We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, one prior to doing the Tour de Mt Blanc, and two following the 7 day hike. One of the most pleasant stays I have had in a hotel anywhere. Staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful, and seemed quite genuine about it. Good rooms, not that expensive for the quality of accommodation. Quite a shock when we paid much more for a far worse hotel in Geneva. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgrattans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 412 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed there for one night after our TMB trip and enjoyed it tremendously. The hotel is centrally situated and has great staff and services. The room was clean and cozy. The balcony out looking mont blanc was excellent. Breakfast was also very good. Good value for money!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank bobolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Grand Alpes hotel for two nights after visiting Montreux the day before and before moving onto Nice on our honeymoon trip. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Chamonix. The room is cozy and wonderful. Great views from either side of the hotel. The hotel is gorgeous on the inside with a pool, terrace and cozy sitting area (where we spent an entire rainy day). Chamonix is a wonderful town and definitely worth the visit. The hotel even provided us with complimentary champagne because it was our honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially after I fell hiking down Aiguille Midi and broke my right wrist. They contacted the nearest hospital and found out what I needed to do next and directed us how to get there. Got patched up (casted) at the hospital and was out and on the road to Nice within 3 hours. Even with the accident, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has the perfect location right in the heart of the town. When you are in the mood to party, you merely have to walk out of the doors in the evening and you are in the midst of the most wonderful revelry imaginable. If, on the other hand, solace is what you seek, you merely have to lie in your bed or sit on the balcony and you have the most magnificent view of the Alpes and the river running by at your very feet.

We took a bus (Alpybus) to Chamonix from Geneva Airport after a twelve hour flight and were pleasantly surprised both by the quaint and charming town of Chamonix and the helpful Mlle Kotia Saggia at the reception who arranged for our check in right away though we were quite early (usually not allowed by other hotels in both France and Switzerland).

The room we stayed in on the higher floor was spacious, with convenient furniture and came with a charming balcony where we had our drinks in the evening. The size of the bathroom was quite impressive too.

If you wish to go to Aiguille du Midi, I suggest you buy the ticket at the hotel which will probably save you a good 45 mins to an hour at the station.

We must also thank the charming and gracious Mlle Kotia Saggia for all her patience and help during our stay.

We will definitely stay at the Grand Hotel Des Alpes whenever we visit Chamonix again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are quiet while rooms facing the front are more boisterous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

we stayed in the french alpes and it was a fantastic stay, the hotel was great and the staff
friedly, we are looking at going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank gary147_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

You couldn't find a better location if you want to walk out your door into the midst of this charming town. The whole street has aromas of charcuterie. They have private parking (for a price). If you're arriving by car, be sure to have a map of how to get to the parking, otherwise you will never find it. Dark wood paneling gives the rooms a slightly gloomy look.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were in this hotel for two nights, and its location was really great and staffs were kind .
The only and really big problem was a sitting area in front of the hotel. Since the rooms didn't have the cooling system, we had to open the window to sleep on cool, and guess what? Drunk people came and sat in front of the hotel and laughed and talked with the loud voice in the midnights. So we had to choices, sleep in the hot room ( that was terrible) or open the window and listen to the drunk people (this was worst).
We tried both, but we cannot sleep well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vamegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#21 of 73 in Chamonix
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $228 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing