We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner at Gourmet de Seze”
Review of Le Gourmet de Seze

Le Gourmet de Seze
Reserve with
Le Gourmet de Seze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 3,299 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $139
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marechal Lyautey - Vitton
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“dinner at Gourmet de Seze”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

intimate restaurant,nicely appointed. slight mix up over reservation,as booking in christian name, very French. two menus to choose from both excellent. we went for the discovery menu with the wine pairings.Starter was sea bass fillet in a light sauce, main course was scallops and duck fois gras on the same plate excellent presentation and tasted delicious correct balance of flavours. Cheese was next,moving from goat to rocqfourt ,fast becoming more intense as you moved round the plate. Dessert was amazing ,three different items. finished no then came mini chocolate
souffle.
restaurant deserves its michelin star,great food great staff. Booking essential.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondo190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    80
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable gastronomic table”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I took the cheapest menu, called "discovery", but if you have budget and appetite 100+ euro menus are also available.

So 50+ euros for the "discovery" menu, including appetizer (mise en bouche), starter, main course, cheese, and dessert.
Add 20+ euros for 1 wine glass per course, 4 in total.

The menu itself is amazing, the name of each dish takes 3 to 4 lines in the menu, just to let you know the complexity of the dishes.
A real challenge for your palate.

To simplify, I had scallops, sea bass, 5 different cheeses in small bites thanks God, and 4 desserts in small portions. Every dish was a surprise, a very unique and delicate mix of flavors and cooking techniques.

The restaurant room is simple and classic, but not as elegant as the cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mafeixu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would also deserve its star also outside France...and not too expensive”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent restaurant for true gastronomic dinner in Lyon. Reservations absolutely needed.

Only menus at dinner, which are gorgeous (even the less expensive). Top quality products treated very delicadly and with a sofisticated touch. The dessert(s) are simply incredible (as are also those small sweet pieces served with the coffe).

The atmosphere was very relaxed (one of these place were everybody go because they love the food served at the restaurant and not because going there is a social event). The service was also excellent and friendly.

I did not feel it was expensive for the food they serve (for prices take a look at the menus online).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPR_bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburb of Houston
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Turned my bubba hubby into a foodie in one great meal.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first splurge meal outside of our hometown (Houston) and it was superb. The photos provided by other reviewers are accurate, but one is missing: the foie gras. I thought I had had great foie gras and I was so wrong. We ordered the "surprise me" menu, and the foie gras they brought out was large and very tender, gently seared on two sides. The texture, flavor, presentation, and preparation were unparalleled. I have been talking about it nonstop ever since. We are not cheese connoisseurs and were delighted to try the cheese selections and even though two of the four didn't suit us, no matter how hard we tried, we enjoyed trying them, and there was plenty of food even if we didn't love a couple of bites. The dessert course was 3 small dishes, like the photos you see, all exquisite, followed by a chocolate lava cake that was mind-bogglingly delicious. When my husband ordered coffee, it was accompanied by even more desserts - two little pot au cremes, some kind of rolled up cooked butter and a cookie or something, as you can see in the photos. We don't drink wine and yet thoroughly enjoyed the experience and surprisingly were not miserably full afterwards. We were delighted when the chef presented us with a signed and dated menu for our meal, to take with us. You can tell we are not gourmands (yet) but this was the highlight of 10 days eating our way across France from the South, through Lyon to the Alps and then to Paris. We felt that the meal was very reasonably priced for what it was. If you love beautiful food and attentive service, this will be a treat for you.

I was very surprised that the other guests were dressed casual. We dressed up and were glad we did even though we stood out. (This was a Saturday lunch.) It is a very small restaurant, it seats maybe 20 or so.

It was not easy to find a place to park. We were only in Lyon long enough for this meal, on our way from the South to the Alps.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aujourdhui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Superb, best meal in years”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the surprise me menu. The cost of the whole meal, for 4 including all courses, wines and coffee was about €450. A lot, but worth every penny when you see what we had. Here was our menu...


Appetiser served with Kir Royal - Veuve Cliquot champagne
Courgette Mousse, Cod Puree with Olive Oil, Aubergine cavier with Vegetable Cold Soup and toast with tapenade.

Mise en Bouche 
Ratatouille with fried shallot

Starter served served with Pouilly-Vinzelles Burgundy white wine
Pan seared foie gras with roasted rhubarb and a balsamic reduction

Fish Course served with Chardonnay white wine
Line caught grilled Mackerel with butter sauteed green cabbage and citrus reduction

Meat Course served with Herault red wine
Slow cooked duck fillet with wilted spinach, lyonnaise potatoes with lardons and a slightly spiced jus

Cheese Course served with Herault red wine
Fresh goats cheese marinated with olive oil and herbs, mild goats cheese rolled in ashes, young goats cheese, ewe's milk tomme and Langres served with rye bread with raisins and walnuts

Grand Dessert served with Ste Croix du Mont sweet white Bordeaux wine
Trio consisting of 
     Strawberry Millefeuille with vanilla cream 
     Lychee and raspberry cream in a chocolate cup, topped with raspberry marshmallow 
     and 
     Fruit salad served in a mint jelly with raspberry and passion fruit sorbets

Warm Dessert served with Rivesaltes sweet red wine
Chocolate fondant with chicory flavoured creme anglaise

Petit Fours served with coffee

The meal lasted over 3 hours and there was not a single item that was not prepared brilliantly, presented beautifully and tasted sublime. It was a treat for a friends 60th birthday party and worth every penny. The service was excellent, friendly and efficient and gave us a meal to remember. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jimworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Gourmet de Seze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing