We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stag Party Feb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stag Party Feb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

What can I say, great trip with Ski weekends.

Hotel Vert is fantastic good rooms but the best part is the bar and restaurant. Food was Fantastic with a great atmosphere!
Ski Shop on site and opposite Bus stop.
Although it is a 20mins walk into town but you can't have everything....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    122
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
66
144
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel was great value for the price - no great luxury but not lacking in anything either. The room was both bright and clean and although not large it was more than adequate. The location is slightly out of the centre but there is a shuttle bus which runs from right outside the hotel into town or to Les Houches which worked out really well. The walk into town only takes about 15 minutes, and with views of the mountains all the way its no hardship !
The staff were really friendly & helpful, in particular Clair and Richard on the front desk.. Any issues were addressed and resolved very quickly with no fuss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great place to use as base camp in Chamonix Mt Blanc.

An excellent hotel which is only enhanced by their very friendly staff. Our room was clean and comfortable, there is plenty of choice for breakfast, served till 10am. But it is their evening menu that was a highlight of our trip, good quality dishes that varied throughout the week.

The bar is lively, with a pool table and usually shows sport on a large screen. But they didn't hesitate to recommend nightspots in town for apres. There is a pro ski shop on the ground floor and they offer a shuttle bus service if required.

Le Vert is located about 1km out of town, but we didn't find this a problem at all. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel with regular buses.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Le Vert and hope to return on our next snow adventure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faxsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Le Vert during half term with our 6 year old. From the moment we we checked in we were made to feel at home. Room was cosy, clean and comfortable. Food was fantastic, we chose to eat in the hotel nearly every night, can thoroughly recommend the burgers and Sunday roast, they also catered brilliantly for our fussy 6 year old! Breakfast was simple but was all we required. Pro shop was great and supplied all of our gear for the stay.
All in all a great place, lovely staff and fab food :-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wenna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at Le Vert half board for 5 nights as part of a package holiday in March 2013, on arrival we were provided with breakfast which was a nice surprise as we weren't expecting it on our arrival day. Breakfast each day was a continental buffet, baguettes, croissants, spreads and preserves, ham, cheese, cereals, yoghurts, fruit juices and coffee, all replenished if running low. The food for all 5 nights was excellent and a highlight of the week for me, there was a set menu each night with starters, mains and puddings that were often imaginative, and always good restaurant quality, far from the cheap buffet provided on most half board deals. All the mains I had were meat but there were separate vegetarian options and though I didn't sample those they all sounded great too, we started on Sunday night with roast beef and Yorkshire puddings which was the equal of many sampled back home, but my personal favourite was Spinach Frittata followed by Duck Linguine, then a bread and butter pudding on the second night, one of the nicest meals I've eaten in a long while. If you have less "foody" tastes, the hotel also has a bar menu with burgers and fries, nachos etc. (also good, we tried both during our stay).

Our room (19) was simple, but large, with a big LCD TV and always clean and tidy on our return each evening, the beds were comfortable and the shower was excellent, really powerful despite us being on the top floor.

The location is just outside Chamonix centre by about 1500m, not really a problem for ski access since in Chamonix with it's separate ski areas you need to use a bus most days anyway and there is bus stop right outside the hotel with buses every 30 mins during the peak times (The hotel has a shuttle service available too for a small charge but we didn't find we needed it). At night you can walk into town in around 20 mins along a quiet well lit road which is no real hardship, there are a couple of later night buses too but again we didn't use them.

We went into town on a couple of evenings but the hotel has it's own entertainments, after dinner we usually retired to either the lounge area with big comfy sofas and a good supply of board games or to the livelier bar area with a well stocked and reasonably priced (for Chamonix anyway!) bar, free pool table, and HD projector for whatever the sporting event du jour happened to be.

My friend and I both had our own equipment so didn't make use of the rental equipment in the pro shop but it was convenient to be able to get our boards edged and waxed on site.

A special thanks to all the staff at the hotel who were friendly and helpful throughout, they genuinely seemed to care that their guests have as an enjoyable stay as possible (they happily made recommendations of which ski areas might best suit the conditions and good lunch spots) we were very well looked after for the duration of our stay.

Overall it is pretty difficult to fault Le Vert when we paid very little more than we would have for a self catering apartment in Chamonix, the food alone makes it worth a visit if you are in town, and if staying there the convenience of an on site pro shop, lively bar and quality restaurant makes it unbeatable value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank popkidpauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Definately recommend Le Vert Hotel - staff were extremely friendly and very flexible with our requirements of early breakfast and in resort transfer. Dinner night was delicious and wine was even better - recommendation from Liz. Service with a smile. Great location, bus stop at the front door. Rooms were fine, linen and towels great with 2 pillows per bed. A great, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTaylorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at the place for a few nights and it was great! The staff was super helpful and accommodating. They helped us with everything from renting skis, airport transfers to finding a guide. The rooms were simple, clean and effective. Great place to rest your head after a day of skiing, night out on the town or a dinner in the restaurant at the Le Vert. The restaurant and bar at the place were very nice as well. We ate there twice over the course of 4 nights.

The only thing is that it was a little further from town than we would have liked. There are plenty of transportation options, a shuttle run by the hotel as well as free public bus, but several times our schedules didn't quite sync up and we had a fair sized walk to get into or out of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Property: Le Vert Hotel
Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing