set epicurien menu
Great food with fois gras, sweetbreads et al. Good flavours ina lovely setting. Educated wine assistance that did not plump for the more expensive.
A good eatling experience for the gourmand in Lyon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
259 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Very Good French Cuisine. Service can be better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The food is very good. The service needs improvement. Our server did not seem interested at all in ding his work. The excellent cuisine balanced the poor service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hexagone6x6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Remanence also viewed

 

Been to La Remanence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing