We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars all round! Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cold Fusion Chalets
Ranked #2 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, UK
1 review
“5 stars all round! Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed at the larger chalet in Chamonix in early January and had the most memorable holiday. The Cold Fusion staff were a joy to be around - they are lively, friendly, professional, knowledgeable and simply can't do enough to ensure you have the time of your life. The accommodation is very comfortable and immaculately clean. Finally, the food is of the same high standards as the rest of the Cold Fusion experience. A great team and I'm looking forward to returning many times in the future.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerkafleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
1
213
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I've just got back from a fantastic week with Cold Fusion in Chamonix, the staff really couldn't do enough for any of us, and were happy to ferry us around the resort, suggest good bars and places to go. The food was fantastic.
I stayed in the bigger chalet which was great as there were more people and it was more social, the smaller one is also lovely and great if you want to get early nights. That said the bar and games room area is in the basement of the main chalet and really didn't bother anyone!
Skiing in Chamonix was fantastic, it's in 4 different areas, and bus, train and of course Cold Fusion transport between them all is excellent.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Excellent trip!

Did a short break 18th Jan - 22nd Jan 2009. Wish I could have stayed longer :)

Booked through the cold fuson website, after contacting the owner, Steve who is extremely helpful with info & advise. What I would say is that cold fusion holidays are exactly what they say on the tin (website!).

The holiday is aimed at solo travellers wanting a ski trip (winter) or adventure/walking trip (summer) without going through a conventional package and having to pay single supplements, which is ideal.

Package includes transfers from Geneva airport so get a cheap Easyjet flight to there from numerous UK airports. Transfers take hour or so and my drivers were both chatty and welcoming :)

Upon welcome, unfortunately the weather was bucketing down with snow and the lifts were closed so it was a chillax afternoon, getting to snow the fellow guests. Everyone is friendly, relaxed and social, being there for the same reason as you so it makes for an ace trip.

I was 19 and thought I may be a bit young for the holiday, but everyone was friendly and the age ranges are wide (about 1/3 18-25, 1/3 25-40 and 1/3 40+).

Food - absolutely awesome. Great cooked and continental breakfast everyday, so I filled up and avoided the expensive on piste lunches, certainly with the euro rate at the moment! After you come back from the slopes/apres ski there is fresh cake ready for you to tuck in to, with tea & coffee or a beer if you were like me!.

The evening meal is great, typically served 7.30ish 3 courses cooked by the fantastic Matt in the kitchen, big portions too :) Meals ae served with beer and wine, although we didnt get any coffees and mints as advertised :(

In terms of chalet relaxation, there is an upstairs social room for reading books, a sofa room downstairs with computer and tv and a bar area in the basement where everyone tends to congregate in the late evening/early hours. There is a wii,massive fridge of beer and massive jenga set.

The team are happy to drop you at the slopes in the morning and pick you up as well as dropping you in town if you want to go out, although I will warm you must get the 12pm bus home, otherwise you face the 40 min walk! - the only complain being the location of chalet being a good 5 min drive outside chalet itself.

I hired my gear from central chamonix, after finding a much better deal than coldfusion offered, however it meant trecking there to get it and missing 2 hours skiing on last day to drop it off, so choice is yours!

I could go on for hours, but this is one of the best trips Ive ever had and will be returning again or perhaps going on a short break with the people I met there.

Happy holidays and thanks cold fusion!

  • Liked — Food & People
  • Disliked — Location and rooms should be for 1 person, not 2.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rozzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I found Coldfusion chalets on a website and booked it after reading other reviews. This is a very friendly set up, with lots of personal attention from the staff. Although outside Chamonix itself at Les Praz the holiday included transport to several ski areas and into town in the evenings, which was very welcome after a long day skiing. The food was good, especially the cakes at tea time and the cooked breakfast.
I'd thoroughly recommend the chalet(s) and the area is great for intermediate and advanced skiers.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — bedrooms quite small (but clean and attractive)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandora205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Fusion Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Fusion Chalets

Property: Cold Fusion Chalets
Address: Les Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
■Exclusively for Independent Travellers■3 Ski Chalets exclusive to Cold Fusion■2 Top Ski Resorts in the French Alps■Season-long availability from December until MaySpecialists in providing ski and snowboard chalet holidays for independent travellers, Cold Fusion will be opening its doors for a fifth successful season in December.Our unprecedented holiday package includes traditional chalet accommodation, excellent skiing in 2 top resorts, a fully catered service, experienced staff with local knowledge and a ready made group of like minded individuals to ski with in the day and socialize with in the evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cold Fusion Chalets Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing