We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Les Ancolies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Ancolies Hotel
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The website does not make it clear, but for those travelling by bus, you should get off at the Courchevel 1550 stop and then it is just up the hill on the right.

Though it is possible to walk straight onto the piste from the front door at the *beginning* of the day, this is the toboggan piste and so (if you are not tobogganing!) it is easier to walk (3 minutes) from the bottom of the gondola to the hotel at the end of the day.

The facilities are great the en-suite is very nice and there is an excellent daily room service and restaurant service. The food is delicious and the bar area cosy.

I am 6 foot and the bed was a little short, but I was on my own this year, so I just slept diagonally!

I would definitely return next year with the family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was invited to lunch last week at Les Ancolies by a friend and had a very pleasant meal. We both had the Salade Perigordine as an entree and then scallops on a bed of sweet-potato* with gambas for the main course- first time I had tasted that particular vegetable*. My friend chose a Bourgueil to accompany our meal and it was a nice surprise to find it had more body than I normally expect from a Loire wine.

I very much enjoyed both courses, but particularly the scallops and gambas which were succulent. The service was fine but more noteworthy for its warmth and welcoming attitude than simply serving skills.

We took coffee on the roof-terrace which was a joy on such a beautiful day, looking out onto the forest which stops about 100 m up the slope in front of the hotel. The furniture up there is getting rather tired from constant exposure to the elements, but I was told is likely to be renewed next season.

A delightful lunch even though I wasn't skiing that day !

My marks below only relate to the restaurant as I didn't use the spa/bar /bedrooms etc and so cannot comment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ValThorensSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in Feb 14. It's a charming, reasonably-priced hotel in an otherwise stupidly expensive resort. We had rooms in the basement which were perfectly adequate (the upper floors have balconies I think). The food was good, the hotel bar was cheaper than in the resort, and the ambience was very good. What made this so, and my biggest impression of the place was how super friendly and accommodating the staff were. I will go back!

As for the skiing- the hotel is at 1550 and though not strictly ski in/ ski out it's pretty close! If you can pick your way you can ski back only having to take off your skis to walk across the road to the boot room. Skiing out requires a 50 metre walk up a small slope before skiing down to Grangettes which takes you up to 1850. And then.... it's the 3 Valleys. Can't beat it!


Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank JohnSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel is certainly well run, clean and by Courchevel standards reasonable value. It is more or less ski in-ski out (once you find the slightly obscure return path), and the ski rental places and 1850 lift are about 5 minutes away. On the downside, it is pretty small - rooms with a 3rd bed have almost no floorspace left, the ski room is a joke, and the lounge/bar is certainly 'cosy'.
Our biggest issue was with the food - the quality is at best adequate, there is no choice of starter or main course (though they can offer a limited range of alternatives for picky children), and the service glacial. One meal (soup, duck, cheese) took an incredible two hours to serve.
Overall, I think one can do better for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent a lovely week at Les Ancolies in 1550 Courcheval in Jan 2014.
The hotel is 3 star but is better than that.
The evening meal was always interesting, well presented, and served with grace and good humour. My wife has problems with dairy products and the staff always tried to accommodate her.
The cheese trolly is wonderful and would be at home in a Michelin starred restaurant.
Breakfasts however were somewhat dissapointing when compared to the dinner.
The rooms were on the small side but typical of other alpine hotels. The bathroom was adequate. The bed was very good. Cleanliness was excellent.
The village of 1550 itself is very quiet and having been used to apres ski in Austria we found the whole resort to be somewhat dead.
The prices for meals on the mountains were grossly inflated and mediocre.
Les Ancolies however ticked all our boxes with comfortable accommodation , friendly staff and excellent meals

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was an excellent value for money stay in an otherwise very expensive resort. Good ski-in ski out location, close to first lift of the day. Food good, people pleasant, rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaGeBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a very friendly welcome and the good hospitality continued throughout our weeks stay.
Rooms are as expected for a hotel of this standard. Clean,cosy and functional but as previously mentioned there are few English TV channels however we had no problems with wifi in the room.
The continental section of breakfast was good but I like my coffee really hot and unfortunately this was not the case (but that's being a bit picky).
The evening meal was better than anticipated for a 3* hotel. Although there was no menu choice when on a half board basis, the food was all of excellent quality, well cooked and with 5 courses even if one is not to your personal taste, you won't go hungry. The service was very polite, friendly and professional.
1550 is only a short gondola away from 1850 from where you can ski the whole of the 3 valleys.
Access to that gondola is by crossing the road from the ski locker and a very short walk up a track, skis on and you're then less than a minute from the gondola to 1850. The ski back home is via a blue run (tovets) and all but very nervous first time skiers will manage the short track from the piste back to the hotel.
As 1550 apres is fairly modest the free ski bus is great for getting you to 1650, 1850 or La Tania very easily.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel as a ski base especially if 1850s a bit above your budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieseldog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#4 of 54 in Courchevel
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#13 of 54 in Courchevel
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#11 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Solarium
Hotel New Solarium
#29 of 54 in Courchevel
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
Snow Lodge Boutique Hotel
#19 of 54 in Courchevel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ancolies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ancolies Hotel

Address: rue des Gravelles, 73120, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range: $178 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Ancolies Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of the forest, in the Courchevel resort, along the sledging track lit up at night, you'll have ski-on and ski-off access to the slopes from The Ancolies hotel. You will appreciate the personalised welcome and the attentive service reserved just for you. The bedrooms are very pleasant and nicely decorated, complete with a satellite TV, radio, telephone, bathroom and separate toilet. The french windows open onto an equipped balcony. This hotel is ideal for a relaxing stay bringing together skiing, gastronomy, and the peace and quiet of Courchevel Village. Delicious, authentic food is offered, with a creative menu making use of authetic produce. The cosy lounge, complete with a large brass fireplace invites you to enjoy a precious moment of après-ski relaxation, soothed by the harmonious tones of the piano. To un-wind after a day of skiing, the hotel proposes a relaxation area with a sauna, hammam, hot tub and massages (at an extra charge). Courchevel's ski domain, the biggest in the world, boasts hi-tech ski lifts and a large variety of slopes. Whether you are a beginner, a confirmed skier, a snowboarder, a lover of wide, open spaces or skiing with your family Courchevel will offer you the ski experience you've been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Ancolies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Ancolies
Les Ancolies Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing