We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel! great location. the best staff ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

just came back from spending 4 magical days at Grand Hotel des Alpes.

we came to Chamonix for a ski trip, and the stay at this hotel made the experience perfect.

even before we arrived, everyone was so helpful, answered our emails 24 ours a day, answering to any questions and helping in any way they could.

the location is great, in Chamonix center, nest to all the great restaurants and shops, and just a few minutes walk from the ski buss station - Chamonix central which goes anywhere and to every ski area.

the breakfast is excellent! and there is a nice buffet every afternoon and evening.
the swimming pool area is great, especially after a long day of skiing. everything is clean and comfortable.

we were 4 people, and stayed at the "old tour suit", which is amazing! beautiful room with everything you want and need.

lovely staff, great service, it would be hard to think of skiing anywhere else after this trip.

highly recommended!!

- D family -

Room Tip: the old tour suit is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Loved this hotel, the room was spacious with balcony overlooking the river, and panoramic mountain views as well. The staff was helpful/friendly and had great recommendations as far as dining. The pool was small but certainly large enough to enjoy, along with the jacuzzi and sauna. Had a great massage on site. The hotel is tastefully decorated, centrally located and noise was never an issue for us (although our room was riverside not street side). An absolutely wonderful place to stay, cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I tried last minute booking via hotel search engine. But none available. Check the few hotels and emailing them for last minute availability (3 days before going there). Hotel Gran Des Alpes the first to reply. Stayed in double room, Brevant view. Exactly Room 503. All booking made and confirm within 3 hours. The receptionist kind to explain and show everything in hotel. Hotel located close to supermarket. Can get fruits, juices and water from there. The room is still spacious even with baby-cot inside. It is at very central location. There is evening snack available at lobby. We nibble on the way out to dinner. Didn't use the swimming pool and sauna. Didn't take the breakfast either. Safety deposit and wifi are free. Wifi no restriction to number of devices. No kettle though in the room. Mini Bar selection is appealing but didn't take any. Room temperature is easier to control.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 503, view of the Brevent ski lift. Left of the hotel entrance to Aguile De Midi, Righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habanawawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel was absolutely amazing. It had this old school charm that I have not really experienced given that I generally travel in Asia which is all about modernity and clean lines. While I enjoyed this, my mother was not so keen on how rustic it was with the wooden panelling etc. The bathrooms were modern though, which I enjoyed.

Further, the staff is extremely accommodating and were super friendly, ready to answer all questions as it was our first time in Chamonix. THe hotel is also VERY centrally located in the main town and it is easy to walk around (though I suppose the town is very small so you could walk anywhere really). It is also right opposite the ski store where guests get a 10% discount so returning gear/ getting gear is very easy.

The pool is small but the sauna + jacuzzi is more than enough for some after ski rest and relaxation. They also provide some Charcuterie and sweet nibbles from approx 4 -6 to cater to after skiing hunger. Everything served was delicious! I personally did not try the breakfast but given that I had ski lessons starting at 9 everyday it was far easier for me to run down to the many pastry shops down the road which had AMAZING pastries and grab a bite on the go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolecatherineng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for a weekend just before Christmas. Traveled with my wife. The hotel is very nice, elegant with classy atmosphere. It is just in the center of Chamonix. Very convenient parking (with extra charge) though the entrance is difficult to discover. As we requested we had w room on the 5th floor facing city center - Brevent. Though it is a pedestrian zone there can be noise from the passers from time to time. The room was nice, cosy, classic style. Two problems, it was too hot and there was no free power outlet to charge mobile - pc.
Breakfast was very good, nice choice and quality and tasty omelettes on demand.
Highlight the afternoon - early evening sweets - snacks at the lobby - salon of the hotel.
We received two very good dinner suggestions, Atmosphere with nice french cusine and Neapolis with excellent pasta and pizza (in a simple lokal)
Though there was not much snow I had two very nice skiing days one in Argentiere and one in Brevent. Enjoyed the jacuzzi, hamam and sauna facilities.
Overall a very nice stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirius99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location in the mountaineering mecca. A staff that is not only genuinely kind, but unbelievably accommodating in every way. Stayed for two nights as part of a Wilderness Travel tour, but booked a couple of nights extra prior so that we could enjoy the area. We pre-booked an upgraded room for the two extra nights and the hotel let us stay in the suite for the balance two nights at extra charge. A friend joined to tour late and pre booking rooms were sold out. The staff went out of their way to accommodate her in our room for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoffeeBuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Grand Hotel is situated right in the centre of Chamonix, right next to Chanel and a few seconds walk from some really good restaurants. The rooms are small but very characterful with lots of wood panelling and exquisite bed linen. We had a double bed but with individual duvets, which was a nice touch.
The reception is very welcoming. We were there just before Christmas and there was a beautiful white tree in the bar and some very classy decorations up. Each lunchtime and suppertime, they place some delicious hors d'oeuvres on a table in reception, so you can have a plate of nibbles if you're a little peckish after skiing. There are also free DVDs to borrow and lots of books around the place, so it really feels homely and not like a chain hotel.
The breakfast is passable but expensive (20 euros a head) and the spa area is pretty good. We had the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna to ourselves most nights.
The staff were really nice. My only criticism is that as first-time skiiers and visitors to Chamonix, they weren't very helpful about the best way to embark on skiing as novices. They advised us to hire our skis from the shop across the road from the hotel, which we did. But that meant we had to lug them to the nursery slopes where we discovered there was ski hire right at the base of the slopes. So we could walk there unencumbered, hire our skis on site, then hand them back at the end of the day and walk back to the hotel again with nothing to carry. A far better way of doing it.
But other than that, this was a great place to stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $229 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing