We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chamonix Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Chamonix Hotel”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A reasonably priced and very well appointed hotel close to everything you will need in Chamonix. Less than 6-8 min walk from the nearest ski bust stop and approx 10 min or less from the Place Du mont Blanc it is ideally located to take advantage of all Chamonix has to offer. The staff in the hotel were great to deal with at all times and the Hot Chocolate they serve is well worth the stay on its own.

MBC micro brewery is less than a 5 minute stroll around the corner for some of the best food and beer in Chamonix. The Sauna and the chill our room beside it are a hidden treasure in the basement of the hotel and the individual boot driers in the ski lockers are a god send.

I did not eat in the hotel at all but while waiting for my transfer out some of the other residents ordered lunch and it looked and smelled fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Aguille de Midi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    46
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
91
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I was there in February 2010 for 6 nights. The hotel is not in the center of Chamonix, it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to shops, restaurants etc., and also to the ski bus you will need the same time. I am not the man who likes to walk with the ski equipment every morning and after the skiing back to hotel. If you have a car, than perfect. It is a traditional alp style hotel with good service. The room was clean and quiet, so I had a good sleep after all day skiing. I will rate the hotel - average, minus the distance to the center, plus-hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We really enjoyed the Hotel Hermitage for our first trip to Chamonix. To begin with, the staff was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. The lounge/lobby area was very inviting and perfect for enjoying a drink or small snack. The rooms are clean and cozy and many offer a great view of the mountains.

The hotel is about a 5-7 minute easy walk to the center of town, and only about a 1-2 minute walk to the bus stop for that takes you to the different ski resorts.

Overall - great stay and hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I spent my christmas holiday week with my girlfriend in this beautiful family run hotel located 5 minutes walking distance from Chamonix centre-ville.
The hotel is an old styled traditional chalet with very cozy and impeccably decorated common areas and a real mountaneeir athmosphere.
Each detail is carefully studied to offer the customers a relaxing experience.
Despite the restaurant isn't operative in the winter season the guests can take profit of an impeccable bar/snacks service running 16hs/day.
The staff is unusually kind and professional, for instance during our stay due to the huge amount of snow the staff and in particular the owner himslef spent many hours to clean up all the guest cars...
Breakfast is served in a nice room partially facing the breathtaking aguille du midi.
I would definitely suggest this hotel to anybody interested in visiting Chamonix and I will surely select it again in case of return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Our room was cute and everything worked fine. One needs to register in the morning for evening meals (there is little choice, but everything was delicious!), but although we forgot to do so the staff accommodated us very kindly. Location is a bit out of the center, but very quiet. And we loved chilling in the garden with a cocktail after a hard day out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanteSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Pros: Cons:
Ski/Snowboard lockers Rooms were small
Felt like a chalet Shower water temp changed
Great service Shower had little water pressure
Cozy Toilet smelled
Rooms have balcony A little far from everything
Apero with ski schools/guides

First impression of Hotel Hermitage was great. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly, the fireplace was inviting. Everyone employee was fantastic throughout our stay. Our room was nice but small. There was a balcony with fantastic views of the mountains that I imagine is great in the summer. They offer breakfast in the morning that was good but a little expensive. On Saturday night they hosted a happy hour/apero with local ski schools and guides that was helpful.

Our gripes were with the bathroom. The shower and sink are in one room, toilet in another. We prefer that. We especially did this time since the toilet smelled. We kept the lid down which helped, but going to the bathroom was still a bit unpleasant. Then there was the shower. Our water temperature went from hot to cold whenever someone else turned the water on. In addition there was no water pressure. There was no shower curtain which made for a cold shower most of the time. A little frustrating after being outside all day.

It is a little far from the main part of town. However, it didn't take long to walk there (5 minutes). On the upside, it was only 2 minutes from a great microbrewery-MBC. They also had a little playground for kids.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybubbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We arrived by car and were able to park in the hotel's car park which is across a quiet lane from the hotel. Our room was of a reasonable size with a balcony and the most wonderful views of the Aiguille du Midi and Mont Blanc. The bathroom was modern with a shower and everything was very clean. One small gripe, the toilet was too close to the wall and the seat moved a lot in use giving the user a nasty scare even when you thought you knew what to expect. Our large double bed was very comfortable and there was a flatscreen T.V. which we used very little.
The dining room has a lovely outlook across the garden to the mountains beyond and it is possible to eat your breakfast in the garden if desired. There was a good selection for breakfast with boiled or fried eggs cooked to order. Hot drinks were from a machine but were of good quality. The cost for breakfast was slightly high at 14 euros per person but Chamonix is not a cheap place to stay. The hotel did serve dinner in the evenings with the menu being posted in the morning to enable you to choose whether you wished to eat in or not. We enjoyed the lively atmosphere in the town on a balmy summers evening and chose to eat out each evening, not knowing what time we would return, but plenty ate at the hotel and the menu always looked appetising.
We found Le Monchu restaurant next to the casino to have plenty of traditional dishes on offer including a number of "cook your own at the table" at realistic prices, particularly for the set menus
The hotel is in an ideal position only a short walk to the town centre but in a very quiet and peaceful district. The railway line runs nearby but this was never a problem and the station for the train to Montenvers/Mer de Glace is almost on the doorstep as is the main station.
Staff at the hotel were very friendly and seemed anxious to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. If you are staying for more than a day or two consider purchasing the pass for the cable cars and chairlifts, we risked a five consecutive day pass, the weather was great every day except one when we still used it. We spent every day in the mountains and saved a fortune over buying individual tickets.
When we return to Chamonix we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again which we felt gave good value. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: The views of the Mont Blanc range are fabulous, choose a room with a balcony and that view. A little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#20 of 73 in Chamonix
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard

Property: Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
Address: 63 Chemin du Ce, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent landscaped garden at the foot of the cross-country ski trails, the HERMITAGE provides an ever-stunning view of the Brévent, the Aiguilles de Chamonix and Mont-Blanc. Just steps from the town centre, all the charms of a family guest establishment with that special Chamonix spirit, a blend of warm traditions and attractive modernity. Summer and winter alike, the joys of skiing, hiking and activities nearby with the sports complex located opposite the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing