We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!”
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff was exceptional friendly and our room was very clean although a bit small. We were only missing a minibar/fridge in the room as it was very warm during our stay. Also there are no king size beds available.
The mountain view from our room and balcony was fantastic!
Location was just perfect and the free parking for our car was a bonus.
There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance.
The pool area was also very nice with a lot of space.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view room (higher floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belgiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    66
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
121
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We would agree with the previous high ratings for location, staff helpfulness, cleanliness and comfortable (firm) beds. We were with another couple and we both had intermittent problems with the internet. This we would consider a small distraction unless you are one that cannot survive a couple of hours without WiFi connectivity. The only other minor concern is the posted note in the room that food is prohibited within the rooms. I have never had this request before. This may be a problem for prediabetic or diabetic patients and certainly makes it difficult finding a place to get a quick snack after hours when you would like to be dressed for bed. This is still a very nice and secure place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are rather equivalent and all face the same side. The rooms on the ground floor, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uvsfrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Chalet like rooms with toilet separate from bath and sink, and very clean. Located less than 10 minutes from the rail station, and 5 minutes from restaurants. Only issue was the free Internet, it went off for almost 12 hours, and was off and on a few times. Hiking maps would have been nice to offer, but we purchased them from the Tourist center, a 10 minute walk. The water was very hot and instant, the shower as my other France review stated, had a glass enclosure which only covers half the shower, so turning the water on full speed makes a mess of the floor. Breakfast buffet for $14 Euro's was fine, cereal, juice eggs, yogurt, etc., coffee was not to good my wife said. Mcdonald's opens at 10:30, so no breakfast there. There was a good omelette place( La Poele) which served a nice omelette and green salad for $10 Euro, so there are options if you can't get down for breakfast on time. Our 1st floor room #3 looked out on the backyard and had a nice view of Mont Blanc. We opened the door at night (late September) and enjoyed the fresh air with very little traffic noise. The front desk was pleasant and very helpful, the $120 Euro fee from September 22-27 was well worth it. Our double bed with separate down blankets was very comfortable. There are stairs or a lift to get baggage up to the room. We went to the Casa Valerio Italian pizza restaurant 3 nights in a row, go out the front door, go left under the train track, it is only another minute after on your left. The house white wine was $3 Euro, the pizza excellent, and pasta good. (gnocchi's like homemade). I highly recommend this place for a great non French meal. Chamonix is a picturesque town with many nice shops and decent food. There do not seem to be many great walks for us couples who enjoy hiking 3 hours or more at a time. The best walk was after paying to go up the first part of the lift, then walking to the glacier. Better walks are found in Zermatt, longer, better marked with more trail places to eat at. That said Oustalet and Chamonix are nice places to visit and vacation in.

Room Tip: The mountain view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darewreckjeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here one night at the beginning of a guided hiking tour. I can't speak to the value because we didn't pay for the room directly. Raves for the location, atmosphere and room. One small complaint - we had a bit of difficulty figuring out how to get someone's attention to order lunch on the patio but maybe that had to do with how hungry we were and the time of day (late afternoon when most people were enjoying ice cream rather than something more substantial). The lawn and pool area are very sweet and I could see spending time relaxing there if we ever got the opportunity to do so again. The views from the property are spectacular (is that all of Chamonix?) and you're very close to the Aiguille du Midi cable car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We, 2 adults and 3 children, used the hotel as the starting and ending pint in our TMB. This was a great choice; the hotel is well kept, clean and tidy. Service is excellent and value for money is good. The manager was very helpful with different organizational issues we had towards the tour.
Although they did not have connecting rooms, side by side was fine as every small has a very small number of rooms.
Location is good. Very close but not in the hustle, lovely garden with a pool (freezing water). We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms have a balconyand face te pool and MB, the 1st floor have larger terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights mid August (2012) at this hotel based on a recommendation from Rick Steves....and he was spot on. The owners, two sisters, could not have been more accommodating.....even when put to the test, one of them, Agnes, never wilted in helping me with an issue I had.....they were born to be hoteliers. We have been to Chamonix many times before to review some great and some not so great hotels, but this one is by far the best, in every category. Book it sight unseen, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Mt. Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTTRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a fantastic hotel in very busy Mont Blanc. Great location very central but just far enough away from very busy town centre. Extremely helpful staff who cannot do enough for you but not in your face. Lovely breakfast available daily. Stunning view of the mountains. Pool and outdoor area was great fro relaxing and having a beer when not sightseeing. Rooms basic a little 'kitsch' but you sure feel like you are in the French Alps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Property: Hotel L'Oustalet
Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing