We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fast service, good food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Conde

Le Conde
Ranked #2,250 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Carnot - Gailleton
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“fast service, good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Le Condé is a typical Lyon restaurant, serving local specialties. Portions are not very large, but combined with a desert or a started, you will have more than enough. The restaurant itself has a very nice authentic atmosphere. Serving was very friendly. After ordering my food arrived very fast, which makes me wonder that it was probably not freshly prepared. Overall, the price is at the high side, although you can do a lot worse in this area. Food quality is good, they serve the typical local food in the right way. Be aware that they only speak basically English, so is can be wise to know the French name of the dishes, as some of the Lyon specialties are not suited for every taste….

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    45
    28
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely bistro in lyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

we went to le conde according to a trip advisor review. we had awonderful meal. we orderd two fixed menu. the pumpkin soup was delicus, i took a beaf steak' and my colleuge had salmon. both plates were very good. desert was great. we storngly recommand this lovely bistro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cohenfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Affordable, local, & so tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

My friend & I visited after reading tripadvisor reviews, we were not disappointed. She had onion soup and beef bourginon, I tried the frogs legs, which came with the best brussel sprouts I've ever eaten. Dessert was not as good, but still yummy. Between us, we speak a tiny bit of French, but the waitress was very patient with us. If I ever come back to Lyon, I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ultrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
204 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A real bargain‏”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Le Conde is a nice small restaurant very close from the Perrache station. it's not very attractive when you look at it from the outside but it's a place to go, no fancy decor or cuisine but all the best specialty from Lyon (tablier de sapeur, Quenelle, grenouille (yes frog legs )..) and a lot of french classics. it's delicious it's cheap and the wine is good...so let's eat there !!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank strasbourgmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cute and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a classical Lyonnnaise bouchon, very traditional but also very authentic. It is nothing fancy but serves classical Lyonnaise food. They also serve raclette on Fridays and on Saturday evenings, which is what we had. If you have never eaten raclette before, this is the place to go. Basically the raclette is a device for melting half a loaf of cheese and then you eat the melted cheese with charcuterie and peeled potatoes. it is not an evening meal for people who get nightmares after eating cheese! We were so full that we could only eat half of what we the lovely waitresses offered us and we could not face breakfast nor lunch the next day. Having said that, it was great food and a very funny experience. The locals who watched us eatching all tried to make contact and we felt very embarrassed that our French was so bad. To conclude: this is a place where you can get to know local cuisine and local people. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced, the waitresses attentive, the place all in all very cute and definitely authentic! Highly recommended if you stay in the Perrache/Carnot area of Lyon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Exilaustrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Conde also viewed

 

Been to Le Conde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing