We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As usual, a great experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Lana

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Le Lana
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As usual, a great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

This season, Le Lana has a new chef that increased the restaurant. The management and services are still wonderful.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NeBordosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

"The perfect getaway", This was my fifth stay at the hotel in the past four years. To be completely honest the hotel never fails to impress. The hotel has recently been fully renovated. Reception is very spacious with a great bar and amzing view of the mountains. The ski room is perfectly located (only 50 meters from the slopes) and fully equipped. All in all a great experience for couples, families or even friends looking for a great ski vacation in style.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HShelbaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

I've been going there for the past 13 years, every stay is exceptional. The staff are extremely friendly, a great cuisine. the hotel has a cosy atmosphere from the lobby to the ski room. Its location is perfect, it is situated so that you are in downtown as soon as the elevator doors open and ski in ski out is something that i realize is a GREAT advantage that i used to take for granted until i visited other resorts.
the hotel has been recently renovated along with the spa. the spa is something to be visited during your stay, it is complete.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

My hopes were high going back to hotel Le Lana. They had done a huge renovation since my last visit and garnered a fifth star. Unfortunately, they fell short of this rating for me.

FIrst, the rooms. While they are very clean and nicely appointed, my "superior room" at 520 euro a night for double occupancy was tiny. I hear that this is the norm in the alps, but I was barely able to squeeze into the toilet and I am a small person. Obviously the money spent on renovation was not spent on enlarging the rooms. Do not stay here if you are over 5 ft 7 inches and 150 pounds (my size) without a giant shoe horn to squeeze you into the bathroom.

Second, the spa. While offering complete spa service, I found the spa staff to be rude and unaccommodating. I booked a massage with a particular masseuse two days prior. I showed up and they informed me that they had double booked that masseuse without informing me prior to my arrival. They only words I received were, "sorry". At least they apologized. The pool and steam room and sauna are very small and do not look at all in person as they do in the photos on the web page. However, they are clean, and a sauna apres ski is very welcome.

Third, the gym. While there is nice equipment and the personal trainer is friendly, the gym is far too small for the amount of equipment and people using the gym. I wanted more cardio equipment. Also there is poor ventilation and one malodorous person will spoil your experience.

Fourth, the restaurant. We opted for the breakfast and dinner included option which was figured into the price as I listed above. The food was very good with beautiful presentation. I do agree that some of the dishes were "experimental," but I appreciate fine dining with unique tastes. There is no bottle of wine on the list for under 70 euro which was a ridiculous mark-up, and a bottle of flat water will cost 15 euro. I know the dollar to euro exchange is unfavorable, but still, $22.50 for half a liter of evian seems like highway robbery to me. Stick to the tap water and do not drink wine and you will have a good dining experience. Breakfasts were hearty with lots of selection and very tastly. Unfortunately, the wait staff was clueless. I routinely had to ask 2-3 times for something. My last day, I literally asked 4 times for a cappuccino. Even after my pestering, the service was very slow. It was as if everyone was too preoccupied with ironing the table cloths or setting the tables to provide service for the guests.

Lastly, and the best part of the hotel is the ski valet and ski shop (Skiset). The hotel is ski in and ski out and they have a ski room on the slope contiguous with the hotel where you keep your equipment overnight. The ski valets help you in and out of your boots and place your skis on the snow for you in the morning and hang them at night. There is tea and mulled wine waiting for you when you return. The ski shop staff were friendly and accommodating. I wished they worked in the spa and the restaurant. Maybe the rest of the hotel would be better run that way.

All in all, I will definitely go back to the 3 Valleys to ski as it is the most impressive ski area (and largest) in the world. I will not stay at Le Lana again as the service fell far short of the 5 star rating. Also, just to really leave a bad taste in my mouth, the hotel overcharged me on the bill, which I had to go over with the management. They were accommodating, but if you do stay there, pay attention to the charges at the end.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LoloMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

Recently spent a week at the Lana. Had a very mixed experience and would not recommend this hotel.

On the plus side:
- the room was comfortable and reasonably large for the alps
- the location is very good - its directly on the piste and a moment's walk away from the centre of the resort.

On the negative side:
- the food in the restaurant was poor for a hotel of this quality - good ingredients but 'experimental' and combining too many flavors - e.g. they massacred a perfectly good bit of veal with a fig and almond sauce

- the wine list at dinner was truly ridiculous and meant that you can't get even a very ordinary bottle of wine to go with your dinner for less than 70 euro. We have stayed at some very expensive hotels and never encountered such incredible mark-ups on quite ordinary bottles of wine. This list made the Hotel Cipriani and Harry's Bar in Venice look cheap!

- The Spa insisted on kicking out children at 6pm. If you are skiing with kids do not go to this hotel. Spa staff were also rude and unhelpful.

I would not recommend this hotel - for the money it is better to chose one of the other 4* de luxe hotels in Courchevel.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nts1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#4 of 55 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#15 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le K2
Hotel Le K2
#8 of 55 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
1.0 mi away
Hotel Manali
Hotel Manali
#10 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Lana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lana

Property: Hotel Le Lana
Address: Courchevel 1850 | BP 95, 73121, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Lana 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Lana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing