We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Fawlty Towers!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2008

This hotel was recommended by the tourist office so we weren't very worried. First problem was finding the place as none of the maps showed the street 'Gabriel Peri', still we got there after a good 12 hour journey half an hour after the allocated checking in time.
Problems with the e-mail reservation and receptionist couldn't get the computer working .. this took a long while and then we were handed our room key only to find it hadn't been prepared. We had to sit in the room whilst poor maid rushed around, very flustered and not entirely happy to tell the truth, not a very good start.
The room was very, very basic with a view not on the French Alps, not on the Bastille, not on the beautiful town but onto very delapidated buildings very close to our window. No spare blankets, pillows or towels available.
On the plus side, the breakfast was excellent and the dining-room was very pretty.
On the last day, for some reason, the receptionist had muddled up our reservation and we got only one set of towels between the two of us, not really acceptable before a long journey home.
Please note that there is nowhere to park for guests and that the staff recommended we do not park in their street as not safe ..
I would not stay there again sadly.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank ellygloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angélique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikaleecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank norbertroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank vincp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas R, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Novotel Grenoble Centre
#6 of 50 in Grenoble
442 reviews
Hyper-Centre
Hotel de l'Europe Grenoble Hyper Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inter-Hotel Le Gambetta
#11 of 50 in Grenoble
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 2 rue Gabriel Peri, 38000, Grenoble, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Price Range: $63 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, service and well-being first. City center, 300 meters from the train and bus stations, the Congress Centre of the World Trade Center and easy access to Tram Alpexpo conference center. Near Minatec and scientific center.The Royal Hotel welcomes you in a family atmosphere. The hotel offers 37 quiet rooms with premium bedding, including several rooms in a renovated decoration design ... All have 20 channels (flat screen TV), from standard rooms to comfort versions and Grand Confort with private lounge to enjoy a pleasant stay in Grenoble. Wi-Fi access and free parking High-speed city nearby.A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room from 7:00 to 10:30. We recommend you to start your day with a wide choice in our rich breakfast buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing