We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant.”
Review of le Caveau

le Caveau
Ranked #128 of 227 Restaurants in Chamonix
Price range: $14 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked a table fortunately because the restaurant was busy. Food and service both great with a gret assortment on the menu. Would definitely visit again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben118118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    73
    36
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Canada
2 reviews
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great place for casual dinning. We loved it there, cozy and very hospitable. Resident Golden retiever very friendly and welcoming.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious and atmospheric”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Cozy restaurant with friendly stuff and beautiful food!Just do not miss this place :) Better book during the season. Very popular and kitchen open till late!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saricu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved the ambience”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We dined here twice when we visited Chamonix in January this year and loved it. The ambience was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good. It is kid friendly too - our girls loved the pizza and even tried Escargot. We dined there early but it was always full with people waiting for tables when we left.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite Italian in Chamonix”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a great little restaurant and one you could easily miss if you didn't know it was there as it has a simple doorway down the restaurant down in the cellar - or 'le Caveau' :o) We visit at least once every time we go to Chamonix, and in the winter season we always need to book ahead as it is so popular. We would recommend the 'huskies' pizza and the past with gorgonzola and fillet steak - absolutely delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Caveau also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Argentiere, Chamonix
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to le Caveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing