We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and accidental find”
Review of Il Palio

Il Palio
Ranked #518 of 3,967 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Carnot - Gailleton
Description: Traditional pizzeria in the wood oven, only with fresh products imported from Italy, worked and elaborated on the spot. Our dishes and desserts are also made on site only based on fresh and certified home-made products. In a desire for transparency, our establishment is not equipped with any freezing device to guarantee the freshness and the quality of our products. IL Palio and his team
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Chanced upon this restaurant and had an excellent last meal here before leaving Lyon.
Service very good and excellent food. Wine also very reasonable. What more could you want .,

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank joyandian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Lovely Italian place worth a visit. I had a gorgeous pizza done in the wood fired oven.

Great prices, great food and great service I would definitely go back!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank vickyc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Wouldn't go as far as saying that it was like Italy as the pizza was a bit thick and has the terrible French affliction of being sickly and creamy but the charred crusts were delish and of all French pizzas I've had this was by far the best. Lovely staff and Italian pizzaiolo, shame they don't do it like Italy but guess they are supplying the French clientele with what they expect... friendly, fun and with outside seating.. free parking opposite.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jtottz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

We happened upon this gem when stretching our legs at the nearby park and were looking for something simple and quick for dinner. It did not disappoint! We ordered our pizza to go and sat and watched them make and cook our pizza. The staff was wonderful and even let my 3 year old and I step close to the oven (enough to feel the heat) and watch ours cook by the flame. The pizza was amazing (gobbled up by said 3 year old as well).

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank D8888XUsarahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann F, Gérant at Il Palio, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

It was a pleasure to have you in our restaurant, and we hope you'll enjoy your stay in France.
See you soon!
The Il Palio crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Inexpensive Traditional restaurant with very nice menu. The food was tasty.
There were menu starting at €18, but average 3 dishes with wine is around €30

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing