We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice Hotel in Courchevel”
Review of Hotel New Solarium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New Solarium
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed in Courchevel 4 days with my 10yo son and a friend of mine. The hotel was above our espectations and we enjoyed our staying here: the room (we had the n° 003) was not too big, but not too small either and we could organize nicely all the provided space. The rooms and the common places were clean and the personnel kind and nice to us, The breakfast was very good as well, both for quality and for quantity. We could also enjoy the comfortable swimming pool and the other facilities there, which is a very good thing after a day spent skiing. The hotel is well located upon ski slopes so you can put on your skis and go. Still is not very close to downtown and you've to walk for a bit. For us who like to walk it was not a problem though.
A good Hotel in the best ski domain :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ita-Alby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Customer,
Very many thanks for your kind comments. There is no better reward for us than to know that you haveenjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that these have been shared with all the staff and surely act as a great source of motivation to achieve higher standards in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the French Alps,
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 324 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

I was a bit put off by some of the reviews on T/A but took a gamble and booked it. I was pleasantly surprised by how good the hotel is. The location is amazing next to a lift and with a ski shop in the hotel. The rooms aren't huge but they are fine for one or two people to share. Relative to Courchevel the hotel was good value for money. The hotel next door starts at Euro1350 per night. It is a great resort but insanely expensive. I would certainly recommend the hotel and I think that some of the previous reviews are now out of date.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: The ski hire shop is on the 4th floor. Makes it very easy to get going in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequent_tvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012
Google Translation

Cher(e) client(e) nous tenons à vous remercier pour votre commentaire qui sera transmis à l'équipe de l'Hôtel.
Il est toujours plaisant de lire de tels propos; cela nous motive chaque jour à améliorer la qualité de service !
Dans l'attente de vous accueillir cet été ou l'hiver prochain, nous vous souhaitons un excellent printemps !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Nicely tucked away in a fairly quiet setting, this hotel needs a bit of a face lift. Our room was far too small for 3 of us. With all of our ski gear it was really cramped. The restaurant service was excellent as was the food. The ski hire shop was good but always busy.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyM404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

We would like to thank you for you comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We do apologize that the ski room was not open yet.
We hope to see you in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week. It is very overpriced. The room was small with filthy windows and peeling window frames. The room was situated next to the service entrance with delivery personnel and member of the public outside our bedroom window all day long. We had to keep our curtains permanently closed. The dustbin was broken. There was no seating area as described and the Satellite TV only had one English channel (Sky News). The bathroom was tiny and could not fit two in comfortably. If someone was on the toilet then no-one could access the bathroom because the door could not open. There was no shower curtain therefore we had to use our towels to dry the flooded floor after a shower. The glasses were dirty. There was grubby plumbing/pipes on show. I had to ask for the room to be cleaned 4 times out of 7. The lounge/bar/games room area became engulfed with smoke during the evening when the fire was lit because the indoor flue leaked. Need I go on?
On the plus side, the staff were nice (excluding one middle aged receptionist who was surly and prickly). The food was very nice and the location to the slopes was good. Crystal did nothing to help us despite our complaints. We had to wait half an hour in a car park to be transferred to our hotel. There are a long flight of steps up to the hotel and no one assisted us with our suitcases.
I would never stay in this hotel again or recommend it unless the price reflected the hotel. I would also never use Crystal again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliejersey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I will tell my story.

My wife and I stayed in the New Solarium hotel (medium room) from 15/01/2011 to 29/01/2011.

This hotel has the kitchen placed in the center of the hotel on the3rd floor. We were unlucky to received room 207. This room is situated right under the kitchen. The first night the kitchen worked till 12 hrs and from 6 a.m. it started to work again. I came up to the manager of the reception Mme Verneret Camille and asked for another room. She offered us room 209 but as the kitchen is not small that room was also under the kitchen.Then she offered a standard room 406 with a very bad decor ( window frames were almost without painting) and no money compensation for such a room was proposed. That offer did not suit us. But she said that there was no any other offer for us either that day or the next day or ever at all. She added that people came and left every day and there was nothing for us. So , we decided to think over that situation and stayed in room 209. That night kitchen worked till 1 a.m. We were very disappointed but decided to make another attempt to change a room. At the reception we met night administrator Mr. Pier. He said that he could not help us but explained what was the problem. He said – “ as you use this hotel for the first time , you have minor rights in this hotel !”. There is no mistake. It was said in the presence of another administrator. So , there is no anybody’s mistake - It is the hotel policy.!

After that we realized that there was no point in talking with the administrators of the hotel and the only way out of that unpleasant situation was to change a hotel. So ,we connected with our travel agency in France and explained our problem about the hotel. After the travel agency got involved in that conflict , we instantly received a suitable room.

I don’t want that anybody else will face the same bitter problem.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank novikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Our stay was anything but pleasant. We were "upgraded" to a room in the basement that was never vacuumed, came back to the room only to find the window wide open and two ticks of butter on the sill (true!). We left early and negotiated a refund of two nights because of the security issue - and were charged one night, rather than credited the two (despite having paid for seven in advance). The two-night credit came through, but we're still negotiating the charge for the the one night.

We left early - couldn't wait to get to Geneva.


If this is Courchevel (and we have skied all over Europe), it deserves the bad rap.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz47Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Hotel New Solarium, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Dear Madam,

We know that you would never come back at Hotel New Solarium ....but a lot of pepole really like this place!
Regarding the credit, I confirm you that 2 nights was on your account since the beginning and none negociation is needed.
Best Regards
Aurélie - Guest relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed at this hotel 6th to 13th March 2010 for a weeks skiing in Courchevel 1850. Can't fault the hotel in any way!. The location is just perfect being on the Jardin Alpin piste and virtually ski-in/ski-out. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly the whole week and are a credit to the hotel. We stayed half board and got to enjoy the delicious food...if you are a desert lover you are in for a treat! The buffet desert table is just amazing.

Our room (503) was lovely and big and had a perfect view looking down to the center of 1850. It gave us a great view of the fireworks competition.

All in all, a perfect stay. If you have booked, you won't be disappointed and if you are thinking about it....just do it!

Looking forward to going back next season.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#11 of 54 in Courchevel
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
0.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#4 of 54 in Courchevel
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#35 of 54 in Courchevel
48 reviews
1 mi away
Les Cimes Blanches apartments
Les Cimes Blanches apartments
#22 of 54 in Courchevel
27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#6 of 54 in Courchevel
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Solarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Solarium

Address: Quartier du Jardin Alpin | Quartier Jardin Alpin, 73120, Courchevel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Courchevel
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range: $142 - $887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Solarium 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Solarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Solarium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing