We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice setting, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, nice setting, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were staying only one night in the hotel, and reserved it very late. They called us upfront to ask about our arrival, so in case we arrive too late they give us a code to get in. Also, they asked for any service we would like to arrange, as my husband had birthday. I found it very attentive and nice.
We were only few guests in the hotel, but they treated us like in main season. Nice breakfast, coffee, the rooms are big and with a view.
Chamonix`s walking street is within 5 minutes, really comfortable. There is also a free parking at the hotel. And it`s right next to the entrance of the Aug.d.Midi telecabin, going up 3800 m towards Mt Blanc.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marrtii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    66
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
120
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a top hotel in a top location.
Rooms are a little small, and no real space to leave your luggage without hurdling over it. However this small inconvenience is made up by charming hostesses and incredible views of the mountain ranges. For first timers to Chamonix, everyone writes about Mont Blanc... to be honest it doesn't matter what you look at, all the mountains are amazing and there are so many of them too! This hotel does look in the direction of Mont Blanc and is super close, however Mont Blanc is really high up and you may be looking at other mountains or ridges or glaciers, and it doesn't matter as it is gorgeous all the same.
In the evenings, one of my favourite events of the day was to sit outside on the balcony with a bottle of wine and a cigar and watch the sun set on the mountains, amazing and peaceful. And it is cold so the wine stayed crisp.
The town is amazing and close, aprox 500m. make sure you explore all the back streets as Chaonix town is more than just one street. The cable car that takes you up to the look out is less than 400 meters away. This will cost approx 40 euro from memory per person, but is well and truly worth it.
Take ALL your warm clothes, it is very cold up there, i wore 2 sets of gloves and my fingers were still cold.
Breakfast is quite nice at this Hotel and is lovingly prepared. 14 euro is possibly a little expensive for what is on offer, but it is nice and home made, you will not go hungry. The Hotel also offers a great cake and coffee shop... also with a wonderful view of the mountains. Do not come here if you do not have the time to sit and enjoy the view, the room will be wasted on you :)
The owners of this hotel speak excellent english, and there is reliable free internet available, and excellent information available at the check in desk. Additionally it has car parking and is walking distance from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here in October 2012 and totally enjoyed our stay. The hotel rooms and public areas are decorated like a ski lodge. The rooms are large and very clean. Chamonix is a quaint town and the view of Mont Blanc from Aiguille du Midi is awesome. We are so glad we came here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTHokie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We can only repeat what others have said. This is a lovely small hotel in a perfect location. Our room, number 15, had a beautiful view from the balcony, and was a good size with a very nice bathroom and separate toilet room. It was clean and well decorated in an alpine style. Staff was friendly, pool area very nice and parking was convenient. We could walk to several good restaurants and to town but were away from the more hectic center. Also located very near the Aguille du Midi which is a wonderful ride. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upper floor with view of Mt. Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff was exceptional friendly and our room was very clean although a bit small. We were only missing a minibar/fridge in the room as it was very warm during our stay. Also there are no king size beds available.
The mountain view from our room and balcony was fantastic!
Location was just perfect and the free parking for our car was a bonus.
There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance.
The pool area was also very nice with a lot of space.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view room (higher floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belgiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We would agree with the previous high ratings for location, staff helpfulness, cleanliness and comfortable (firm) beds. We were with another couple and we both had intermittent problems with the internet. This we would consider a small distraction unless you are one that cannot survive a couple of hours without WiFi connectivity. The only other minor concern is the posted note in the room that food is prohibited within the rooms. I have never had this request before. This may be a problem for prediabetic or diabetic patients and certainly makes it difficult finding a place to get a quick snack after hours when you would like to be dressed for bed. This is still a very nice and secure place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are rather equivalent and all face the same side. The rooms on the ground floor, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uvsfrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Chalet like rooms with toilet separate from bath and sink, and very clean. Located less than 10 minutes from the rail station, and 5 minutes from restaurants. Only issue was the free Internet, it went off for almost 12 hours, and was off and on a few times. Hiking maps would have been nice to offer, but we purchased them from the Tourist center, a 10 minute walk. The water was very hot and instant, the shower as my other France review stated, had a glass enclosure which only covers half the shower, so turning the water on full speed makes a mess of the floor. Breakfast buffet for $14 Euro's was fine, cereal, juice eggs, yogurt, etc., coffee was not to good my wife said. Mcdonald's opens at 10:30, so no breakfast there. There was a good omelette place( La Poele) which served a nice omelette and green salad for $10 Euro, so there are options if you can't get down for breakfast on time. Our 1st floor room #3 looked out on the backyard and had a nice view of Mont Blanc. We opened the door at night (late September) and enjoyed the fresh air with very little traffic noise. The front desk was pleasant and very helpful, the $120 Euro fee from September 22-27 was well worth it. Our double bed with separate down blankets was very comfortable. There are stairs or a lift to get baggage up to the room. We went to the Casa Valerio Italian pizza restaurant 3 nights in a row, go out the front door, go left under the train track, it is only another minute after on your left. The house white wine was $3 Euro, the pizza excellent, and pasta good. (gnocchi's like homemade). I highly recommend this place for a great non French meal. Chamonix is a picturesque town with many nice shops and decent food. There do not seem to be many great walks for us couples who enjoy hiking 3 hours or more at a time. The best walk was after paying to go up the first part of the lift, then walking to the glacier. Better walks are found in Zermatt, longer, better marked with more trail places to eat at. That said Oustalet and Chamonix are nice places to visit and vacation in.

Room Tip: The mountain view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darewreckjeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#19 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Property: Hotel L'Oustalet
Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing