We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! Don't hesitate.”
Review of Cascades

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascades
Ranked #2 of 12 Courchevel B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a week in Chalet Cascades in Courcheval 1650 with Ski Total. It was just excellent. I cant thank the staff enough. The rooms were great, really good size, quiet and we had a fantastic view of the valley from our balcony.

Meals were good standard, wine was surprisingly quafable and the chalet team couldn't have been more attentive. Location is excellent, just opposite the escalators for the lift system and next door to some of the best bars. Even so, it was surprisingly quiet inside.

We had two children with us aged 9 and 10 and they loved it. They especilliy liked having their meal at 5.30 on their own without any boring adults, then snuck up to the lounge on the thuird floor for the rest of the evening.

There were very few negative points and anything we raised with the staff was delat with immediately. The lift is a bit slow and there is a desparate lack of hanging pegs in the rooms and bathrooms.

Recommendations: ESF was not a good choice for our kids as the "English Speaking Instructors" is something of an exageration. We tried New generation for a private lesson and the kids really enjoyed it. They also have a great "boot lab" that fixed my aged Salomon boots for £5 when the ski shop told me to throw them in the bin. Thaks guys.

The Wild Bar next to the Signal lift has Illy coffee, which is just the best.

All in all, a magical trip and many thanks to Clem and his team at Ski Total.

Room Tip: we had 101 and 104 and they were both good, but 100 and 101 are close to the lift and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stewartbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 105 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just got back from our best ever ski holiday staying at the Chalet Cascades in 1650
Everything about our holiday was 1st class thanks to the staff managed by Clem & Stuart nothing was too much for them.
The food was amazing Dave the head chef would come out each evening to tell us what we were having.
The chalet was just across the road from the escalator leading up to the lifts and was very comfortable and smart in appearance
All in all a great experience thank you to all the staff
We are definitely going back next year

Room Tip: Room 103 & 203 have a large bath & shower fab to relax in after a great day on the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ossie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a fantastic week at Cascades in January. The standard of accomodation was far better than we expected for such a reasonably priced holiday. The views down the valley from the dining room and back bedrooms are spectacular. The sutation is excellent for skiing as you only have to cross the road and an escalator takes you up to the main lift out of 1650. A lovely blue piste home is perfect for tired legs. The food was delicious and plentiful. Finally, the icing on the cake were the staff; this young team, well led by manager Clem, bubbled with enthusiasm and smiled all the time. They always found time to stop and ask about your day however busy they were. If you have not booked your skiing yet and like te atmosphere of a chalet hotel you could not do better.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bed suite on the back which was spacious and quiet with views down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaneE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've been lucky enough to stay all over the Alps, from bunk self cater to luxury chalets, Chalet Cascades ticks all the right boxes. If you want friendly professional service from excellent chalet staff, first class three course meals, comfy sofas, great views and good coffee...(the complementary wine is pretty damn good too ;-) then you are looking at the right place.

If you want bone china, velvet slippers & silver spoon - you'd best look at Eastbourne!

Thank you Clem, James, Dan, Izzy, India, Brody, Emma, Jamie, Stu, chef...and anyone else who helped this to be a memorable stay.

We'd come back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are smaller - but still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got back from a fabulous week in Courcheval 1650. Stayed at Cascades which has had a complete overhaul and is great. It has superb views over the valley, sadly our room was at the front of the hotel so did get a little bit of noise from the street but it didn't spoil our holiday, just be aware of this when booking. Rooms at back are quieter and have the great views. Staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help, they were all extremely polite, friendly and efficient. Rooms were basic but clean and comfy, what more do you need when out skiing all day??!! Food was brilliant, well cooked and presented nicely. Would highly recommend this chalet.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room at the back of the hotel, they have great views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eng-CJ-and-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just got back from our stay at Cascade we had an excellent time.

Rooms are spacious a bit above the usual chalet hotel grade and the location could not be better just a short walk across the road and your at the gondolier station. The quality of the food was fabulous the chefs did an excellant job and the wine flowed. But the main quality of this accomodation is without a doubt the warm welcome received by the excellant staff led by Clem with his exceptional management skills.

We would stay at the Cascades again thank you all for a great week.

Room Tip: Try to get valley facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skibunnyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just to start, what ever bad reviews you have read about this chalet IGNORE them.

I have have just come back from a great holiday with family and friends and we all loved the chalet, the position and the staff were second to none!!!

The chalet is lovely and clean with views out the back looking over Courchevel 1500 and the valley while at the front you are looking out on the high street.I had a suite at the back which was nice and clean with a good sized bathroom and balcony, it has underfloor heating and is very comfortable. The rooms at the front do tend to be a bit smaller.
In the morning you have a choice of hot option ( bacon, egg and sausage) or continental.Tea coffee and home baked cakes at around 4 o'clock and in the evening a five course meal that was very well presented, tasty and big enough to fill the gap that a hard days skiing would have left, plus enough wine to leave you with a thick head. Don't forget to drink plenty of water.
The location is perfect with the escalator right across the road leading to the main bubble lift to the slopes. There are a couple of supermarkets within a few minutes walk plus some good bars that have happy hours so yopu can enjoy the apres ski before changing for dinner. The restaurants can be expensive so have a look about first to suit your budget. We had a meal for five on the staff night off at a pizza restaurant opposite the spar for about 130.00 euros BUT if you go up the to 1850 take your deeds to the house as you can pay 8 euros just for vin chaud.
The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They are courtious and always stop to have a chat about your day's skiing.
The ski area of Courchevel is massive so if it is your first visit, stay with the local ski pass as there are plenty of runs to keep you busy for a week. If your on a bit of a budget, come down into 1650 town for lunch as its half the price of eating up the mountain.

OVERALL - You will love it and we would not hesitate to return. Well done Skitotal. !!!

Room Tip: rooms are quieter and larger at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank gary-hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
1.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#4 of 54 in Courchevel
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 54 in Courchevel
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#6 of 54 in Courchevel
112 reviews
1 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#35 of 54 in Courchevel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades

Address: Rue de l'Aguille de Fruit, 1650, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Courchevel
Price Range: $110 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very centre of Courchevel 1650, with the main gondola just across the street and convenient for all the resort’s amenities, the Cascades has been extensively refurbished over recent seasons, and this winter sees the addition of a brand new lounge on the top floor, together with five new valley-facing bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing