We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great service modern amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location great service modern amenities.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Finally a nice new hotel in Grenoble. Staff super friendly great location in the heart of town steps from the tram. New clean and modern. Rooms are typically tight but very comfortable. Overall excellent for a business trip or short tourist stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    172
    32
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
251
22
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Positives first. The staff at this hotel are extremely helpful and courteous. In particular the housekeeping and breakfast room staff do a first class job. It is well positioned for access to all the main tourist sites.The hotel does however appear to have a problem in defining its personality. The exterior of the building is quite classical. The interior is very modern. No problem with that blend except the "modern" does not quite work. The public spaces are bright but for me rather too clinical. The real issues are however the rooms, or at least room 109. Firstly the very large, very uncomfortable and therefore very useless Big e chair does nothing for the room but waste space. How much better it would have been to provide a couple of simple but comfortable chairs. The shower design is also something of a problem. The screen is too narrow and one must place a rolled up towel along the floor to prevent water covering the whole area. However the biggest disappointment concerns the noise levels. The specific reason for choosing this hotel was that the windows were "triple glazed". Whether that is accurate or not it is clear that the windows are at least double glazed. However they do not keep out the noise. The conversations and vehicle traffic, including the very early morning street sweeper and garbage trucks are clearly audible inside the room and make sleeping difficult. Similarly, unless a dancing elephant managed to check into the room above, the noise transmission through the ceiling indicates a lack of adequate insulation. It is a real pity. For me, and I expect most people, one of the most important features of a hotel is that it provides an opportunity to get some decent rest. Notwithstanding all of the positives the hotel is not perfect and anyone thinking of staying should try for a room on the highest floor and ideally away from the street. Hopefully, not withstanding the apparently recent renovations, some thought might be given to focusing more on comfort and practicality and less on making the rooms look "trendy".

Room Tip: Go as high as possible and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicenzanino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good location at the city center, near to no car walking area bars, shops, restaurants. Very helpful and kind staff in reception.
Small rooms but clean and modern. Free wifi. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aga p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We were a flight crew staying at this hotel for 7 nights. We were blown away by how friendly and helpful everyone at this hotel was. They stayed up late serving us drinks in the bar and were always there smiling early in the morning to help us with whatever we needed. They had a lovely breakfast spread every morning and always gave great restaurant recommendations every evening for dinner. I wish every hotel we stayed at had great service like this. The rooms were nice and modern too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amylace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but it is highly recommended. On arrival we asked about the secure parking and the hotel porter offered to drive our car to the car park so that we didn't have to worry about heading back into the traffic - a really great service. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, the porter took our bags to the room and explained everything - the whole stay was completely hassle free. I was expecting quite a small room as we just booked the standard room but it was a great size with a lovely modern bathroom - all very well thought out. I had to do a bit of work and the internet connection was fast and easy to use. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very quiet considering it was very central. The receptionist gave us a great restaurant recommendation only a 5 minute walk away. Overall a great hotel with excellent staff - easy to see why the ratings are so high on trip advisor, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmsRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel was super; the team is very professional, helpful and polite.
The location could not be better
Best value for you money
The design is very modern, elegant and functional.
We warmly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yalon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The staff were the stars of this hotel. From check-in to late night drinks at the bar to check-out, everyone with whom we dealt with was friendly, efficient, and helpful.

The location right in the middle of town was another plus point. The free WiFi worked great. The rooms were quite small but the bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds which I've encountered.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
Novotel Grenoble Centre
#6 of 50 in Grenoble
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyper-Centre
Hotel de l'Europe Grenoble Hyper Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre

Property: Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Address: 5 rue de la Republique, 38000, Grenoble, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble > Hyper-Centre , Saint-André
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grand Hotel is located in the Grenoble City HyperCentre, 10 metres from Place Grenette. The elegant guest rooms are soundproofed, air-conditioned and some offer a balcony. The guest rooms have a private bathroom with a bathtub or an Italian shower. They also have a minibar, a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a stylish bar, Le Stendhal, offering a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. A buffet breakfast is served each morning and a range of cold dishes can be delivered to your room for lunch or dinner. The front desk at Le Grand Hotel Grenoble is open 24 hours a day and valet parking is available. Grenoble TGV Train Station is 1.5 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing