We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The honeymoon sweet was well worth the price. Not too expensive with an unrivaled experience in the French Alps. Views are unbelievable. Staff was amazing. The room feels enchanted. The location is in the center. All perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel des Alpes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 403 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

this hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous wood paneling in the lobby and rooms. The rooms are large and the bathrooms beautiful. We had a great view over the river. You feel like you are part of the family staying here. The staff is extremely nice and accomodating. We had a hard time finding the gargage because I forgot my directions. I called the hotel and Jerome, the hotel manager walked several blocks to where we were stopped with our car and he drove it to the garage for us!!!! Wow!! What service!! What a nice gentleman!! In the afternoons they put out a free spread of cakes, pastry, deviled eggs, cheeses and sliced meats etc. It was so much fun to come back to the hotel and munch on the delicious food! The location could not be better. It is located right in the center of the village,convenient to everything. Also if I got lost walking around all I had to do was look up and see the black peaked roofs of the hotel and I knew my way back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Grand hotel des Alpes is outstanding in many ways:
. great location (Chamonix main street), the hotel is in the heart of the action.
. Great staff: genuinely friendly, helpful and attentive and professional
. The rooms are specious and well furnished (wood panels in the bedrooms and marble in the bathroom)
. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. There is a nice terrace outside on the river where you can enjoy your break.
. They have a garage underneath the hotel where you can park your park.

Room Tip: the rooms looking at the river are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Platypus077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is the amazing hotel!!! We stayed there in January/February 2013 and we are very pleased with this place! The rooms were very comfortable, cosy, spacious and quite! Bathroom is great!
The spa includes the small swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna which I found very pleasant after a day on the slopes!
There is an indoor garage which is at extra price. The breakfast buffet is absolutely excellent. The hotel serves complimentary deserts after 4 pm.
The staff is absolutely the best, very helpful, positive, polite!!!
The hotel is very conveniently situated, right in the centre of Chamonix, the ski bus stop is on the next street!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mount Blanc are supposed to be quieter but my room faced Brevent and the main street an...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evgenia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Hotel des Alpes last weekend and we had a fantastic experience! The staff was so friendly and helpful provided us with a free room upgrade due to the fact that we had a hard time finding the parking garage. The location was perfect and the room was very comfortable and clean.

They serve complementary tea time during the late afternoon and have apps around 6pm which was a lovely touch.

You definitely get the feeling that you are the only ones staying at the property and it was a nice change from what we are used to in the States.

We would love to come back and we are recommending the property to our friends!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murphy1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just returned from a week's ski vacation and thoroughly enjoyed this property. Pros: Very helpful & friendly bilingual staff, central location, ski lockers and boot dryers provided, underground parking, Charming old world atmosphere, excellent breakfast buffet, complementary hors d'oeuvres 3:00-7:00 PM, great view and balcony in the back, small but very luxurious pool, hot tub, sauna, & steam rooms, massage therapist available at the pool, clean and well maintained property. The bus stop is nearby and there are tons of excellent shops and restaurants very close to this hotel. The only con is if you have a room in the front street side of the hotel it can be noisy at night when the bars and pubs empty out. For some strange reason Tuesday and Saturday nights where particularly loud. Our room was wood paneled and very pretty, but it is dark for 40-something year old eyes. Despite the cons I would return to this property in a heartbeat. We knew about the noise from previous reviews, and there was only 1 room left when we booked it. I would still go back, hopefully to a room at the rear of the building that overlooks the river and has the amazing views of the mountains.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel centrally located in Chamonix Mont Blanc. Super service from very friendly staff, who spoke excellent English. Nice 'high tea' at 4:00 in the afternoon and 'salt food' from 18:00 in a calm environment in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Some noice from the pedestrian street in front of the hotel so could be an idea to ask for a room fa...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $153 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing