We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here.”
Review of Cascades

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courchevel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascades
Ranked #2 of 12 Courchevel B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Terrible staff, tatty accommodation, poor customer service, below par holiday package from Ski Total and Iglu Ski. Staff are young and inexperienced, appeared to be drunk on duty on more than one occasion, no local knowledge, more interested in what time they would finish work. Chalet more like a hostel, we are used to cheap and cheerful but this is just cheap and nasty. Loud bar below chalet, very loud until early hours. Great skiing ruined by shoddy chalet and very unprofessional staff. Iglu Ski won't respond to letters, will be taking my complaint to ABTA and further....

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandbagfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 105 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

Firstly i have to say that this is my 1st experience of ski chalet`s, so to be fair although i have skied many times this is my virgin chalet. As there was no reception as such on arrival we were met by two chalet hosts that included the accommodation manger:- Adam Cooper. Adam was superb, a friendly welcoming calming face after the roller coaster ride down into Chambery. This needs to be experienced to be believed. Adam helped us and our cases up to the room on the 3rd floor, explained the front door keypad thingy and then explained the procedure for getting our skis set up for the next day at the attached intersport hire shop. This was completed with the minimum of fuss in about 20 mins for me and our daughter and the equip was then stored in the cascades boot room on the -2 floor. So far so good. The room was basic , no tv but this did not detract from the chalet experience. Certainly our room was very recently refurbed i guess we were the 1st to use the "new" room as it was the 1st week of the new season!! Decent carpet, nice balcony looking down the valley. Pristine bathroom and separate WC, upstairs mezinne bed ( which we did not use) basic corner unit for hanging up our kit. Simple, basic but did what it says on the tin!! On to the grub. The evening meal is served in a one hit sitting from 19.30 and takes circa 2.5 hours in total to present to the assembled guests. You start with 2 different canape`s along with an aperitif of mulled wine or something similar. Moving onto the starter, and then the main:- a different dish every night from Goulash, lamb, pork, chicken, duck and a fish dish one night. At the start of the mains the wine is brought to the table:- 2 choices of red and two of white. No complaints there, soon as the bottle was drained another appeared. All followed by a quality desert. Buffet type breakfast with a hot option every day apart from the "chalet day off" when you help yourself to the Continental offering. Enough to get you started and up and running. As it was the 1st week of operation there was a little disorganisation but hey cut them a little slack, they got it together quickly and without fuss and upset. They are all young ish folk but but for me worked hard at creating a good ( if not 1st time) experience for me and my daughter. The staff are all a friendly team and do the job with a smile on there faces. This costs nothing. The place could not be better sited straight across the road from the main 1650 lift. Almost ski in and out. We had a minor problem with the under floor heating one day failing in our room but this was sorted quickly after a word with Adam. Topman Adam even if you have got funny ears!! Would i return?? DEFO. Even though the price of the scoops is scary its a cracking resort and good accommodation. Special mention to Adam and his hard working staff ( keep your eye out for Coldplays Chris Martin lookalike :- Legend!!) Stuart and all the girls, sorry your names escape me!! Thanks again!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get table nearest the kitchen door to eat first. Take a couple of blocks of cheese and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cowley7stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Booked through Ski Total... I don't think it a chalet, not even a hotel..agree with other reviewers this is only a hostel.

Food is not great, especially poor when you are travel long in France, but waiting long time after a whole skiing or you are eager to set out, but breakfast not ready, even the cold dishes not there..

Maybe due to Christmas, to cater a group of more than 40 people is not a good idea. Staff were trying hard and exhausted.

Room Tip: Rooms toward Bally have great view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skiingfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Package deal with Iglu Ski, also trade as Ski Total or Total Ski. Cheap and not so cheerful, some rooms very, very noisey, music till 2am every night, like trying to sleep in a disco. Some rooms tatty, rubbish pillows, poor quality towels. Staff totally unprofessional, but believe they change round each season.... No local knowledge, no help arranging anything unless it's organised by their company, drunk on duty, inappropriate behaviour in communal areas of chalet, this girl was quite possibly the most rude Australian alive. Total Ski terrible customer care, lost first letter of complaint, then sent reply for another customer complaint to me by mistake, took months to get apology. Check which operator is running this chalet before you book, it's 2 star at best, but you can put up with that, it's the attitude of the staff and ignorance of the operator that is a let down. Run by kids who are clearly just there for fun without much thought for the guests.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Williams691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Cascades, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

As the tour operator that runs the Cascades we would urge readers to read all the reviews for this chalet and to accept that there will always be two sides to every dispute. When some guests feel that the tour operator has not acquiesed to their demands they are inclined to write biased reviews in order to retaliate. We, as Ski Total, are disappointed that this guest has not taken up our offer of arbitration but assure readers that our staff are a well-trained and enthusaiastic team, dedicated to giving our guests a superb ski holiday in the Chalet Cascades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I thought I would write a review for this chalet, because there are a few reviews that are not that good. But we found this a brilliant place to stay. It was right opposite the lift. It was clean friendly food was great. The ski hire was right next door. All round brilliant holiday and will definitely be visiting again hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris700943to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

On first impression the small entrance hall and internal staircase are a bit off-putting as the main reception desk is one floor down. The chalet is built on the side of a hill so the reception area and dining rooms below ground actually look out over the valley. The young staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The front of house manager very courteous and helpful.
Breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals, croissants, bread,preserves, fruit. cold meats and cheese & yoghurts and with a different hot option i.e. porridge or eggs on muffins.each day . Plenty of tea, coffee and fruit juices were available on a self serve basis.
Freshly baked cakes every afternoon and self serve tea/coffee available anytime.
The evening meal consisted of an apperitif and nibbles followed by a 3 course meal and wine (two different white and two reds to each table). The meals were beautifully cooked and presented and served by cheery staff which added to the atmosphere.
Our room on the 1st floor overlooked the valley. It consisted of a small single leading to a very large double with a 6 foot bed. Although the bathroom was small - it was adequate and there was always plenty of hot water for a bath or shower. Rooms were clean although not luxurious - but after all this is a chalet and not a 4 star hotel!
We found this to be a great ski chalet - the overall ambience of the staff was excellent and the situation great as you only had to cross the road and go through the tourist board office and you were virtually on the piste.
After reading reports about the chalet before we went we were a little apprehensive about noise from the bar below but this proved foundless - in fact it was a good bar and restaurant and we certainly were not disturbed.
Would definately recommend this chalet and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul-der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at the Cascades for a week from 13 March and we wanted to write a review because before our trip we had read a few bad reviews.

We have had a great week at the Cascades, from the minute we were greeted off the coach we had a positive experience. The staff we very very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help and make us feel at home.

Our room was on the first floor and was very nice, it was very clean and very comfortable. We were initially worried that it was over the bar and next to the stairwell but we slept soundly each night and only occassionally heard people coming and going. The bar wasn't noisy at all, in fact it's a lovely bar with a great view and reasonably priced drinks.

We would also like to comment on the great food, as another reveiw said it was basic and the wine was rationed. The food was fantastic and the best we've had on a ski-ing holiday. The wine was very nice (2 choices of red and white each night) and it never seemed to run out.

The chalets location is perfect.... right in front of the lifts and in a very pleasant resort. We preferred 1650 to 1850 (where we have previously stayed) as the ski-ing was excellent, the bars and restaurants affordable and the atmosphere relaxed.

The staff at the chalet are generally young but that didn't matter as they were all very friendly, helpful and cared about your holiday experience.

The only issue we had was the lack of security at the hotel as the lock on the main front door didn't work and was always open. Other than that a bit of 'WD40' on some of the door hinges would have been great too.

To sum up Cascades is a great ski chalet (not a hotel) in a great location, with lovely food, lot's of wine and very nice staff.

We would recommend staying at Cascades to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GavinAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courchevel hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
1.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#4 of 54 in Courchevel
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 54 in Courchevel
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#6 of 54 in Courchevel
112 reviews
1 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#7 of 54 in Courchevel
74 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel de la Loze
Hotel de la Loze
#35 of 54 in Courchevel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades

Address: Rue de l'Aguille de Fruit, 1650, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Courchevel
Price Range: $110 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very centre of Courchevel 1650, with the main gondola just across the street and convenient for all the resort’s amenities, the Cascades has been extensively refurbished over recent seasons, and this winter sees the addition of a brand new lounge on the top floor, together with five new valley-facing bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing