We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel - clean & cosy!”
Review of Hotel du Clocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Clocher
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Du Clocher four nights in March 2013. The hotel is a family run business and it is tiny. 10-12 rooms in total.
It was exactly what we were after though: a good cosy clean room, ensuite bathroom with hot shower, somewhere to store our snowboards and boots at the end of the day and a good basic breakfast.
The hotel is VERY central - literally 2 minutes walk to the main shopping street and restaurants. Max 5 minutes walk to the Brevent ski lift and to the bus stop if you want to go to other slopes (we can highly recommend going by bus no. 11 to Flegere...)
The madame who runs the hotel is a really nice lady and we had a very good stay.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good clean central budget hotel whilst skiing in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Rooms at the second floor are smaller than rooms on ground and first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good price during the skiing season. Small hotel with friendly, pleasant English speaking staff. Room we had was on 3rd floor. A room for hobbits I think. Stairway is very narrow also. Room was very low and a little difficult to shower as room so low. To be honest we were there to ski so didn't mind this to much. We wanted a fairly cheap hotel that was in a central location and that's what we got. Hotels are expensive in Chamonix. Breakfast was good old continental style and was basic but filling. Did the job. It the cleanest place in the world. If a cleanliness freak font stay here. Free fast wifi. Good area to put skis and boots in I the main hall. Location is about 3 to 4 min walk from bus station to Le Houches and Argentiere. Big bonus this and Is just off the Main Street. Area to park car.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back from 4 nights in this hotel. The staff are charming and the hotel is located 3 minutes walk from the ski lift. The rooms are the smallest I have ever encountered in a hotel but clean and well kept. The breakfast again is very basic but the location and staff made up for any minor grumbles.

Room Tip: All the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris17phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a house turned hotel, rooms are small but they were spotless when we stayed and the staff were very welcoming. The walls are thin so you can hear all other guests come and go, luckily when we were there everyone was up early to ski and in not too late so it went with our movements... For 8€50 breakfast is a big basket of bread and croissants, boiled eggs, ham, cheese and yoghurt and as much tea/coffee and orange juice as we wanted. The rooms are expensive for the size but the location is great, right in the centre of town and yet on a little lane that is quiet. We had to leave a day early as we had a problem with our car and they wouldn't refund our rooms which would have of course helped. Bad day be better but at ten to midday they said it was too late. We weren't surprised but it would have left a nicer feeling. Had lovely three days in Chamonix though!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank eirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Filthy and untidy hotel with management only interested in making money (hotel is in the very center of Chamonix and they are aware of it. Not welcoming staff, old rooms. There are certainly better places in Chamonix for the same price

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is truly awful. It's filthy and the management just didn't care. There was dust everywhere during our stay, curtains that were threadbare and broken light fittings. It's the shabbiest hotel we have ever stayed at - not cheap and cheerful as others suggest; nothing cheerful about it. We had booked for three days and just had to move to another hotel. Avoid - there are much better options in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Roskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was in Chamonix for a conference during the summer. I stayed at Le Clocher for 6 days. I found it to be ideal for someone looking for a place that provides the necessary minimum. The room was not as small as I thought it would be (by french standards), the bathroom was also quite spacious. I stayed in a room that looked to the back (room 10). You can hear noise from the chalet next door during the day sometimes but people don't usually stay up very late in Chamonix - apparently. So You can easily get a good night sleep. I didn't really have any complaints about noise or anything of this sort. There's one lady who's in charge of most things at the hotel, she was very helpful and efficient in answering any questions that i had concerning the town and the place. The place used to be a chalet, but the owners turned it into a hotel (i think they only have 10 rooms).
I only had breakfast at the hotel on one morning. You get the typical french "package" coffee, croissant, bread, butter and jelly. But you have to pay 8euros per meal for breakfast. Personally I found it to be much more convenient to buy one or two croissants (or brioches) for breakfast from the boulangerie (bakery) in the main square of the town facing the church - mostly since i don't really need to have a morning coffee (the bakery is a 1-2 min walk from the hotel).
I would recommend anyone who has limited budget to stay at Le Clocher. It's actually the cleanest 2 star hotel that I've ever stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#52 of 73 in Chamonix
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#43 of 73 in Chamonix
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Clocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Clocher

Address: 110 impasse de l Androsace, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $82 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Clocher 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming family run hotel in this converted town house in the centre of Chamonix. Set in a quiet streets, this converted town house is well situated close to the shops and restaurants, public transport, ski school and the 'Maison de la Montagne'. Also, with easy access to the ski slopes of Le Savoy and Le Brevent and la Flegere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Clocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Clocher Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing