We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in tourist hell in Vieux Lyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Retrouvailles

Les Retrouvailles
Ranked #91 of 3,203 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Diamond in tourist hell in Vieux Lyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We found this lovely gem one street off the tourist traps lining Rue Saint-Jeune. Following our rules - if it's empty, keep walking; if it's full of Americans, run; if it's full of locals, worth the wait - we were more than satisfied with quality of food, service and decorum. Cannot go wrong with the three-course dinner menus (24E, 32E); warm, hearty, home-style meals with hosts Pierre and Odile

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    60
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little bit disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I dined at Les Retrouvailles on the strength of Tripadvisor previous reviews. We agree that the welcome from Odile was warm and friendly, but she got to be quite busy during the evening, especially with some favorite regulars, so we felt a just little bit ignored. The food was good and solid but nothing to write home about -- it was more family cooking than ambitious or out of the ordinary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had our last dinner in Lyon at Les Retrouvailles and we really enjoyed all of it.The couple who runs it couldn't have been any nicer.The food is solid(very lyonnaise),the service excellent and the place has an outstanding atmosphere.I highly recommend it!!Very affordable on top of it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, friendly and always memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Merci millefois Pierre et Odile pour le chaleur de votre acceuil, gentillesse, cuisine et generosite! We have taken visitors from India, England, Belgium, Switzerland and the US and never been disappointed. Our son was 13 when he met them and Odile was so welcoming (we'd moved from the US) and chatted to him about his art and when we left for the US 5 years later, we had one of our last meals there. Book early because it gets filled. Listen to Odile's wine recommendations. And ALWAYS leave room for Pierre's piece de resistance: the cornucopia of dessert that appears midway through the evening in the centre of the resto. The scallops are cook to perfection as is the palate cleansing mouthful of cauliflower puree seasoned with horseradish. The beef melted, and the desserts... mousse au chocolat, the pralines... made it a favourite....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank usamant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A warm friendly welcome in the Vieille Ville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very friendly place to eat. The food was copious, and pretty good, but it was the service, welcome and family atmosphere that was the most striking aspect of the place

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AckExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Retrouvailles also viewed

 

Been to Les Retrouvailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing