We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Morgane(Chamonix)
$165
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc(Vallorcine)(Great Value!)
$180
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Arve(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Faucigny(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$226
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
362
80
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
80
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitemont blancloved this hotelelegant hotelevery requestpedestrian zoneturn down serviceeach afternoonoverlooking the rivernoise from the streetthe breakfast areabeautiful roommiddle of townthe main streetthere is no air conditioningi highly recommend this hotelgreat central location
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 452 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

From the minute we stepped inside this beautiful hotel we were treated as special guests.. The hotel manager and front desk staff greeted us warmly and had our bags taken to the room while we checked in.. all fast and efficient..
Our room had the most comfortable bed and gorgeous goose down duvet and pillows, free wi-fi and complimentary mineral water. The bathroom was very pretty and had plenty of hot water, fluffy towels, robes and slippers..
The pool area is spotless and worth taking a swimsuit for, didn't have time for a massage but will next time!
Breakfast was buffet style, plenty of choice and yummy hot chocolate available too..
This hotel was definitely the highlight of the holiday!!
Located right in the center on the pedestrianised area, it is very close to restaurants and shops and easy walking distance to the train stations and cable cars.. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

From welcome to good bye we had a very nice stay at this conveniently located city hotel. All the staff and particularly Jerome were very helpful and went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. Restaurant and activities tips and reservations were top-on. Our rooms - we extended our stay and stayed in 2 different ones - were comfortable, spacious, quiet and had good WiFi reception. Breakfast was ample, fresh and with a good selection of cold and hot foods. Chamonix in the summer and a stay at Grand Hotel des Alpes are worth a trip! We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the river are particularly quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrRiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in July for two nights as part of a group travel. You wouldn't notice the entrance if you weren't looking for it as it is quite unassuming on the busy streets of Chamonix. The front desk staff were very accomodating and check in was a snap. There is a very small and slow elevator or you can take the winding somewhat dizzying stairs. We were ok with this but some may not be. Our room faced the back and we had a small balcony overlooking the river. Great view. If I were to go again I would suggest a room on the back (3rd floor or above) and ask for a balcony. The street facing rooms could be noisy. All rooms are large and well appointed. The lobby area is large and seemed like a good place to read a newspaper or book. There is also an outdoor cafe area which was great on a July afternoon. If you go to Chamonix take some of the hikes or tours sponsered by the Chamonix guides. They are a superb group that know all about the hikes and mountains surrounding the area. Great place to vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor or above on the back facing the river.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcats14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

What a charming, friendly and elegant hotel this is. The reception area and the lounge with the wood panelling , fireplace and stunning views makes it hard to tear yourself away from the comforts on offer here. Our room (no 405) exuded warmth and elegance. The bed was very comfortable and I had a wonderful night’s sleep there. Bathrobes were provided and cosy slippers too. The view from the room was stunning – you could see the top station of the Aiguille du Midi and watch the Para gliders from the balcony! The dining room was enhanced by elegant paintings by a French artist. Add to that a wonderful breakfast with a huge choice of dishes, well - we spent two nights here – I wish it had been longer! It’s definitely on my ‘must go back there’ list!

Room Tip: Any one would be magical
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booked this hotel for a two night stay in August. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. The hotel is lovely and has a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
We booked was the Brevent room. Both the room and en suite were very clean and comfortable. The room over looked the high street. The only problem with this is that we had to sleep with the window open because there didn't seem to be any air conditioning and there was a bit of noise. On the first night I was woken up at 4.30am by shouting, my husband said that his sleep was frequently disturbed with noise from the street every hour or so.

The breakfast was pretty good, selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, cheese, meats, bread and pastries. You can also select from a variety of cooked dishes. The breakfast room is quite nice and there was a lovely terrace outside by the river that is also open at breakfast time.

We looked at the swimming pool and jacuzzi area but didn't use either. They are in the basement next to the breakfast room. The area looked very clean but the pool is quite small. There were also couple of loungers by the pool side.

The hotel provides free wifi and will give you a login for multiple devices, so my husband and I were both able to check emails etc at the same time, him on a lap top and me on my phone. In other hotels we've stayed only device was able to access the wifi at any time.

I would stay at this hotel again but I would specifically request a room on the side of the hotel facing the river in the summer months.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews