We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“a very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courcheneige

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courcheneige
Save
You added Courcheneige to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Courchevel
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We're a couple who spends ski holidays for 25 years in courchevel all holidays were highly rated hotels
This year we decided to try a different type of skiing holiday and we were pleasantly surprised
The hotel is run very well, the staff courteous and polite, full amenities at the hotel bar in the dining room and reception area and of course ski room
Hotel location excellent ski in ski out
Quiet location and provides everything needed vacation
The rooms are comfortable and clean
A good hotel for a skiing


gadi v
israel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bracha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    43
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
70
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When I reviewed this hotel in 2008 it merited one blob. I can see it wasn't much better in 2009 and 2010. It has now changed totally - very good, definitely meriting 4 blobs.
This time, the staff were competent and professional, the management was on the ball, the kitchen did an excellent job. Even the rooms had been improved.
The dinner menu didn't offer much choice of starter or main, but what was served was good.
The sweets, and they way they were 'served', were quite exceptionally good.
There is still the long drag up the ramp when you arrive, and the tiny lifts, and poor wifi, but everything else is good.
The value-for-money, by Courchevel1850 standard, is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've been to the Courcheneige many times over the past 12 years and always found it first rate.
This year for the first time, we found the waiters in the inside bar surly and took ages to get served. What was more of an issue was an unhonoured lunch reservation. I had phoned to reserve a table for lunch (the number I have used for several seasons) and was surprised that there was no table for us.
The Maitre d' sat us at a table, telling us we would be looked after. 20 minutes passed, French waiters have an impressive way of ignoring eye contact and even waving arms.
When I was finally acknowledged at 2.15 for a 1.30 reservation, I was told that the kitchen had shut and that no further orders were being taken.
Could I find the Maitre d' or other senior staff, no chance.
Certainly won't be going back, that's for sure, which is a shame as in the past we have always been looked after so well

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

a fantastic hotel and our 4 th visit was as good as the rest - as a family of 5 ( 11 - 8 - 6 ) it is great value with good rooms very clean and comfy beds.

Its incredible for 1850 and ski in and ski out has made the difference with everyone having an easy start and end to the day - it has effectivley taught our kids to ski as we were all beginners.

food and staff lovely and the in house ski shop very helpful.

it was tempting not to write a review as we don't want everyone knowing the secret to a great ski holiday !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was yet another great holiday at the Courcheneige - apart from the weather! This Hotel has a lot going for it - great location and fair prices being amongst the top ones. But what sets it apart from most of its rivals is the service and team work. From boss Neil to the guys who make the beds there is a common team ethos that makes one welcome, seeks to help and is always cheerful. This has to be one of the best run Hotels we stay in. Having its own on site ski hire shop, which although a separate business is also blessed with the same ethos, is for us another big plus. The dinners and bar drinks are great and 50 Euros for a bottle Veuve Cliquot in a ski resort not bad! So why not a five?

Well the bed this year was just on the edge of OK and some of the place has a distinctly "old" feel to it. There were some Russian and Turkish guests who needed a bit of education in their hotelling skills, although you cannot fault the management for this. Thier obstructing of the aisles and hording of fruit and food had to be "admired"!

But overall this is a very good offering given that it is a short ski to the Croisette and that you really can ski in and out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Once again our Family visit Three generations to the Courcheneige was wonderful, As on all our previous visits the Staff especially in the Ski Shop could not have been more friendly. The food excellent and the rooms, clean, hot water to die for. general Manager Benoit seems to work 24-7. After nearly 40 years plus of skiing around Europe, without doubt the Courcheneige
is the best value for money there is. It is interesting that each year we visit we meet old friends who feel the same. A mention of the arrangements for our pick up at Chambery Airport that the hotel sorted out for us could not have been better. We shall return

Room Tip: All represent good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent Xmas at the Courcheneige Hotel in Courchevel, the hotel itself is really quite nice for a Xmas ski holiday, lots of Xmas trees around and the views from all windows was breathtaking.

The bedroom was quite small and more basic than I had expected for the price, no vanity mirror to make up or do my hair but I asked at reception and they did their best finding a mirror I could prop up on the dressing table.

The little bar was really comfortable and had lovely views and lots of atmosphere, a nice place to spend the evening with a nice bottle of wine.

The dining room was nice, the food exceptionally nice for a ski hotel, buffet breakfast came with everything you could want and more besides, dinner very french quality food, it was so nice that 3 days we even skied back at lunchtime to eat!!

Location for skiing is fantastic, ski straight from door and back to door, this did however mean that you had to get the shuttle or a taxi to the village and back in the evening, if you like to get out in the evening like we do then it maybe is a little bit of a nuisance, that's not a complaint though as most people I felt chose this hotel as they were happy to just relax in the hotel and it is good for that, but we do like to get out and about at night.

Porters were their to help with luggage, reception staff were helpful, friendly and very nice, chamber maids did a good job, we both had a massage at the end of the week and it was really lovely, well worth the money, the girl was very good at her job, highly recommend .

Room Tip: Ask for a room o err looking the piste, that way you will have a superb view, I asked for a mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.8 mi away
La Pomme de Pin
La Pomme de Pin
#42 of 53 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#20 of 53 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#2 of 53 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#8 of 53 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Airelles
Hotel Les Airelles
#16 of 53 in Courchevel
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courcheneige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courcheneige

Property: Courcheneige
Address: Rue Nogentil, 73120, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Best Value Hotel in Courchevel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courchevel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Courcheneige Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing