We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Perth australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us, they were so helpful and accommodating. The room we had overlooked the river and was on the 3rd floor. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was very spacious. The only thing we missed was no tea and coffee making facilities in our room. The location of the hotel is excellent for access to some great restaurants. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel we just popped out to the local cafe. They also have a ski room to store your skis. The hotel has a great sauna which we used nearly everyday. We asked the staff about ski hire and they suggested 2 places that they had some discount deals with, which worked out really well. One of the company's was a little further away from the hotel which we decided to use and their service was excellent. They also provided a drop off and pickup of your ski equipment to your hotel, which was a fantastic service and all included in the price. On the day we left the staff that we had dealt with over the week came to farewell us goodbye, which was such a lovely gesture. We would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Chamonix.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fixy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    73
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
89
180
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in March. Generally we were quite happy with the hotel. If you have children or are on a romantic holiday take the tower room, it is spacious (expending huge sofa could even accommodate 3 kids) separated by being an L shape room and jacuzzi next to the parental bed.

this hotel is located in the pedestrian zone, so if you are coming through Geneva by shuttle make sure that you get the right one as most of them drop you off at the beginning of the pedestrian and you have to carry your luggage to the hotel. We didn't know this, so check with the shuttles.

I heard some guests complaining about the noise, as late at night people can be pretty loud leaving bars, we did not hear them up in the tower room.

The breakfast is very adequate with a good selection of everything, unfortunately the breakfast room is not really inviting and lacks coziness, there is only one window in the breakfast room and on a bad weather day you would not enjoy sitting there more than time needed to finish your breakfast.

The rooms are spotless clean and the staff is nice and helpful. At 4 pm a nice range of cakes are served free of charge and some salty nibbles added later about 7 pm. so if you are not very hungry this might even serve as dinner.

The downside for me of this hotel would be: you do not have a children's playroom (which is great if the weather is bad and your are confined to indoors), and children cannot get acquainted with others and play.

This hotel does not serve dinner. Some people would not mind it, as they would actually enjoy to do the restaurants and bar hopping. We found out we definitely prefer to have the option to dine in if we wish. With children it is a nuisance getting dressed soon after you came back from skiing and having to go out again, you are sometimes too tired, the weather conditions are not inviting to step outside or the kids just need to be in bed early after a long day of skiing. If you don't have a problem going out every evening, you will definitely not mind it though.

The bus stop to one of the 4 ski areas of Chamonix is just 100 metres. All in all, if you are happy to ski in Chamonix this is a nice hotel. For us, Chamonix is not such a nice location as we prefer smaller ski towns with easier access to slopes and where you can hook up easier with different family members during the day, the ski school is close so you can bring and pick up kids easily and enjoy your own skiing.



Downsides (for us of the hotel): as they don't

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ysero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The honeymoon sweet was well worth the price. Not too expensive with an unrivaled experience in the French Alps. Views are unbelievable. Staff was amazing. The room feels enchanted. The location is in the center. All perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

this hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous wood paneling in the lobby and rooms. The rooms are large and the bathrooms beautiful. We had a great view over the river. You feel like you are part of the family staying here. The staff is extremely nice and accomodating. We had a hard time finding the gargage because I forgot my directions. I called the hotel and Jerome, the hotel manager walked several blocks to where we were stopped with our car and he drove it to the garage for us!!!! Wow!! What service!! What a nice gentleman!! In the afternoons they put out a free spread of cakes, pastry, deviled eggs, cheeses and sliced meats etc. It was so much fun to come back to the hotel and munch on the delicious food! The location could not be better. It is located right in the center of the village,convenient to everything. Also if I got lost walking around all I had to do was look up and see the black peaked roofs of the hotel and I knew my way back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Grand hotel des Alpes is outstanding in many ways:
. great location (Chamonix main street), the hotel is in the heart of the action.
. Great staff: genuinely friendly, helpful and attentive and professional
. The rooms are specious and well furnished (wood panels in the bedrooms and marble in the bathroom)
. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. There is a nice terrace outside on the river where you can enjoy your break.
. They have a garage underneath the hotel where you can park your park.

Room Tip: the rooms looking at the river are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Platypus077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is the amazing hotel!!! We stayed there in January/February 2013 and we are very pleased with this place! The rooms were very comfortable, cosy, spacious and quite! Bathroom is great!
The spa includes the small swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna which I found very pleasant after a day on the slopes!
There is an indoor garage which is at extra price. The breakfast buffet is absolutely excellent. The hotel serves complimentary deserts after 4 pm.
The staff is absolutely the best, very helpful, positive, polite!!!
The hotel is very conveniently situated, right in the centre of Chamonix, the ski bus stop is on the next street!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mount Blanc are supposed to be quieter but my room faced Brevent and the main street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgenia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Hotel des Alpes last weekend and we had a fantastic experience! The staff was so friendly and helpful provided us with a free room upgrade due to the fact that we had a hard time finding the parking garage. The location was perfect and the room was very comfortable and clean.

They serve complementary tea time during the late afternoon and have apps around 6pm which was a lovely touch.

You definitely get the feeling that you are the only ones staying at the property and it was a nice change from what we are used to in the States.

We would love to come back and we are recommending the property to our friends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Property: Grand Hotel des Alpes
Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing