We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely perfect little ski hotel”
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Super friendly staff, really clean with very comfy beds. This is a no-frills hotel but if you just want somewhere lovely to sleep after a great day's skiing - the Oustalet is perfect. (but don't tell too many people.....!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 268 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend, and enjoyed beautiful sunny days and fresh mountain air.

Within 10minutes walk to the centre of Chamonix and 5minutes from the cable car station - The hotel is conveniently located.

Upon arrival, you receive a most friendly welcome from reception. We had a 2nd floor room, with balcony, over looking the garden and swimming pool, with a magificent view of Mont Blanc, and Aiguille du Midi. Buffet breakfast is served in the groundfloor restaurant overlooking the garden.

Our accomodation comprised, main bedroom with table, chairs, tv and the most comfortable of beds. One sleeping area in the hallway leading to the bedroom, bathroom and separate toilet.

Our first visit to Chamonix meant we needed to rely upon hotel staff for guidance and recommendations. All assistance was provided patiently and reliably.

The long list of postive reviews are a testament to the quality of this place.

We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Take a room, with a balcony at the rear of the property and you have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PE1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and the friendly, helpful staff.

My girlfriend and I walked the Tour du Mont Blanc in September and finished our tour in Chamonix. Before starting the walk we had some extra bags for some other travels and the staff were more than happy to allow us to keep our bags in their ski room for the week while we were off hiking and use some of their facilities even though we were not paying guests for another week. Very helpful!

Upon arriving at the hotel one week later it was the perfect hotel to unwind in after a long week of hiking. Super comfy beds, strong water pressure in the shower/bath and an absolutely delicious breakfast! The usual fare of breads, meat and eggs, but they also had peaches and pairs marinated in a cinnamon syrup (yum!) and a few other treats that made the breakfast highly memorable. There is a large lobby area with a delightful decor and a little cafe with delicious treats. A nice fireplace too that must be great in winter. The hotel has a nice pool and lush green lawn but sadly it was raining our weekend there so we didn't get to enjoy it.

The hotel is also perfectly placed right near the Aguille du Midi and our room on the 3rd floor had a nice view of Mont Blanc. As such the hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the town centre, but in a town like Chamonix half of the enjoyment is walking around.

Throughout the whole stay the staff were always available and helpful, giving advice or coming to get us when our shuttle bus arrived. Some of the friendliest staff I have ever encountered and no problem with them speaking English.
.
I highly recommend Hotel L'Oustalet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxiTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just completed a great two night stay and would stay here again. The location is outstanding: near the Aiguille du Midi lift and short walk to center of town and most restaurants. Most rooms have a nice balcony or small deck with moutain views. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and good lighting. The hotel also had a very nice lawn and garden along with a pool.

The staff was warm and friendly and provided personalized service from checking and printing out daily weather conditions on the mountains, checking on lift service and times, recommending shops and restaurants, etc. Buffet breakfast was very good with friendly and attentive wait staff.

One caution. At arrival it was explained that the front desk is not manned after 9pm at night (at least in the off season). We were provided a security code to open the exterior door. However, we forgot to take the code with us on our first night out and found ourselves locked out upon return at 10pm. Easily resolved by calling the emergency number posted on the door by the security pad, but a bit embarrassing. Remember to take the code with you as 9pm comes early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Superb place, comfortable rooms and balcony with a fantastic view of Mont Blanc. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were spotlessly clean and complete wooden interiors were charming. Breakfast was quite wholesome and every bit worth 14 Euro. Would love to go back to Chamonix and L'Oustalet.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachinmalik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Highlights:
- spotless rooms
- view of mont blanc from the spacious balcony
- comfy beds with quality linen
- nice shower
- good storage space
- friendly and helpful staff (reception made a number of phone calls to arrange luggage transfer on our behalf)

Opportunities for improvement:
- Wifi works fine in lobby but drops in and out constantly in rooms on L1 (likely doesn't work at all in higher rooms)
- breakfast is nice and worth trying once but not great value at 14 Euro pp
- rooms do get a little hot and stuffy in summer but easily solved by opening the balcony door for some fresh mountain air

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our room was quiet, very clean...even in the corners...& well done. We enjoyed our balcony & view of Mont Blanc and the pool with a MB view also. Fantastic staff! You feel totally cared for! Great breakfast in sunny room overlooking garden-3 kinds of juice, coffee/tea, 3 + types of bread, sweet breads/pastries, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, cinnamon rice pudding, and eggs/cheese/ham. Cozy, relaxing sitting areas. We planned to stay 2 nights, but loved our Chamonix set up so much we extended our stay several days.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonVeganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#27 of 73 in Chamonix
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $154 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing