We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 1, 2011

On the positive side the very good location, next to the ski lift and very close to the charming city center, the big variety and quality food. Rooms are relatively spacious, very clean but decoration and style are terrible. Carpets rather dirty. Good pool, sauna... Dark colours, bad taste, bar with low ceiling. Service impersonal, nothing to do with the relaxing atmosphere of most of other clubs. All in all, an average hotel with expensive prices.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DimitrisTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

Well.....we had a great time at club med.....great food.....nice staff....great location....good value package including ski pass, lessons, food, drink etcHowever, after arriving back I came out in huge blotches-agonising bites about ten times worse than any mozzy bite.We did a bit of research and realised the room must have had bed bugs( no doubt)We actually remember seeing a dead one in the bed but didn't think anything of it. Our sheets were not changed for the whole stay either. Other downsides include small shower, old hotel, and no recognition of the events proceeding the holiday from the hotel ( had to take a day off works and go to the doctor because of the bites- coming from someone who rarely goes). Overall we had an excellent time....but beware of room 259...and who knows which others....

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear Josebag,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday experience at our Chamonix resort.

We are sorry that you were not pleased with the appearance of the hotel and with the standard of cleanliness. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you as a result. However, kindly note that the management of the resort have confirmed that all rooms are meant to be cleaned on a regular basis by the housekeeping team. In light of your feedback, please rest assured the management will be investigating the efficiency of these processes.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you to another Club Med resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Your Club Med UK team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We went to Club Med Chamonix for a week in March for the second year running, having skied with Club Med many times before. We had another excellent week in this grand old hotel which has been successfully modernised over the years. The Club rooms are basic but adequate - the ensuite shower room was large and well appointed.
The whole ethos of Club Med is efficient and trouble free. On arrival we were met and luggage taken to our room and then in under an hour - and without leaving the hotel we had booked into a ski class - fitted our rented skis and collected lift passes - all without leaving the hotel! Club Med is essentially French and it may not appeal to all but with the ski lessons, lift pass, 3 meals a day as well as endless snacks and a free bar it is definitely excellent value compared with other options - all of which we have tried.
The staff this season were very helpful and there are always a few English staff on hand if required. I would happily recommend the bar staff who provide free drinks most of the day with speed and professionalism.
Club Med Chamonix is well recommended for a very good skiing holiday at a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

The Club Med Hotel is ideal for a ski holiday. It is right in the heart of a fantastic ski resort. The hotel is located right by the ski lift, which for the Skiers amongst us is critical at the end of a day! Walking in Ski Boots is not ideal.

We were greeted from our transfer bus by friendly staff with clipboards with lists of names. Our name was found on the list and our bags taken immediately to the room allocated for us. We were a little early for check in so went for a wonder around the picturesque town.

Rooms - the rooms (as in most European destinations) are small, but they are clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a shower and sink, with separate toilet - again quite small with no bath but more than adequate. Lots of hot water.

Ski Lessons/Ski Passes - both included as part of the package. We had skiers of all levels in our party and everyone tried the lessons (even the very advanced). Everyone learnt a lot from the classes. Classes are full days, however you can leave and make your own way home if you wish. Lunch is included at different restaurants depending on which mountain you are skiing on. I had one problem with the lessons. I was the only English speaker in the beginners class. All instructions were therefore given in French, Spanish and Italian and finally English. My advice would be, try and travel with someone at your level to ensure you aren't left in a class were no-one speaks english.

Lockers and Ski Hire - some of us brought our own skis, some hired (in advance) from Club Med. You can also arrange hire when you get there. You are allocated a locker in the locker room. This is where you store skis and boots, rather than bringing wet skis into the hotel. The entrance to the locker room is in the basement under reception and the lockers have Boot heaters to warm your boots in the mornings (nice touch!)

Food - the food was absolutely grand - 2 restaurants (1) Buffet (2) Waiter Service something available for all tastes. There was quite a wide selection, with local specialities featured each day. And you always have pasta and potatoe dishes if all else fails. The hotel was well organised with snacks and hot chocolate/drinks available at around 4pm when everyone was coming in off the slopes - just what we needed to warm up . We did have 2 tummy bugs out of our party of 8, I am not sure if this was related to the hotel or not as there were a lot of tummy bugs going around in the UK at the same time.

Children - there were 2 babies in our group. Both attended baby club and pyjama nights. The girls in the Baby club seemed very nice and the kids loved them. Both sets of parents skied every day, the option was available have the babies looked after from 8.30am - 5.00pm. The Baby Club had to be booked in advance - limited places.

We were up at 7am and in bed by 10pm most nights so I can't really comment on the entertainment. It appeared cheesy but fun.

This was my first ski trip and I really enjoyed both the skiing and the hotel - if you go with reasonably expectations you will not be disappointed. Chamonix itself is absolutely delightful, it is charming and picturesque. The back drop of Mont Blanc takes your breath away. We travelled early Feb 2010 the weather was perfect, it was cold but we had 3 days of fresh snow and 3 days of beautiful sunshine.

Chamonix is very expensive. Drinks, food and shopping are all very expensive (in power with prices in Paris). The All inclusive option at the Club Med takes away the worry about this expense. We only ate out in town once, we were happy with the restaurant at the Club Med.

Hope this helps with your decision making

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotel_Guest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The resort at Chamonix is well located,right in the centre of town and direct access to the slopes at the entrance to the hotel.If you want to travel to other slopes,then the buses are 2-5 minutes away and the station is 10 minutes away.
The accommodation is mixed,as one building has large modern rooms,the Brévent,whilst the other buildings have dreary barrack like accomodation.
The lounge areas are dreadful,lacking in comfort and generally reserved for the internet brigade,which makes their use inaccessible from about 4.30pm.The bar is dark and not very inviting,with a decor from the seventies.
The restaurant is typical Club,good choice though seating was dictated by the needs of the Club,rather than letting you sit where you wanted when you wanted.Here I feel the Club needs to remember that it is there to serve the clients,not treat them like children.
The staff are generally friendly and well meaning and intentioned,albeit they have little interaction with clients until the après-ski.The Chef du Village was conspicuous by his absence and unlike other resorts we have visited,we never exchanged a word with him...not once....a sighting was even rarer!!
The sports facilities on site are good,outdoor pool great,sauna,etc,though the changing rooms are cramped.
Overall we think the location masks the deficiencies of the resort and allows it to continue.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wellingtonbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Hotel very poor standard not 4 star more like 2 star. Very dirty and a constant smell of sewers. Very unpleasant. Staff very friendly and food ok. One drag lift and at least a 45 minute wait every morning and then a 5 minute walk to bubble before you even start. The town is very pretty but expensive. How do they get away with it?

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kerrydiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This was my second year at this hotel, with the major pull being the food, access to chamonix ski areas and the outdoor heated pool with scenic view. This hotel is cheaper than same in the Club Med range, and I am sure much of this is to do with the dated decor.

The Chamonix ski area is spread out, which can not a hassle when travelling out to Grand Montet & Argentieres, but it is perfectly located for the Brevant ski pistes. There is limited skiing for beginners and I would suggest a going to a different resort such as L'Alpe d'Huez or Les Deux Alpes.

The staff & ski instructors were sometimes a little frosty sometimes, but that may be to do with it being the end of the season. Overall the whole package and the price make this a good value package

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citygirl-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc

Address: 191 avenue du Savoy, 74401, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $480 - $1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peak touching the clouds, Mont Blanc holds a fascination for everyone who comes near. Ever since two mountaineers first conquered the Giant of the Alps over two centuries ago, this Haute-Savoie resort, a pioneer in the practice of skiing, has managed to preserve a unique atmosphere. This Club Med Village is set in the cosy, welcoming decor of a former hotel, the Savoy, totally renovated. Along with the treatments at Cinq Mondes Spa* the Village helps you to detox and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc Hotel Chamonix
Chamonix Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing