We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Le Jeu de Paume

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Jeu de Paume
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Niamey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

With my husband we spent one night in this hotel. We found it very cosy and nicely located outside of Chamonix. We wanted to have a quiet time after a day hiking in this beautiful region. We enjoyed the swimming pool, the sauna, the Turkish bath and the food. The breakfast was sumptuous and generous. The staff is very kind and attentive. The room was cosy with a chalet atmosphere. We would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Negan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeupaume, Directeur général at Le Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guests,
We thank you for your comments and appreciations. We are delighted that our hotel was up to your waits. We hope to welcoming you again in our hotel .
All the staff joint me to thank you for your visit.
Cordially
Carolle
Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    40
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
66
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a vacation week at jeu de paume. We had a lovely moment and stay at the property. staff is dedicated to the guest; Perfectly located away from the Chamonix it's a peacfull place to rest and recover.

We will be back soon definetly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxime v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeupaume, Directeur général at Le Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guests,
We thank you for your comments and appreciations. We are delighted that our hotel was up to your waits.. Le Lavancher it' the most beautiful place to stay in Chamonix. We hope to welcoming you again and allt the staff joint me to thank you for your visit.
Cordially
Carolle
Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

A bit away from the "modern" Chamonix movida, this is a place to relax among the silence and the nature.
The terrace and the garden are beautiful and having the breakfast outside was really nice.
I would suggest it to who prefer the relax to the movida.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ViP_Ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeupaume, Directeur général at Le Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guests,
We thank you for your comments and appreciations. We are delighted that our Hotel was up to your waits. We hope to welcome you again in the beautiful Lavancher .

Cordially
Carolle, Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

After the very warm welcome by Reception who stated she had upgraded our room, we were disappointed at the rigidity of the restaurant service unwilling to substitute items on a somewhat restricted menu, even though we offered to meet the extra cost. We also considered euro 24 for 2 G&Ts at the bar excessive. The friendly service by Mathieu was appreciated however. Our accommodation was good but not spectacular and, for that reason, considered overpriced

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moggieplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeupaume, Directeur général at Le Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and we take your comments in consideration. If you feel stiffness from our restaurant staff, please accept our apologies. We have a choice of dishes "à la carte" and 3 differents menus that are greated in flavor, Menu Saveurs, Menu Regional and menu Classique so it is difficult for any mixed to no longer have this balance of dishes.
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from an amazing stay - the hotel was the perfect combination of cosy, comfortable and rustic style but modern and well looked after. The staff were all absolutely lovely, very smiley and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We arrived late on the Friday evening and they worked very hard to accommodate us for dinner despite a busy restaurant on Valentines evening. The meal was outstanding as was the service. Our room was incredibly cosy but a great spacious size with lovely bathroom.
Despite only staying one night they welcomed us back the following day to use the spa facilities since we hadn't had time to use them on the Friday evening - after a long day on the mountain this was very much appreciated and a great end to our stay at Le Je de Paume. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeupaume, Responsable réception at Le Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello,
The staff of the hotel du Jeu de Paume and the staff of the Restaurant Le Rosebud warmly thank you for your visit and your comment about the quality of our hotel.
Be welcome on a next trip at Chamonix Mont-Blanc.
Kind regards
Carolle Hamel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed with a team of around 20 for a work retreat. We had enough people to largely occupy the whole hotel, so it was really a great retreat location to get to know the team - as every guest there was part of our group. Everything about the hotel was quaint and well cared for. We really felt comfortable during our stay. The small staff worked tirelessly to attend to our needs. The food was very, very good. Many small dishes of superb quality. My only complaint (which is common among many international hotels) was the quality of the internet connection. When I was able to connect, it was very slow - and often kicked me out, causing a restart. With more and more travelers mixing business with leisure, hotels will do better to get ahead of this trend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeupaume, Responsable réception at Le Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
The staff of the hotel du Jeu de Paume and the staff of the restaurant Le Rosebud thank you very much for your very positive review. We have transmitted to our staff your satisfaction provided by their kind attention. Concerning the wifi connection, you are absolutely right and we will improve it. 

Be welcome to the Valley of Chamonix Mont-Blanc during your next retirement stay!
Kind Regards
Carolle Hamel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We (two couples) stayed at le Jeu de Paume for three nights. The service was very good, very friendly, in the hotel and in the restaurant, and the food excellent as well. Located in Lavancher,it is about 10 minutes from Chamonix, but it is wonderfully located off the main road, and so it feels like a private village. I had stayed there 7 years ago and I remebered how friendly it was then. If you have a car, in my view its THE way to visit Chamonix ...as feel like you are in the mountains, isolated, and yet minutes from some of the most wonderful mountains and glaciers in the world. And if you dont have a car, the bus is pretty good service as well.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the glacier, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#21 of 73 in Chamonix
277 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,085 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
509 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jeu de Paume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jeu de Paume

Property: Le Jeu de Paume
Address: 705 route du Chapeau, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jeu de Paume 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Le Jeu de Paume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jeu De Paume Hotel Chamonix
Le Jeu De Paume Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing