We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
94
151
77
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
151
77
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location victor hugo square decor is dated recommend this hotel charming hotel old town family room balcony overlooking four nights hotel guests central location pedestrian area tram stop mountains parking agreement lyon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 350 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed there as a family for 2 nights. When,asked to write a review, I was as honest as possible. Nonetheless, instead of taking into account my review, the management decided to attack me with an unprofessional email. Would not recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Passenger32674800247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Dear guests,

First of all, we wish to remind you that we are a 62 rooms, 3 star hotel where we are proud to take great care of the well being of our guests. We always call them by name and treat them as individuals.
You did stay with us for 2 nights. I, welcomed you personally and also assisted you on numerous occasions during your stay with us. As we always do, we answered all your questions and took care of all your requests. On all those encounters, there was no sign of any problems or complaints from your side.
Two days after your departure, you sent us an email to complain about our customer service during your stay without any explanation or pointing a situation in particular. As we take the feedbacks of our guests very seriously we replied to your email asking for details. The constructive comments of our guests are very important for us as they help us to improve our service constantly. To this day, we never received any reply from you to our email.
But on the 22nd of November (one week after receiving your email) you posted a comment on a travel website stating again that you were unhappy about our customer service and giving a very bad rating to our staff only. No other aspect of your stay were evaluated.
As I said, constructive comments are very important to us but we cannot accept to let the reputation of our staff being demolished without reasons or actual facts. This is why, (and it is our right) we replied to your comment on the travel website. And, because we are transparent and honest, we forwarded you by email a copy of our reply, Still Hoping that you would let us know why you were so upset with us.
We did finally get a reply from you, saying that it was very unprofessional of us to dispute your comments and that you would take this matter further. You even called me on the same evening and said that we had no rights to reply to your comments on internet. Of course, we have the right to defend the reputation of our hotel and our staff. Finally, after asking you very calmly on numerous occasion what went wrong during your stay for you to be so negative, you only gave me one reason "You do not greet your guests every time you see them in the contrary of the 5 star hotels we normally stay in, in Paris and Abu Dhabi". As I stated on the top of this message, we are a small 3 star hotel, we only have 9 employees and we treat all our guests personally. Of course we greet our guest once when we see them each day. As I told you on the phone, I worked in 5 star hotels where the staff say hello to the guests every ten minutes simply because they do not remember who they are.
We are just saddened by the fact that you clearly choose the wrong hotel, not meeting your needs and decided to try to brake our reputation rather than recognizing your mistake.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

Hotel d'Angleterre is right in the heart of Grenoble, a beautiful location with the mountains all around. The hotel is very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful, and most speak fluent english for those not fluent in french. A buffet breakfast is provided every morning which is more than adequate, with an option of breakfasting in your room. I also had my clothes laundered and these were returned on the same day provided they were handed in before 9am. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel. I was very comfortable and at home here!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Getaway36279879410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially our very convenient location, the service of our staff, our laundry service and of course our breakfast buffet full of local products.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon

Best regards.

The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

I would suggest this place due to the position and the good service. We have had a great deal due to tripadvisor...as usual. Warmly suggest if you want to walk in the pedestrian area. We will surely stop by again

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dream32305035332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for our great location in the center of Grenoble and for the warm service of our team.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon

Best regards.

The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Location in itself counts more than 50% of the story: you will find yourself right at the entrance of the old town, perfect position to visit walking. The hotel has an agreement with a parking in the surrounding area but we found easily, probably being full August, on a road very close to the hotel. Assistance at reception was kind and careful, we promptly received all the information we needed. The structure is not recent and you can easily see the signs of the time, but it's well cared. Our room was facing the big Place Victor Hugo with a nice view and cleanliness was satisfactory. Only defects, room and most of all bathroom are not so spacious but as a transitional tourist, it works more than properly. We didn't experience the breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ilghigo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear guests,

We thank very much for your interest in our hotel and for taking the time to write the above comment.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the service of our team, the cleanliness of our rooms and of course, our location, right at the heart of Grenoble city center.

We would be very happy to welcome you once again to Grenoble.

Yours Sincerely

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

My room was clean and comfortable. It had a little balcony overlooking the Victor Hugo Square. Within walking distance of great shops and resturants, with Tram A/B less than a minute walk away. Reception was friendly and very helpful. I would say the bathroom is a bit small and the shower fiddly to work. Also breakfast is pricey if not included with your room, but it was delicious as a treat.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KirstenMMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially our great location at the heart of the city as well as the service of our staff.

For your next stay, do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be very happy to offer you some great rates including our fantastic breakfast full of local products.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon.

Best regards.

The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews