We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and clean but....”
Review of Hotelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotelo
Ranked #5 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights. If you plan on taking the airport shuttle bus to the Perrache train station and then walk to the hotel, try to pay attention as you'll see the hotel just before the bus turns into the station. The station has many entrances and it will be easy to get disoriented once you get off the bus. Try to avoid the family room (one with 3 beds). The room is dark like a dungeon with 4 or 5 small red lamps and the only windows, which has a heavy drape, is near the ceiling (part of the room has a 20 ft ceiling). The beds are slightly bigger than cot size and are not too comfortable. The bathroom is huge and has no partition separating the shower from the sink and the toilet. Everything is clean and the breakfast is not bad. For about the same rate, accomodations in the second district seem to be better all-around choices for tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Hotelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 306 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

Hotelo is an excellent choice for anyone visiting Lyon but an especially excellent choice for wheelchair users or anyone who has limited mobility and requires an adapted room. The hotel has a clean modern design and the owner and night receptionist are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Aside from not having a few small amenities (hair dryer & electric tea kettle would've been nice), you do not for a minute feel like you are in a 2 star hotel. Rooms are exceptionally well priced for what you get, as is breakfast (a basket of croissants and mini-baguettes w/ confitures, yogurt, cereals, coffee, tea, and orange juice for only 6.50 EUR). I only had breakfast my last day but wish I had ordered it on other days as well.

The hotel is on two floors and has no lift so it is important that you request a room on the ground floor if you have limited mobility. There is one adapted room on the ground floor which has three single beds and a roll-in shower. Each of the three beds is a slightly different height so transferring should be pretty easy regardless of the height of your chair. Both the bathroom and shower provide plenty of room for wheelchair users to roll around in and can accommodate most turning radiuses. There was really nothing I couldn't access there on my own. The toilet has grab bars and the shower area has grab bars and a fold down bench to sit on. Whoever designed this bathroom must have really understood the needs of wheelchair users. There are also no steps or thresholds to worry about when entering from the street, so it's really easy access throughout. The only thing I didn't like about my room was the fact that the beds were pretty hard, but I got used to it after the first night so can't really complain.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It was enjoyable, with its newly decorated, contemporary look in each room. Room was clean, the bathroom was decorated with open showers. We were not disturbed by any outside noise even though the hotel is located on a corner of a busy street and within walking distance to a train station. Extra charge for parking.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrails56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I booked this hotel despite not finding any reviews for it on tripadvisor. We stayed for 2 nights at Hotelo and I was extremely happy with the hotel overall. It is located very close to perrache train station and only about 10min on a tram to part dieu (the main train station). It was brand new and very nice and modern. The owner was extremely helpful and assisted in all of our queries. We had breakfast for an option extra few euros and was happy with it. Coffee/tea, juice, cereral, croissant, french stick and jams. The only small negative was that the bed was not very comfortable. But overall for the price, we were very happy with Hotelo.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GGMIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lijea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank valesdomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 196 in Lyon
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelo

Address: 37 cours de Verdun Recamier, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: $67 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotelo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hearth of the historical centre of Lyon, referenced at the UNESCO classification, the HOTELO hotel offer you 17 rooms for one to four person. The hotel has been totally refurbished and offer a smart decoration, a modern equipment and a personal service. All rooms are with air conditioning, equipped with flat screen TV and an access to canal+ and all the TNT channels. For your business trip you’ll be able to work on the working desk in the room and the free Wifi access will give you the opportunity to have a working and pleasant stay, at the same time. The central location of the property give you an easy access to all area of Lyon. Access to the subway, buses, tramway and train in less than 5 minutes will make that you’ll never be far from your meeting point and all the point of interest of Lyon. To start the day on the best way, the Hotelo is proposing a breakfast with croissant, bread, marmalade, honey, yogurt, cheese, fruit juices and a hot drink. Breakfast is served from 6h30 until 10h30. On the evening you’ll have the opportunity to discover the famous « Bouchon Lyonnais, that are less than 10 minutes walking distance from the Hotelo. Access to the HOTELO is really easy: From the Perrache station (train/subway/tramway) it is 5 minutes walking distance, go out on the Place Carnot side and go to the right on the Cours de Verdun Recamier. By car, always follow city centre than “86 rue de la Charite” than you are in front of the hotel. Upon reservation, the hotel is proposing a private secured car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing