We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great treatment , fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Ermitage Evian is a great property with very good location and services.
The surrounding garden and trees gives a scenic view.
View of Geneva lake is refreshing.

The staff is nice and understand English well .

Limited options for vegetarians.
wonderful spa and treatments available .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpranav23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 796 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Perfect for a relaxing peaceful break. Immaculately clean hotel with exceptional maid service, it seemed they knew each time we left our room because they tidied up and replaced our towels almost every time! We were surprised to see so many visitors from Saudi Arabia in Evian. The best feature was the hotel shuttle bus taking guests down to the lake and back to the hotel. Important because the hotel is up a steep hill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobby454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It's perfect resort for families with children! Very nice restaurant and the summilie are grate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyubomir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Excellent hotel near Lac Leman. Rooms are spacious, especially the deluxe rooms. The restaurant serves refined menus. Facilities are well maintained. Quiet environment.
We did have to wait for our room to become available although we arrived after check-in time. One of our rooms smelled badly, it was used by smokers although all rooms are non-smoking. They tried to mask it with some candles but the smell was persistent. The hotel is not to blame for it, but it could be handled differently.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvanimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Jooloos and I stopped off for one night at the Hermitage on day 8 of our 2011 Eurotrip as we reluctantly departed from a memorable stay in Switzerland.

This is not a cheap hotel and our expectations were high. First impressions were not good and Jooloos was not happy. After a long car journey a quick check-in and off to your room for a bit of rest is essential and not a lot to ask for especially if you have a prepaid booking - isn't it?

Reception at this hotel can be summed-up in a word. Chaos. How hard is it to give someone a key and tick them off on a list? How long have these guys been doing the job, because this felt like day one. The group of three French ladies in front of us stalled things a little but there were two staff on the desk. Problem is that they insist on giving you a guided tour of the hotel and your room which takes ages and is completely unnessessary. After giving our details we were left standing like lemons with our bags at reception until the previous 'tour' was completed - about 20 mins. Just chuck-us the key suggested Jooloos but that's not how its done Hermitage style.

Things looked-up a bit once in the room which had a great view over the Lake and gardens (at extra cost) and was very well appointed, having been recently updated.

We viewed the swimming pool and spa area but did not use it as the pool was underwhelming and the spa treatments eyewateringly expensive ( and we had just left Switzerland, don't forget, where our eyes had been all watered-out).

We looked at the restaurant menu which was uncompromisingly French (and, guess what- expensive) We had a drink in the beautiful bar where the service was good, barman being friendly and helpful .G&Ts with nibbles went down a treat. Where are we going to eat then, Jooloos? Restaurant here a total no-go area for a vegetarian. At this point you might ask what the hell is a vegetarian doing in France? A suicide mission? A crash diet? An amusement for the French?

We took a stroll through the gardens to the sister hotel, The Royal, which is much more traditional. I think I like traditional - what a warm welcome. The other side of the front desk was overcrowded with staff all, simultaneously, offering assistance. We were shown the two restaurants and their menus which were beautiful and varied respectively. Ate there later and it was great. Jooloos didn't think that tofu existed in France and I lost my bet. Meal and service splendid, desert looked like a sputnik but was exceptional. Only complaint was a pretentious winelist (well, I suppose this is France) which included wines at 5000-8000 Euros (no typo, my friends).

We checked-out early in the morning as breakfast in the Hermitage was a crazy price and all we wanted was a coffee and a croissant, which was had in the town with the locals. I checked out quickly but noticed that we were able to collect our bags, retrieve our car, drive to the front door, pack, plan our route, pay one last visit to the loo, all before the fella behind me had managed to get his bill printed.

To sum-up, the setting is charming, the gardens are beautiful, the new interiors are nicely done in a contemporary style. The pre-refit building shows through in some details and in the pool area in particular, which disappointed. Front desk service is hopeless. Hotel Royal offers a good dining option. Value for money? Not even slightly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel pleased us in every way.

The service was so delightful. Everywhere, we went we were greeted with smiles and help offered along the way.

They catered for our baby in ways we didn't even imagine a hotel could provide. There was baby bath thermometer, a sterilising unit and a milk bottle heater.

The outdoor pool, indoor pool, spa, sauna, bar was so enjoyable. There was so much to choose from at breakfast time and there were lots of healthy options.

There was a 24hour shuttle service into the town. The vehicle was spotless! The funicular train was fun too.

We stayed in room 1425. The room was lovely- it was actually 2 rooms with a television in each room. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The room was visited twice through the day to refresh supplies and maintain cleanliness.

A description of the list of the TV channels was the extra thought that went into the room. Normally, it’s a matter of scrolling through the channels to find an English-speaking one. It’s a minor point but it’s the little things that set hotels apart.

Toiletries supplied were lovely. The rooms were very quiet. Room service was fantastic. Thick,luxurious bathrobes meant a dignified visit to the spa, pools and sauna!

Staff were so polite and well mannered. Any special requests were always accommodated.

This is such a relaxing, special place. The gardens in the hotel grounds were lovely and perfectly manicured. The view of the lake from the hotel was stunning whist sitting eating.

There is a lovely walk into the neighbouring hotel grounds over a bridge and from there, gardens can be viewed. There, a vegetable patch is grown to supply the hotel with ingredients.

I could go on but I recommend you go see for yourself. It is truly gorgeous.

This is definitely the best hotel we’ve ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rightgirlwrongplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I stayed here for two nights in 2009 and loved it. We had a business meeting. The surroundings are magnificent, with the Alps all around. Used the workout facility -- quite good. The grounds are beautiful as is the surrounding village. Excellent food in restaurants. Room was clean and very charming. This is a great get-away-from-it-all location. Five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,715 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Littoral
Hotel Le Littoral
#6 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort

Address: 1230 Avenue du Leman, 74501, Evian-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range: $225 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ermitage enjoys a stunning location in Evian-les-Bains, on the French bank of Lake Geneva only 45 km from Geneva and its international airport. You are surrounded by nature and this is reflected in the decor of the house. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the simple pleasures in life. You will find a unique, exclusive environment at the Quatre Terres Spa and in the hotel's restaurants. Enjoy a holiday in Evian, its sport and culture, and try something new. The Activities Department at Evian Resort offers a wide range of activities which can be practised all year round depending on the season. And if you want your children to enjoy a really memorable holiday, send them to the Kid's Resort, where they can flourish and play to their hearts' content. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ermitage - Evian
Evian Royal Ermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing