We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent New Year's Eve at Club Med Chamonix.
Although the place was understandingly crowded, it was a great short stay (3 days).
Daniel and his GO team made a great effort to create a nice and entertaining atmosphere.
The room was nice and clean and I had a great view both on the heated (!!!) outdoor pool and on the surroundings mountains.
The food was very good and New Year's Eve party was a lot of fun. For those who don't want to ski, there are also snowshoe excursions offered and it is very easy to go for walks around Chamonix. Besides, Chamonix is a great shopping place !
I would definitely go back !

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floors of MB building seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for a business trip. Would go back in ski season. The Club Med has a great atmosphere, when you immediately feel like you're on a relaxing holiday.

However, don't expect a shiny glamorous place. It's basic, antique, cosy and comfortable. It's a huge place overall and has in the basement a bar, dance floor and pool tables.

Only a few minutes walking and you are in the centre of Chamonix.

Parking oportunities are there.

Impressive view of the Mont Blanc from my room and also from the breakfast/dining hall. Possible to eat on the terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Perfectly located (it is perhaps impossible to have a more postcard-like view from your dinner table), the Club is located in an old 'palace' of which the 'modernization' would probably not appeal to everyone's aesthetic senses (but you're on a trip to Chamonix, not on a Loire castle tour).

August 2012 was our second time in Club Med Chamonix (the first having been a skiing holiday in April 2003), and it really is and stays such a great place that you forgive everything they could do better.

Staff is very efficient (under a good leadership from Erick) and, in pure Club Med style, will attend to anything you need to make you smile all day long. In our experience no four or five star hotel can beat that feeling you have at the best managed Club Med resorts!

On the other hand, no four or five star hotel would offer filthy bathrooms, cleaning staff which doesn't bother to clean very well (we found a children's book from previous guests under our bed), carpets which haven't been changed over the last nine years which separated our two visits, and an excessively cold (and rather dirty) swimming pool - I in particular do not understand the latter: what is the point of advertising a swimming pool in the mountains if you are not heating and maintaining it correctly?

Food is really great. There's not that much choice (but it's a relatively small Club so that is understandable) but it's high quality. There's even very decent coffee in the morning, which is not something all Clubs offer (probably part of the 'Italian touch' of being so close to the border with Italy).

Activities in summer are organized by the Guides de Montagne, and in the winter the ESF (Ecole de ski français) does so; they may however be doing slightly less than they would if you were paying for the same (e.g., Club Med groups could be quite larger). We had a 10-year old so could not participate in any activities this summer (12 years is the minimum age) but they were very helpful in filling us in on how to organize hiking or mountain biking days. From our 2003 experience, I remember skiing with the ESF pro's was great, and so was the group, and hence the after-ski.

The Club Med mountain bikes are high quality; it's a pity - but something every biker should know - that the town of Chamonix itself has very obviously decided to privilege hikers over bikers - the very few downhill runs are poorly maintained, and one (the blue run at La Flégère) was even closed (for no good reason other than the unwillingness to maintain it, according to locals). As to cross-country trails, there is no decent map which will guide you (the 'Ittinéraires VTT' map which you can find on-line or at the local bike shops is extremely approximative (it doesn't even mention the existence of the great green downhill run from the télésiège of Col du Baume); signalization is very poor and so is the Chamonix App - which you should anyway download because it is very good for hiking, and even for detecting and identifying which mountain your phone is pointing at). Probably the most clear sign that Chamonix doesn't like bikers is on the 'Balcon nord' from Le Tour to Argentière - a bit before Argentière, the most obvious path is over an easy and broad dolomilte trail downwards (otherwise, you'll really have to climb seriously), and that road is open to everyone on foot, scateboard, scooter, Harley Davidson, Porsche Cayenne, or whatever, but forbidden for bicycles. Of course, most bikers use it anyway, but be prepared to being insulted if you do so (even by the Porsche Cayenne drivers who are also only there one week per year, and are certainly a greater nuisance to hikers then bikers are).

As to hiking: beautiful! Not sure you should be doing the Aiguille du Midi (not much to do up there, except waiting for your right to go down, about 1 hour or 1 1/2 hour later) nor the Mer de Glace (except if you want to realize how much the glaciers have lost in volume even over the last ten years), but otherwise (and even with doing Plan de l'Aiguille-Mer de Glace) hiking is always a thrilling, and 'walking around in a postcard', experience in Chamonix.

Our kids also went climbing, at Les Gaillands, which they found not only to be a great climbing experience but also a "1000-pieces puzzle" scenery.

Have fun! (and tell the Chef de Village to heat the swimming pool).

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Jeanne640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited Chamonix during the summer. Most of the reviews here are about ski (winter) so I hope you'll find this one helpful. If you like nature and hiking then I will strongly recommend Charmonix Mont-Blanc. This is certainly one of the more beautiful places on earth.

We have an amazing time, mostly hiking the area. The different levels can accommodate different hiking skills and the travel guides are mostly locals and did superb job.

You get great return for your money. The place is not fancy but clean and has all the important functions in place. The staff was fabulous!! I have never seen people trying so hard to make our time enjoyable and when it was time to leave it felt like leaving part of the family behind.
The experience from the breakfast through the daily activity to the dinner and the nightly show (run by the same staff) was stunning!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The weather can be a hit and miss but I am sure the staff will make up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

On the good side: very good ski, hotel is ok a bit old, room size is decent and give space with the baby cot in the room, team are really nice and helpful although they dont speak english at all!!!!!! luckily my husband speaks french so had no issues but other wise would be a big problem especially speaking with the people working in the baby club med, as you want to manage to communicate with the people taking care of your baby!!!! food is okish nothing more then that, i expected much more being in france and all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ifat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Chamonix Mont-Blanc Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had a good time and that you enjoyed spending the day skiing and the comfort of your room.

On a different note, we would like to thank you for putting constructive comments in respect of the lack of spoken English at the Resort at the time of your holiday. Whilst it is true that Club Med is a French company with a majority of French guests and members of staff, it is only fair to say that we aim to do our utmost for our English customers to feel less “isolated” by providing English members of staff wherever possible. On behalf of Club Med, we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies if this was not the case on this occasion.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our Resort soon.

Kind Regards

Your Club Med UK Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Let me start with the positives, the staff are friendly, the location is spectacular and the free food and drink is plentiful. Then there's the hotel - our room was filthy, some of the furniture looked like it had been picked up from the side of the road and carpets were stained. This is a hotel seriously in need of renovation! Take a very close look at the photos on this site before you book - if you can live with the state of the rooms, you'll probably have a good time. If you can't, go elsewhere! I wouldn't stay here again until it's renovated.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Perth_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I spent the 2nd week of April 2012 at the Chamonix Club Med. It was my 2nd stay. I would recommend to those who can afford it to upgrade your room to a Mont Blanc view in the Savoy wing. Standard rooms are just a bit dark and small. Not Club Meds fault, the Hotel was built a century ago and features in the Chamonix Alpinism museum. The staff were excellent, especially Omar in the dining room at night. We had a large group and he made sure we had a group table set up for us every night and made the group feel special. This Club Med is one of my favourite villages, although there are much nicer ones, because it has history, a great location, is in one of the great ski areas of the world, and has brilliant views of Mont Blanc. I could very well be back again next season.

Room Tip: Mont Blanc views all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carnaj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Great Member,

Thank you very much for writing this great review on Trip Advisor after your second stay in our Chamonix Mont-Blanc Club Med Resort. We are really delighted to see you and your friends had a good time and that you enjoyed the traditions and charm of this historic hotel, and its location in one of the best ski domain in the world!

We are also glad to read that you found our staff friendly and dedicated, and we hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts –maybe in Chamonix again next season!

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc

Address: 191 avenue du Savoy, 74401, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $491 - $1,269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peak touching the clouds, Mont Blanc holds a fascination for everyone who comes near. Ever since two mountaineers first conquered the Giant of the Alps over two centuries ago, this Haute-Savoie resort, a pioneer in the practice of skiing, has managed to preserve a unique atmosphere. This Club Med Village is set in the cosy, welcoming decor of a former hotel, the Savoy, totally renovated. Along with the treatments at Cinq Mondes Spa* the Village helps you to detox and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Chamonix Mont-Blanc Hotel Chamonix
Chamonix Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing