We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cold Fusion Chalets
Ranked #1 of 29 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I certainly didn't go on my first cold fusion holiday to Chamonix as a 'single looking for love' but as a solo traveller that just happened to be single, and wanted to get away and do some skiing for a week with likeminded folk.

My experience of the chalet, the food, the organisation, the staff and the atmosphere was great, and to top it off I met my now husband at Cold Fusion Chamonix, and we got engaged at Cold Fusion Morzine one year later!!

Room Tip: As how far the bathroom is from your room. I had to parade past everyone sat at the breakfast table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maccerpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
1
213
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I can't really add much more than the other reviewers, other than to say that I totally agree with all that has been said. I stayed in Morzine where Mark and Oona looked after us all extremely well and had a great week. The food and service was first class - well done and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Oona's cake's were fantastic and she is rightly gaining a reputation for them...... and I shared this all with a great group of like minded skiers (and one boarder!). Great week - thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for New Year. Three words....."Just book it". You will not be disappointed !! The food is exceptionally good and the staff are brilliant. Thank you Oona and Mark xx
It was my first time skiing and the resort has many different runs which cater for the beginner. The transport from the airport was efficient and friendly. The chalet is very welcoming and a 5 minute walk to the bars if you fancy a little apres ski. I will be booking this again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suumcuique73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Cold fusion offer solo travellers (not singles but skiers who may or may not be single but want to ski if there partner does not or can't) the chance to hook up with like minded people to enjoy a week of skiing and apre-ski in the excellent base of Morzine which has access to so much skiing from Let Gets, Avoriaz all the way over to Switzerland. Morzine is great if you want a bit of nightlife (but not too much).

There is not much I can add to the other reviews really, I agree with all the positive comments. Nothing is too much trouble and a lot of time and effort is taken to ensure you have a fantastic time both on and off the slopes.

On my week Cold Fusion really looked after us, the food was amazing and the hosts (Oona and Mark for 2012/13 season) were great cooks/chefs, made everyone feel comfortable and made a real effort to make it a great week, real professionals. Every meal was at least restaurant quality and there is unlimited decent wine with each meal, afternoon tea, good breakfast and a "cost" bar which means you pay what it costs at the them to pick up at the cash and carry - excellent value all round. The chalet is right in town and easy to walk to the lifts, but the hosts will drop you off in the morning and pick you up at the end of the day.

I spent the week of new year there and maybe I was lucky but the people were all great. We had a good few days on the slopes and also a good few nights out!! I was an excellent holiday and I would definitely go back. Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Transport between the chalet and the airport, and between the chalet and the ski areas was very good. The staff were very welcoming and the service at the chalet, especially at meal times, was excellent.
On the other hand I was very disappointed with the level of skiing. The highlight of the holiday was definitely the food, and at times skiing became the most boring part. Cold Fusion need to describe the levels of skiing on their website in more depth so they don't end up getting such a vast difference in abilities on the courses. Cold Fusion would have lost hardly any clients during the week I was there if they just hadn't taken on the very advanced skiers.
Overall the holiday was a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfcwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The other reviews have pretty much covered it but as this was my first time with Cold Fusion, I wanted to add that it was a really fantastic experience. Nothing was too much trouble, we were looked after brilliantly. From being met at the airport to being met with a hearty welcome and then a champagne reception at the chalet, it was all designed to make for a sociable, relaxing, enjoyable and fantastic trip. Cold Fusion genuinely enjoy making their guests' holiday memorable. Its staff are absolutely top-rate and it is run by people who live in the resort, so it feels very personal. As with the other reviewers, I'll definitely be back. Great company, great skiing, great food...and very good value for what you get as well. The chalet's facilities were excellent. It is hard to beat champagne in the hot-tub on Christmas day looking up at the star-lit mountains...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have just got back from Christmas week at the Cold Fusion Morzine Chalet and I cannot fault the entire experience. I got a great room and a really great room mate, the chalet of 10 was just the right amount of people and we all got on great, really great. Mark and Oona, the chalet hosts, were brilliant and Oona's cakes are to die for. The concept of solo travellers meeting up to go skiing/boarding together is such a brilliant idea because you already have something in common and the chalet hosts ensure no-one is left out. If you love skiing and your family and friends can't make it I would whole heartedly recommend Cold Fusion for your holiday.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms off the Living/Kitchen area, I thought one of them was really small for two strang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,087 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Fusion Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Fusion Chalets

Property: Cold Fusion Chalets
Address: Les Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
■Exclusively for Independent Travellers■3 Ski Chalets exclusive to Cold Fusion■2 Top Ski Resorts in the French Alps■Season-long availability from December until MaySpecialists in providing ski and snowboard chalet holidays for independent travellers, Cold Fusion will be opening its doors for a fifth successful season in December.Our unprecedented holiday package includes traditional chalet accommodation, excellent skiing in 2 top resorts, a fully catered service, experienced staff with local knowledge and a ready made group of like minded individuals to ski with in the day and socialize with in the evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cold Fusion Chalets Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing