We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Hotel Les Cygnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Cygnes
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped there on our way down from Zermatt back to Geneva. The idea of waking up by watching the sunrise over the Lac Leman was inspired. The hotel is super kitsch, in a good way, very french and very welcoming. Make sure you book a room with a view of the lake, it's stunning.

The restaurant downstairs was lovely, and again like something out of a 50's movie. I was ecstatic to find that in the middle of summer I was able to enjoy Tartiflette!!!

All in all I would recommend this hotel. As other reviews have mentioned, do travel light, the rooms are small but quaint.

Room Tip: Travel light the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_swiss_miss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    208
    76
    52
    60
See reviews for
111
385
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was like walking into the past. Enjoyed every minute in the fussy bedroom, it may have been small but what more do you want than a place to sleep in a comfortable environment. The staff were very friendly and the head man in the restaurant was extremely helpful and nice. Meal was very good, but the wine was a little overpriced. Would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashasax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Very cosy hotel with very friendly staff. If to add a perfect restaurant with the French cuisine it's almost the best place I've ever been to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The title is the most important remark. The position is excellent but the rooms are very very little .

Room Tip: rooms on the lake and not small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clo13121946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verbier
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

If you want to pay handsomely to be insulted this is the place to go. Sebastien Buet is as rude as they come. We arrived to find that none of our requests when booking had been taken into account and M Buet in as much said ".....off go and find another hotel" and then "it is not my fault if you are tired because you chose to arrive on a bicycle"

We were told we could not have a table as requested weeks previously, by the lake side because they are all for 3 or 4 people. When we came down to dinner, guess what at least 3 tables by the lake had couples sitting at them.

Room Tip: if you want a lake view you have to be very explicit. We asked for a lake view and were at the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The position is brilliant, but the owner and staff are savage. 'they' can do no wrong- even if they've messed up the booking, the wi-Fi doesn't work, the thunderously noisy road is denied, the cramped dilapidate rooms and antique plumbing claimed as 'charming'! Stay here at your peril.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We loved this hotel; of our 3 weeks in Europe it probably represented the best value for money. The hotel itself is beautiful inside, well decorated, cute teddy bears and fruits and displays everywhere; very homey feeling, not at all like most cold hotel hallways. Our room was perfect, the large double doors opened right onto a view of the lake, we could've layed on the bed watching the world go by forever, and the sun sets in perfect view accross the lake from the room. The room was also well-appointed, again probably more-so than any of our hotels. It even came with a free shoehorn lol. Our ONLY complaint was that the staff, while not rude, were not particularly friendly or helpful either; when I was having trouble connecting to the wifi I asked a woman at reception and she simple replied "I don't know how wifi works" lol. There was also free nearby parking, we would absolutely stay again, and will be!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyguyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
1.8 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
#2 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
747 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Littoral
Hotel Le Littoral
#5 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cygnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cygnes

Property: Hotel Les Cygnes
Address: 8 avenue de Grande Rive, 74500, Evian-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Cygnes 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the Hotel Les Cygnes has preserved the authentic charm of the "Roaring Twenties". Ideally situated on the Leman lakeside and with its Logis de France " trois cheminees" rating, the hotel guarantees you a complete change of scene and a unique view of Switzerland and the Juras. Discover the history of the Hotel les Cygnes in Evian... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Les Cygnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing