We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic day out

We had a group of 8 and were led down the river by Greg. All of us loved it and Greg put a great... read more

Reviewed June 10, 2018
850samarat
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic fun

What a fun activity. All you need is provided. Just take a towel and your swimsuit. There is... read more

Reviewed August 25, 2017
Willolot
,
Surrey
via mobile
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
33
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wetsuits instructions shoes fun guide
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 40 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We went to session raft two separate times in the same trip, once for rafting and once for hydrospeeding (riverboarding for Americans). The rafting was great, they had good english instructions and great guides who made sure we understood everything we needed to do and were very sociable. We had a blast.

HOWEVER,
a few days later we came back to go hydrospeeding and things were a bit problematic. Our only guide did not speak more than a few words of english, and we had never gone hydrospeeding before. We needed to learn how to use and control the board and we needed clear security instructions. We didn't get what we needed and while it was very fun, we had very little control over our boards, we had very little idea of how to stay safe, and things could have ended up rather dangerous. Thankfully we came out ok, but the next English-speakers to go may not be as lucky. To have english-speaking tourists, you must have english-speaking guides. So keep this in mind when deciding to come here.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We were all a bit nervous about this, as no one in our family had ever tried rafting. Once we met Mickael, our funny and easygoing guide, we relaxed and, once on the raft, it was amazingly fun and relaxing at the same time.
The scenery is gorgeous!
You go down the river, below the pretty bridges of Chamonix and you get to the Houches as your final destination.
Depending on the water conditions, you get to stop mid-way to have a swim and dive into the river from a rock (we did not do this, as the river was too shallow).
Everything is very safe, we never had the sensation of being in danger even when the raft stopped onto a small waterfall as it touched the rocks.
When you arrive to the meeting point, staff will provide you with all the wet suits gear (from shoes, to helmets, the wetsuit and the lifejackets). You just need to wear your bathing costume and bring a towel. You then leave all your bags in their dressing room and leave with their van to the starting place. You will be given instructions on how to work in team to direct the raft and what to do in case of emergency.
The whole descent has been great and our teenage kids loved it (age limit is 10 years old) as did we parents.
There's also a nice little cafè where you can get drinks afterwards - we were quite thirsty and tired at the end.
Do not hesitate to go, as you will have great memories of fun and beauty!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Raffaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Session R, Gérant at Session Raft, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Thanks you Raffaraf your your comment !
Hope to see you soon in Chamonix

Mickaël from Session Raft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

The professional, experienced and charismatic guides made the rafting experience loads of fun whilst remaining safe for all on board. Also helped that they loved their "Aussie engine". Highly recommended!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Lyons88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Session R, Gérant at Session Raft, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Thanks a lot for your comment !
Tom From Session Raft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Booked both the hydro speed and the white water rafting, the booking procedure was quick simple and effective.
Every detail was explained when getting ready for the first activity(hydro speed) and they have everything worked out to a tea. The hydro speeding was fantastic and our guide was very friendly and efficient .
When we returned the next day for white water rafting we were greeted as friends, and this adventure was also fantastic with great guides.
All of the people working there are only interested in you really enjoying yourselves, it's more like friend than a business.
This is one attraction that you must take and we thoroughly recommend this to everyone
THANK YOU ALL

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank hippyengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Fantastic happy helpful staff - full of enthusiasm and made a real effort to make sure the trip was full of fun and adventure.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Dunadry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews