We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really successful stay.”
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We organized a few days in Chamonix fairly last minute. Timing wise, it was smack in the middle of French school holidays, so I was a little concerned about what would be available and whether value for money would even factor in, but Le Vert Hotel turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Hotel rooms are a super-budget price, but perfectly comfortable with good hot showers. The restaurant and bar in terms of offerings and atmosphere, as everyone has commented, is the big plus. Le Vert is a 15 - 20 minute walk up the road to central Chamonix. Bus stops in both directions are right out the door, but they're not too frequent, so we often walked into town. But when you're not up for it, it's great to know you have the option of a great meal and bar atmosphere without having to step out the door. Breakfast wasn't a raving point, but it was adequate and once again simplifies things in ensuring you're fed, juiced and caffeined up for a day out and about.

We had a great trip; tried some cross country as well as snow-showing. Both were awesome experiences and cheaper, simpler experience than down-hill. Being picked up from the airport and hotel seems like a bit of an extravagance for a budget ski holiday (if such a thing is truly possible!), but in fact there aren't a lot of cheaper options and having the hotel organize this was a real boon.

All in all a very successful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeThatThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. It was a great stay. The staff were so friendly. They cleaned the rooms every day and there was alway hot water. They had a wonderful restaurant in the hotel that offered a Menu Du Jour that was a steal at only 20€. I still have a vivid memory of the lamb stew from NZ... it was so delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amzukWanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We felt very comfortable staying at this hotel on our recent skiing trip. The staff made you feel at home and the food was EXCELLENT (we upgraded to hb for 15 Euro each per day). Our room was comfortable and really warm, with lots of space. However it opened onto the stairwell and there was a lot of noise from people using the stairs and slamming doors at night. Ear plugs soon remedied this though. We felt the staff went the extra mile to help us wherever they could, arranging lifts when the ski instructor couldn't make it, etc. The bar is great if you like sport as they had all the football and rugby on. I found it a bit blokey and intimidating in there however, but guests are welcome to relax at one of the restaurant tables if they prefer, where the atmosphere is a bit more chilled. Although the hotel offers rooms to all nationalities, the majority of guests seemed to be Brits - which you may see as either an advantage or a disadvantage! All in all when you take into account the fantastic value offered by this hotel, you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeiRol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel has a lot of personal character and Richard and his wife have worked hard to make it a great place to stay and are making many upgrades to the rooms, so I ma sure the hotel will only continue to get even better. Richard got us our transfers from Geneva and back so that was stress free (however the co they use needs to get lugage racks on their vans!). The hotel is a short 10 min walk from town and right at the bus stops. it was very easy to catch a bus last minute from the room. The hotel is very convienient with a fun bar, restaurant with really wonderful food and menu de jour, a ski shop for overnight tunes and wax.We ate there several nights and were always very impressed. The morning breakfast was also quite a spread, all you can eat buffet, the food was the same layout everymorning though so you began to feel like you were in Groundhogs Day movie. the warm croisants and Nutella were awsome! The rooms were well, small of course but suitable, clean and comfortable. Though noise travels easy there and if you're by the stairs you will hear people going up and down frequently. they were talking about puting in a fireplacebetween the lounge and bar, this would obviously add much ambience, but what they really need is a hot tub for the long day, every day skier that needs to loosen up. they got the room behind the place near the ski locker, I highly recomend this before the fire place.
The service was also quite accomadating. We needed clean towels. the place was booked and short on them, but the girls busted butt to get the laundry done and we had fresh clean wram towels shortly. Overall it is a great value stay, I would stay there again esp to save some dollars.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

A small but cosy hotel. it is good value for money .A little bit far out of town but staff are really friendly and helpful. Brazilian chef produced some fantastic food.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunterparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Its not so often i'm so easily pleased, but our trip was brilliant from start to finish. We were made to feel so welcome, with an extremely comfy room, large hot shower and enormous balcony. The food was fantastic especially catering for a fussy veggie! I will definitely being returning hopefully this season even though my snowboarding ability has a lot to be desired!! Le Vert rocks whether you're there as a family, with friends or just on your own

Room Tip: I was in room 13 a double room with a very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

You can't buy ambience, which is a good job because Le Vert has it in abundance and at no extra cost. By ambience I mean the bar/restaurant/lounge is a place you look forward to being in at the end of the day and far removed from the normal quaint but dead French hotel dining rooms.This is a good fun place to stay and great value. The unrefurbished rooms are dowdy to be honest but if the real estate disappoints then you are missing the point.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.8 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
364 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $59 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing