We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Cascades

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascades
Ranked #2 of 12 Courchevel B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for Christmas 2013. They chalet was in a great location opposite the escalator up to the ski lifts. The staff were brilliant, really helpful and friendly, the rooms were lovely, clean and spacious with great views. The teenagers went to the Bubble Bar and Funky Fox in the evenings but we loved the Schuss bar directly under the chalet. Large choice at breakfast, cereals, fruit, croissants plus cooked breakfasts every day. Coffee, tea and cake in the afternoon plus hots drinks available all day. If I had to find any fault it was that the evening meal was overly fussy and not to everyone's tastes, especially the teenagers. I think simpler food would have been good, maybe the odd pasta dish after a day's skiing. But we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HytheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 105 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent a week here, from15th December, and had a fantastic time! The location is perfect, great views from the back of the chalet, and just a stroll across the road to the ski lift. It was very warm and comfortable, plenty of food - fruit always available. But the staff were all really amazing! We were so impressed. They were always friendly, keen to help and genuinely welcoming. We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back more expensive but bigger and with a great view, but all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We used chalet cascades as a large group of skiers, their was propably 20 or so of us. Generally speaking it was very good.

Its position is perfect, next door to a couple of GREAT bars, opposite the main lift so it's easy to be first up their abusing the powder!

The skiing is of great standard with the three valleys to pick and choose from which makes the skiing varied and challenging when you go for a good long day out to val thorens or meribel. We were also really lucky in that we had AMAZING sunny days all but one which was so blizzardy we nearly came off the mountain....but we didn't! and it snowed pretty much every night so powder all round!

The staff were great, my friend and i were the youngest in the group by a LONG stretch so we actually went out with the staff on their night off and they were brilliant took us to some totally unkown little drinking holes, was great! and they got us into clubs in 1850 that we normally would NOT of been allowed into which was pretty rad.

The food was of pretty good standard and quantity and it was a good varied menu set out for the week and their was copious amount of wine floating around which is so ideal!

Our room was bright and open, i think we were on the 3rd floor? not 100% sure about that, we had a balcony that looked over the main road which was so pretty! and all the rooms had wicked views! not that it matters when you're up in the mountains all day anyway. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was big enough for us both to shuffle about in and it was all nice and clean!

Also, their was this big open room, like a sitting room, with a fire and sofas and stuff for chilling out in on that one night where you just can't stomach any more booze!

All round good chalet, i'd most certainly stay their again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff were fantastic. Helpful everyday and really friendly.nothing was too much trouble and the food was amazing. My husband and I heartily recommend the company and the accommodation .The hotel was directly opposite the ski lift and central to all amenities .They organised all ski hire and lift passes during the connecting coach trip to take the hassle out of schlepping around on arrival.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 842EmmaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've just returned from Cascades and each member of our group of 5 would happily return. The location is excellent, you can boot and board up and be on the slopes in 5 minutes. Also, the free ski bus to 1850 goes from just down the road which is also handy if you fancy a change of scenery. The rooms we had were at the front of the chalet, on the first floor. And yes, they are small, but I've been in smaller so no complaints here! There is plenty of hanging room in 2 cupboards and a wardrobe so no issue for us there either. The breakfast, cake and dinner were excellent, such good quality meals (high 5 chef Dave and his team!) and the plentiful wine also went down well. The staff are also friendly and knowledgeable about the area, if you want tips on where to board or ski or even which bars to go to they are more than happy to help.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are at the back of the chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Can't believe some of the negative reviews from others. This is an EXCELLENT chalet with the only downside the small size of the rooms. It's right in the middle of 1650 and is bang opposite the main ski lift. We had a small room on first floor at front of hotel - perfect for watching the fireworks mid-way through the week.
First you CAN turn the heat down in the rooms - small twisty knob on bottom of vertical radiator - just turn it off! Yes the bathroom we had was small but it was cleaned every day and there were soft fluffy towels. Plenty of hanging space once you knew where to look - behind the sliding wooden panels!
Food was superb - we were expecting lots of pasta/stews etc but we were treated to 3 course meals every night with unlimited wine (choice of 4 different bottles) - suprisingly good quality too.
Yes it's expensive to eat/drink on the slopes but you could take extra breakfast croissants/cheese/ham etc and make your own picnic. Staff were great and served meals/hot breakfast options quickly.
Bearing in mind this is a big chalet housing around 70 people, I thought is it was well run and way better than a small 16 person chalet on our previous trip some years before.
Resort is excellent for all levels of skier and I highly recommend New Generation, the recommended ski school if you want tuition.
There is WIFI at the hotel though only works in bar and restaurant area.

Room Tip: Pay extra if you want a bigger room, but to be honest, all you do is sleep in your room, so why both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelenSmeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had booked via 'Iglu' and had read the reviews about the small rooms on the 1st and second floor. But did not want to pay a surcharge for rooms at the back of the hotel. You could just about walk around the bed, a double. French doors opened out onto a balcony over a bar. With no way to turn the heat off we slept with the doors open and were kept awake by snow ploughs and revelers . Hanging space was at a premium but we took 3 over the door hooks to hang towels on.
No room in the bathroom to swing a cat, No ventilation either, so could be very smelly! Wall needed cleaning at side of loo.
The bed was comfy but the sheets were too small and the duvet was stained...
The dining room was noisy and the chairs wonky, the tables needed a coat of paint. No table cloth's but the food was the best we have ever had with Ski Total, 99% of the staff were friendly and efficient. Could have done with more soups, dinner a little late at 7.30pm. wine good quality and plenty of it.
Apart from these complaints we had a good time. Overpriced for the quality of the rooms. Lounge on the top floor was very nice but TV did not work. I believe a Swiss company now own Ski Total. They need to address the problems in the bedrooms.
It has a lift to the boot room, 3 small people or one big one only at a time!!! so it takes ages to get out in the morning. Be prepared to get your wallet spanked in the bars 5 to 7 euros for a beer. Even more on the slopes. 16 Euro's for Hot dog and Chips from the takeaway.
One lunch venue on the slopes were charging 28 euros for Lasagna or Spaggetti. Make sandwiches from the breakfast bar. Must say breakfast was great our thanks to the Chef.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyWalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
1.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#5 of 54 in Courchevel
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 54 in Courchevel
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#6 of 54 in Courchevel
112 reviews
1 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#37 of 54 in Courchevel
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades

Address: Rue de l'Aguille de Fruit, 1650, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Courchevel
Price Range: $110 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very centre of Courchevel 1650, with the main gondola just across the street and convenient for all the resort’s amenities, the Cascades has been extensively refurbished over recent seasons, and this winter sees the addition of a brand new lounge on the top floor, together with five new valley-facing bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing