We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful dreamland in the Alps”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Chalets de Philippe
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful dreamland in the Alps”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here recently for three nights and were absolutely blown away by the how unique and beautiful the place was. Our room was so cosy and quaint, and it felt like we were in a fairytale!

The last night of our trip we got engaged in a restaurant near the hotel which added an even more special aspect to our stay. Philippe is so helpful and was all too quick to show us nearby walks etc.

We chose not to eat at the hotel due to my partner having some dietary issues, but welcomed the morning pastry basket and juice. There is also a nespresso machine in every room which is great for us coffee addicts!

The view is just stunning and I would love to go back here as soon as I can!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Baroque suite which has the most comfortable bed ever! also the shower is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avvy-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    36
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
51
178
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Praslin Island, Seychelles
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a wonderful place to begin a new adventure!
Stayed in begining of March at Les Chalets de Philippe and we spent a really relaxing holiday .You will be amazed by the magnificent view of the sunset/sunrise!
Everyone was welcoming ,warm hearted and helpful.
Special thanks to Mr Philippe,Both Chefs/sweet and salt and one of the team member who is from Saint Etienne and was a nature lover who showed us the hidden part of the beautiful Chamonix and came with us at the Saint Bernard kennel,don't miss it!!

This will serve as a high recommendation.*

Peace,nature and mountain is Definitively how to describe our stay in Les Chalets Philippe.
Many thanks & Culinary Regards

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuandMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

There is a truism in the restaurant business that restaurant quality is in inverse proportion to the quality of the view. Les Chalets de Philippe blows that saying into the weeds. Here you get some of the best views on the planet, and I daresay, some of the best food.

Other reviewers have remarked on the fairytale setting and it really is the right word. As my friend said when we arrived, 'it's like dining in Middle Earth'. The dining rooms are spread around an old Alpage farm and it is the luck of the draw which room you end up but each is charming charming charming.

Firstly you have to recalibrate your expectations. You pay fine dining prices but it is not a fine dining experience. Firstly all the staff are wearing jeans and fleeces, no one takes your coat, you sit at a shared table, there is no table cloth, the chairs are rickety old kitchen chairs. So far you might be wondering why you are paying so much but then the food arrives; and it is simply magnificent. After you experience its quality you begin to relax into this place and realise the staff are utterly charming, the wine list is bearably priced, and all told it's hard to have a nicer dining experience anywhere else.

The one sting in the tail, and it was a nasty sting, and the reason I don't give five stars, was the transfer; or lack of it. When we booked we very carefully asked if there was a shuttle (navette), or taxi, back to Chamonix because we both wanted to drink but not drive. The Maïtre D (owner?) told us that for the full menu price he would happily pick us up from Chamonix and drop us back. We preferred to get there under our own steam but were looking forward to a good drink and a transfer back to Cham.

Imagine our annoyance when it came to settle the bill and he wanted another EUR €30 on top to drop us back to Chamonix. Perhaps €30 is reasonable as taxi prices go but it felt like a very cheeky bit of opportunism. We drove.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Probably one of the most romantic place I ever been ! The infrastructures are great, the view on the mountains stuning and the services excellent and discreat. You feel at home in no time, or wish your home be the same ... Private theatre, room service with local food, full range of DVD, sauna and a spa on each terrasse.

Room Tip: I would recomand the Clarines Chalet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed 1 week end in the suite baroque.

Upside: Great staff, great food, great jacuzzi evenings under clear skies, great view on a little clearing with dears and other animals passing by. Also nice bed with a funky tv set-up and a the suite has real charm.

downside: Suite much smaller than the pics may have you believe with a toilet door opening up right into the suite. You better be comfortable with whomever you r travelling! Also, the baroque style interior is leaning heavy on the tacky side.

conclusion: Most romantic getaway I can remember, I recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Clarines chalet. The grounds were bursting with colorful flower planters and surrounded by large fir trees. The fairytale tone is consistent throughout without fail. Our terrace had a picnic table for 2 or 3 people, 2 loungers and a hot tub. The full view of the Mont Blanc range is breathtaking. It was easy to relax on the terrace with the quiet privacy, mountain views, and the village of Chamonix stretched out far below in the valley. The chalet is two stories, charming, clean, and small. The ground floor consists of two rooms, a kitchen/dining room & bathroom. The bedroom upstairs was comfortable for us. Please understand that the stairs are steep and the ceiling is low. All rooms are fully equipped & absolutely charming but small. The chef made us dinner which was served on our terrace. The food was fantastic. They delivered bread, OJ and cheese to us each morning. These were fresh products from the local market! We had lunch in the 17th century dinning room. The raclette, homemade chocolates and ice cream were out of this world. Philllipe and his staff were very friendly and professional. We couldn’t ask for anything more and if we had they would have figured out how to get it to us. Chamonix and Argentiere are both very close for supplies, eateries, and shopping. The fabulous service encompassed in the most charming ambiance means we can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanttoseetheworld65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for a special place for my husband's birthday and this delivered at all levels - location, accommodation and service. We stayed in les trolles which is a beautiful chalet, exquisitely furnished but also comfortable and well equipped. The chalet has a sunny terrace and stunning view across to mont blanc. At night all the chalets are illuminated by pretty blue garlands - I felt as if I had entered an enchanted fairyland. Our children were equally mesmerised, especially by the beautiful wooden beds. Philippe went out of his way to customise our stay and provide a birthday surprise meal for my husband. We dined in the chalet courtesy of the resident chef and enjoyed a delicious meal of scallops, veal and a sumptuous cake, complete with candles! Breakfast of your choice is delivered to your door - tasty croissants and freshly squeezed orange juice.... This is a special place, summed up by my sons comment when we left "why can't we stay here for ever mummy?!" . Can't wait to return when snow is on the ground, when I am sure it will be nothing short of a winter wonderland!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LissyBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets de Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets de Philippe

Property: Les Chalets de Philippe
Address: 718 route du Chapeau | Le Lavancher, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The totally unique south-facing position of "The balcon du Lavancher" ensures its day-long year-round sunshine, and from this exceptional location at a place called the "Alpage des Esserts", Philippe's 9 chalets look down on the beautiful Chamonix valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Chalets De Philippe Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing