We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Poelon d'Or

Le Poelon d'Or
Ranked #51 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Carnot - Gailleton
Description: The whole team is happy to welcome you from Monday to Friday for you to discover a fine an genuine cuisine from LYON, at the heart of the Ainay quarter.Member of the "Authentique Bouchon Lyonnais" association
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited last night by recommendation of our hosts in Lyon. It was not disappointing! We both had the Menu de la mer, and it was fantastic! Shared half a bottle of champagne, combined with a very attentive service, which was both warm and welcoming. All in all, a perfect dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    188
    33
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
422 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Ca va”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was seated at my usual table in a Lyonnais bouchon (next to the kitchen, where Americans seem to be seated in disproportionate numbers). Food was good, but certainly not spectacular (and a mild disappointment in the context of the many very positive reviews of this restaurant). Had a salad Lyonnaise, the beef with shallot sauce, and the "French toast" for dessert -- each was good, but none was memorable. Good value in the pots de vin. Service was good, especially considering that only two servers were covering a busy dining room. Overall, a serviceable meal, but certainly no better than several (randomly selected) bouchons in I have eaten recently.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you want to experience true Lyonnais cuisine you could do worse than the Poelon d'Or. I visited this restaurant on a rainy Thursday night, and being solo I was asked to join a table with two Americans (who were very friendly - but that's beside the point). They have reasonably priced menus but I wanted to choose a la carte, so the bill ended up just over EUR40.

The signature starter is a steamed artichoke heart with a generous slice of foie gras in the middle: delicious although not exactly diet. The mains was a yummy Parmentier de Canard - think shepherd's pie but with shredded duck as meat; the dessert was a lavender crème brulée that had a surprising abundance of lavender. Overall a very good meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diegodelizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was recommended by the hotel du simplon (a very nice find). The hotel did not know about the restaurant, but it lookd good so we tried it.
We wanted to eat every meal there but he was closed on weekends. The service was friendly, food was Michelin quality, and the atmosphere made one feel at home in a foreign country. Portland is our home but this made me feel part of an extended family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HalRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local gastronomy and hospitality at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you are looking for a place to celebrate a special occasion, have a great time with your loved ones, or treat your taste-buds on a trip to heaven, then this is the place to be.
It has a great ambiance and serves traditional local dishes. And all this for a good price.

You might think I am somehow related to this restaurant (I'm not) because of the lack of any negative comment, but I just can't think of any. If I am ever returning to Lyon I will definitely visit again!

Oh, and book in advance if you want to be sure of a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Poelon d'Or also viewed

 

Been to Le Poelon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing