We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Can't complain about any aspect of the hotel. Lovely rooms, fantastic view of Mont Blanc for our balcony. Nice swimming pool. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It is a stones throw from the Aguille du midi cable car and 5 minutes walk to the centre of town were there are many nice restaurants. If you can't walk that far there are other restaurants just around the corner!

It's a 15 minute walk to the other cable car which I imagine is the one you would use in the winter for skiing but that wasn't what we were here for in August.

The only downside was the breakfast, or rather the cost of it. It was perfectly good, typical continental fare with a few nice extras but not worth 14 Euros. However it seems par for the course in Chammonix. We found a little restaurant nearby that did breakfast and had croissant and coffee for 5 Euros.

No air con, not an issue for us but could be in a really hot spell. I would have appriciated tea and coffee making facilities in the room but that doesn't seem to be very common in Europe.

Yes there is a building project across the road but it was quiet whilst we were there.

Car parking is provided which was a nice suprise as booking.com infor suggested you would have to park on the road.

So overall a lovely hotel in a lovely setting with nice staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauljoecoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were very disappointed that the hotel is facing a noisy street and there is traffic all night. In addition they are having construction going on across the street so the garden area was not comfortable to sit in do to the pounding and jack hammers. The room are very nice and we had a very small balcony. Breakfast was very simple and felt very expensive for what they served. The breakfast is not included in the hotel rate. When I wanted an expresso there was an additional charge. The view is obstructed by buildings in front of you and probably if you were on a higher floor it might have been better but still no clear view of the mountain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

OMG!!! A room with a view of Mont Blanc. A comfortable bed. Great service. A beautiful pool. and all of this located in a very nice town. This hotel is a "do over" because it was so nice. When we do make it back to Chamonix we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubba3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great location close to the town centre and perfect for the Aiguille du Midi station, but with its own car parking (that is just about big enough for the hotel). A lovely outdoor swimming pool and garden to sit out in on a hot afternoon after walking in the hill. Nice rooms.

very friendly staff, fine room with a balcony and view of Mont Blanc, great breakfast.

Next time I need a hotel in Cham this will be the first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunroBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

You can do better in Chamonix. It's not appropriate to recommend another hotel here, but I've stayed elsewhere and had a much better experience for the money. My wife and I came to Chamonix last summer and were so overwhelmed by the beauty that we came back this year. After researching Trip Advisor, we decided to try this place because they had a large outdoor pool with a view of the mountains. (Out daughter loves to swim.) Besides the pool however, Oustalet doesn't have much else to offer. The staff are very nice, but this can't make up for the lack of quality or amenities. The rooms are small as are windows and therefore views. The carpet in the hallways, while not overly important, are so very old, that they stand out in a bad way. The place in general needs to be refreshed and likely made more comfy. It's a bit too bare bones as well. There are lots of unusual rules as well, such as 'no food in the rooms.' Do they really expect us to throw out all the food we brought? Also awkward was the floor plan, and various issues like the bathroom door opening right into the space where you need to be in order sit on the toilet seat. Maybe we're just spoiled here in the states - this would not be up to city codes, let alone up to customer expectations. Other bizarre things occurred, like the vacuum cleaner hose was left in the middle of the hallway in the mornings. Not having towels for the pool available was frustrating as well, especially when they didn't tell us to bring down the room towels. And having Chlorine soaked towels double as our bath towels is not appropriate. It just seems like they are a bit too casual here and are saving money by skimping on minor things that, when strung together, end up being kind of major. There is also a renovation going on in a multistory building next to the pool. There was some noise and a bit of dust that came over from the project. The workers move very slowly - I hear you can't be fired in France - which ended up being a good thing for us because in the U.S. this kind of project would have been a HUGE annoyance! As I said before, you can do much better. The staff are kind and pretty cool generally, though one questioned if I was a hotel guest when I had just talked to her the night before. (I asked her to take the pool cover off and then went to my car to retrieve something and was on my way back in.) Never had this happen before. I guess if you like simple and very down to earth, this place could work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel L'Oustalet for 4 nights with my husband and 3 young children. We had two rooms each with a balcony and a wonderful view of Mont Blanc. It is a very peaceful place - it was wonderful to wake up to the spectacular view each morning and to hear the birds chirping. The children loved the pool while we relaxed under the umbrellas on the lovely green lawn whilst ordering food and drinks from the hotel cafe. Chamonix town is a delight and is a pleasant 5-10 minute walk away with numerous eating options. We had a particularly good meal at Le National in the town centre. The Aiguille Du Midi cable car is only a 5 minute walk as is the train station and the cable car for Le Brevant. I would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers with children and will hopefully be able to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryBeagle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in June. The hotel was lovely, the room simple, clean and charming. We had a balcony overlooking Mont Blanc and the view was beautiful.

The weather was very hot for the first four days of us being there and the room was very warm, to the point of being uncomfortable - even with the balcony door wide open. However, this did mean we got to use the pool in the afternoons which was an added bonus we weren't expecting. Cooling off in the pool with a beer after a long days walk couldn't be any better.

The hotel is five minutes walk from the center of town and most restaurants. We tried breakfast at the hotel on the first morning but found the range disappointing and thought it was overpriced. We went out for the rest of the week.

Overall this was a lovely place to stay and one I would have no problems recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#28 of 73 in Chamonix
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $155 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing