We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, good food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel New Solarium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel New Solarium
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was a bit worried before my stay in view of some of the recent reviews, but I found the New Solarium to be an extremely satisfactory skiing hotel - it sits in that bracket of an excellent 3 star that you wouldn't grudge a 4th star. The location is great for getting onto the slopes and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was really good with an excellent breakfast buffet to set you up for the day. The evening meal was usually a wide-ranging buffet starter (incl. soup) and buffet desert with a different set main course every night, but you always had the option to choose from another main course menu that was the same every night (approx. 8 choices, many without supplement).

In general the hotel was in good condition, the dining room was very comfortable and our room appeared recently refurbished - and it was very quiet (2nd floor). We were 2 people staying in a room for 2-3 people. It was a good enough size for us, but I think it would be a tight squeeze for 3 with all your skiing kit. The bathroom was actually bigger than you often get in ski hotels and there was always hot water.

Overall, a really good stay - not luxury, but comfortable and warm with good food, friendly service and easy access to the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    117
    57
    36
    30
See reviews for
107
132
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can I say?
We were asked to complete a questionnaire when we checked out..... What could we do to improve the hotel? Erm............. Well............... Nothing really.

A hotel of exceptional value above the town centre of Courchevel 1850 situated in the Jardin Aplin area.
No noise from the snow clearing vehicles etc.
We arrived in our car after an easy 11 hour journey from the UK. Johan appeared and helped with the bags. He parked the car in the hotel car park, adjacent. What a start!

The beds are huge with fluffy pillows and duvets, the rooms are warm. As usual for France not the most spacious but plenty of room for all the clobber. And sooooo clean.

The food...... outstanding. Buffet starter selection with variations every night. Exquisite main courses. Classic French cuisine. Buffet desserts to die for.
Wine, reasonably priced with every budget catered for.

The staff in the restaurant are very professional. And the tables are not crammed in like other places we have stayed.

The swimming pool/sauna/steam area. Perfect after a day on the slopes. As many thick warm towels as you need with enough poolside loungers. Grab an Irish coffee in the bar before you go to the room. You'll be knocked out!!

The location of the hotel is fab. Across the road from the green piste and Jardin Alpin telecabin station leading down to 1850 to buy lift passes etc.

We will return for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieWitchalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

2 days ago I returned from Courchevel 1850
I am at home, my vacation is over but I am already missing Alps!!!
It was a fantastic vacation, the best winter holidays in my life.
I liked very much my room in the New Solarium hotel - a Duplex room 502.
The view to the valley was stunning.
Everything was perfect! And especially the food.
I have never expected to see oysters, salmon with avocado and sushi in 3* hotel.
Counting days till my next ski trip.

Room Tip: The room are exactly as they look on web-site! No noise at all. Fantastic view to the valley or rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend at the New Solarium in the week before xmas 2012 and we experienced a series of unhappy experiences. The room we were first shown was still being renovated, tarpaulin splattered with paint on the floor. It was in the basement near the swimming pool claustrophobically small (dont trust the photos!) We asked for a different room but we were told that as we booked by expedia (actually it was booking.com) thats all we were allowed. We paid £1120 for 3 nights. They told us there were no other rooms, even though it was obviously not full, then one girl at reception argued in french with her colleague and they managed to find a room which was an improvement but was next to the ski shop /boot room. This was cold and noisy and after one night we asked to change rooms. After speaking to the manager they told us again the hotel was full and would not budge after 30mins argument. We Over the next two days we saw at least 40-50 new people arrive.

We booked a ski lesson through the hotel. The instuctor after 30min after the meeting time still hadnt arrived. We eventually cancelled it ( I hope they didnt charge my c/c) We booked directly at the ESF ( the same company the hotel was booking with) They charged us E115 for 3hrs vs E140 for 2.5hrs via the hotel.

The standard of the room and hotel is certainly no more than 2star not the 3 star advertised. The photos are very misleading! The toiletries for the bathroom arrived on day 2 and slippers arrived on day 3. My girlfirend tried to dry her hair but there was more hot air from the manager's mouth (a young french woman) than the poor quality device.
The stanadard of english was appalling and the service quality was noticably different if you were not a foreigner.

They did bring a heater to the room but there was only ONE plug in the tiny room to be shared between the TV and all other appliances. The TV only had french channels and we asked if there were any english channels and were told they may get some next week, then they told us an engineer would arrive ( he didnt ).

The only positive is the location if you like to ski in/out. BUT it is 20min walking to the 1850 centre down a steep hill. A taxi will cost you E25 one way.

we asked for extention until 2pm chek out. the manager fist said 11am, but after arguing agreed to 12noon. afrer more arguing she moved to 1pm, which still was not good as we were going to be picked up at 3pm. this was just typical that they had the option to improve our stay, but always chose not to.

Jeremy (London)

Room Tip: choose only 4th floor upwards, but NOT near the ski shop/boot room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeremy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
We thank you for your comment posted. We do apologize to hear that your stay hasn’t been the one you have expected.
The period you stayed at the Hotel was a very busy period, the hotel was full with the Ladies ski world cup and European cup in the resort.
The first room you get was on the 2nd floor not on the basement. At the Hotel New Solarium rooms on the basement are on 0 floor. You have been on the 2nd room 212. The room is 18m2/20m2 normal size, and fully equipped, for a 3 stars hotels.
On arrival the room next door yours had some quiet maintenance works inside. We are sorry for the incovenience but I'm sure you will understand that maintenance work has to be done when something is broken.
Following your complain the Hotel Manager change your room. You have moved on the 4th floor room 402. And again the room did not suit you.
You have asked for a late check out, saying that 4pm check out is normal in all the Hotels, in most hotels check out time is around 10am – 12am.
The Hotel Manager again has been very nice and accept a check out time at 1pm, baring in mind that another guest was waiting for the room.
The Hotel Manager proposed you the spa shower and to keep your luggage until your departure.
The Hotel Manager has done his best to make your happy. Unsuccessfully.
In Courchevel there is about 17 ski schools, all of them are doing their own prices. We are sorry but the Hotel is not responsible for that.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Courchevel hotels

UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Overall ok but very small rooms and scruffy and dark corridors. Rooms need redecoration. We had a small double standard room with a double bed plus a single bed so it was impossible for more than one person to walk round at a time. Tiny bathroom hardly any wardrobe space. Definitely in need of some TLC. Great location. Food excellent and restaurant has lovely views.

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet as the hotel is in a quiet location. Avoid goin in the lower ground floor area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyM404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear customer,
First we'd like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
The New Solarium Hotel,provides all the hotel services for a three stars hotel, great location, good food, helpful staff, rooms have been refurbed some years before. The Size of the rooms correspond to the standard of mountain hotels. Despite this, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in New Solarium in Feb 2012 on a late deal. The poor reviews were unfounded. The location is amazing, straight onto a quiet green. Easy access to courchevel 1850 either walking or on the bubble. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Customer,
First we would like to thank you for the time you take to put a comment on Tripadvisor web site.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel Le New Soalrium*** and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you this winter.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Was all that I expected and more. Tidy and clean and more than functional. The in-house restaurant was fantastic, food was a little similar for Starters but quality was fantastic and all you can eat. Rooms were exactly as the photo's on there website I had a deluxe room it was great, toilet pretty small and all in one bath and shower but for what we paid it was beyond expectations.

Staff were very friendly and the balcony for a drink after a days skiing was great. Would be a fantastic place to stay with a young group of friends, you really would,t need to leave with the bar and restaurant all there.

When they say ski in ski out I think it was 22 steps from the front door...Just perfect after a hard days skiing!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJandtheV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for the moment you take to put a comment on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate that you have enjoy your stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you again in your next trip to French Alps.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#5 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#46 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#15 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#12 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Solarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Solarium

Property: Hotel New Solarium
Address: Quartier du Jardin Alpin | Quartier Jardin Alpin, 73120, Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Solarium 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel New Solarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Solarium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing