We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chamonix the best trekking !”
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chamonix the best trekking !”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Le Vert is located near a bus stop and about a (-;+) 15 minute walk from the Chamonix town centre. There are some free parking lots at front door. It´s not easy to park free near the center Chamonix so this is very convenient because one can leave the car and take the bus.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. A few words and you are already an oldtimer...
Our room was on the 1st floor at the end of the corridor looking out over the mountain peaks. It was a bit noisy earlier in the evening.
The room itself was clean, the sink in the bathroom too small other than to wash your hands.
The bed was wide enough, although too soft !!

It's an old world type ski lodge and it could do with a bit of a makeover as it looks a bit tired, on the other hand having no makeover gives it a certain charm.
However it is clean and well priced.
If we can we will return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (not facing the road and the pub/bar) will be quieter but don't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    123
    39
    16
    7
See reviews for
66
146
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Bed was very comfortable, staff was very friendly and accommodating for our late arrival.

Only complaint would be that the cleaning staff was quite loud and a bit rude in the morning (we arrived late so slept in until about 10, they were cleaning around 8 and I could hear them complaining loudly about things in various rooms..."why the F*** are these beds pushed together?", etc.).

Owners were great! Would stay here again, wish we could have stayed longer.

Parking is free in front of the hotel. Close to the town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Rooms provide everything you would expect. We were beautifully rested after our stay and the advice of the staff was invaluable to us in making the most of the natural wonders we wanted to explore.

Clean, modern bathrooms in particular a welcome highlight.

We loved it and will commend it to all our friends

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil25071969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff was amazing! We arrived late and they allowed us to order food even though we got in 15 minutes after the kitchen closed (which is 9:30pm). We got the biggest room which was great since it was our honeymoon with a comfy queen. Most of the other rooms we saw were more modest but perfectly fine. The food was incredible. We ate in town one night and regretted it because the food at the hotel was so much better. They make a new menu every day and it's top notch! It's a one mile walk from downtown, but the low price, helpful staff, good food, and friendly atmosphere were all so worth it. We actually stayed an extra night because we limed it so much. In the winter, we think that the ace would have a very sport feel to it. Also, the hotel is very English friendly. They do French and Spanish too though. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathandebard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I came here in early June on an impromptu mountain biking trip. The owners were helpful right from the start. They took my reservation over the phone without much hassle and I enjoyed the relaxed and informal atmosphere (its a holiday in alps right...who wants stuffy and regimented..not me, I came to chill)

My room was not even the best room, but the colors, furniture and view were great. I had never been to Chamonix before and had driven from the UK to get there, so was pretty stressed and knackered on arrival. After 15 mins in my room I was totally chilled out, as it was so cozy and comfortable. Although outside of Chamonix, it is hardly far from town, I rode my bike into the town center in about 15 minutes. Driving is about 5 mins away. Also its near lots of nice lakes and the scenery is amazing.

The owner has turned the hotel into not only a good hotel but a good social hub for transplants giving the hotel a "cosmopolitan vibe, bordering on bohemian" its hard to verbalize but needless to say it works well if you want to have a good time . The clientele ranged from tattoo artists to high flying private bankers. It's a good mix.

The room was comfortable and clean and for the price was very good. All in all I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return. If I had one criticism it would be that the breakfast was not that amazing. I don't know what the winter time rates are, but for the summer, this hotel ticked all the boxes for me including price. Looking forward to going back again soon. The bar is also decent.

Room Tip: You can either face the mountains or the cliff, I was facing the cliff and still loved the view. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived late in the evening only to be told that the restaurant would only serve a reduced menu. They didnt bother suggesting a good restaurant in chamonix when asked. The room was ok, but the bathroom was tiny with the tiniest Sink ever. Hotel is out of town but good if you have a car as there is parking for around 5-7 cars. The views to the mountain is blocked by an ugly hotel right across the road, although there are views to the left of that. All in all, not a good stay and won't ever return back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfsk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Le Vert is located near a bus and train station and about a 15 minute walk from the Chamonix town centre.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and they offer to store luggage (for a modest fee) if you are away for a week or two on the Mont Blanc hike. Breakfast was a small selection but more than adequate for our needs.
Our room was on the 1st floor at the end of the corridor looking out over the mountain peaks. It was a bit noisy earlier in the evening as the main road thru the Chamonix region runs by the door-this will be the case for many of the hotels in the Chamonix area.
The room itself was clean, tho very small and the sink in the bathroom too small other than to wash you hands. The bed was wide enough and comfortable, although my feet hung over the end
It's an old world type ski lodge and could do with a bit of a makeover as it looks a bit tired. However it is clean and well priced.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (not facing the road) will be quieter but don't have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Property: Le Vert Hotel
Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing