We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money - ideal for ski bus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere - Aiglons
Ranked #3 of 30 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2010

A group of 4 of us booked this place via Easyjet, and were put off by the reviews of the 4-person, 1-bed studios so opted for the 7-person, 2-bedroom apartment. While it may have been a squeeze for 7, there was definitely room for 6 to sleep and live comfortably (as long as 2 on you don't mind sharing a double).

We were there for a long weekend skiing, and having the ski bus stop 50m from the door was great - especially as most lift stations are at the other end of Chamonix (up to 25 mins by bus) so we were usually among the first to get on the bus and could get a seat before it worked its way through the valley.

In our case the reception not being open all day wasn't a problem as we'd heard it may be - they emailed us a door entry code and left our welcome pack in the pigeonhole in reception so we were able to check in. But it's worth asking about the check-out process - we thought we could stay in the apartment while they inspected our cleaning (we opted not to pay the 40 euro cleaning charge), but found out that wasn't the case and almost missed our transfer.

All in all, a great base for an active holiday - 10 mins walk to Chamonix, 1 min walk to Chamonix Sud with a few bars, restaurants & shops, and close to the ski bus.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lollylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 482 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in May 2008. We flew into Geneva and hired a car to get to beautiful Chamonix. As others have stated, there is ample free parking nearby Residence Maeva however during the ski season it would be a lot busier.

The location of the apartments is great, overlooking the river and a two minute walk to the telecabine. To the town centre is about a five minute walk.

We arrived late and should thank the previous reviewer who highlighted the fact you need a PIN code to enter the building if you arrive after 7pm. Our keys were waiting for us in the foyer along with a set of fresh bed linen. We had booked a studio apartment which contained a double sofa bed plus two bunk beds. It was a good size for the two of us but would have been a bit too cosy with four adults. On the small balcony was a table and two chairs.

On first inspection the apartment was spotless, however when we had breakfast the next morning we noticed that the previous occupants had not cleaned the glasses, plates or cups properly and some were really grubby / coffee-stained. Other than that, the level of cleanliness was very good.

Bring some Mr Muscle (or similar) cleaning wipes with you; this is what we used to clean the apartment before we left. There is no dishwashing liquid supplied. The kitchen had only basic cooking utensils and pots, so if you're a super chef you might be challenged with the lack of facilities. The bathroom floor got very wet because of the lack of adequate shower screen and no bath mat. The pillows and blankets were overdue for a dry cleaning and smelt a bit musty.

We'd read reviews about people returning home post-holiday and noticing they'd been charged a cleaning fee but we didn't have this issue.

It was the first time we'd ever encountered accommodation where you had to pay to use the TV??!!

Overall the location and value of these apartments was great, and suited our purposes. It's not luxurious but then, bargains never are!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kmd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Visited Chamonix in March 2008 with a group of 5. Originally had a group of 8 but 2 pulled out at last minute so we had lots of space over two rooms. Both rooms where adequate enough for all of us. Kitchen very basic, pull out double sofa bed, separate room with two single beds in. Both the mattress's on the beds where in need of replacement as I slept in a 'dip'! Balcony overlooked a park and some more apartments (see hotel picture)

Hallway's within the building are dark and dirty but bareable as we weren't living in that space. Concrete stairs were annoying at 8am when all you can hear is 'boom boom boom' (the sound of ski boots going down the steps!!) Heating didn't work in one of the rooms but that didnt bother us too much as we spent most time in the other!

Apartments come with access to a ski locker room to store all equip. It is very secure with a main security code lock on the front door and then individual key locks for the lockers.

Apartment is about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the main centre of Chamonix which is quite nice, what is even better though is the fact that the bus stop to pretty much every ski slope in Chamonix is located 100 metres from the apartments!

Chamonix is very expensive and if I was to visit again, I would certainly use this accomodation as its budgetable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank djryki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

well, I wasnt expecting much for about £40 a night. What a pleasant surprise! Good location running alongside the river and in the middle of town. Free parking just outside with a pay underground car park if you get stuck. Backs onto a square with bars and eateries etc.....ten mins walk to main sq. about 20 mins walk up the hill to the main bubble lifts to the slopes.

We booked a studio that sleeps 4, great room! sofa double bed, two single bunks all spotlessly clean, newly decorated and with all the mods cons (dishwasher, fridge, two ring hob, all cutlery, crockery, TV)......you also get a balcony with outside furniture...You dont get towels but do get bedding free of charge. All communal areas looked recently decorated and clean.

To summarise if you are actually there to go skiing and enjoy the chamonix nightlife its a perfect little place, basic, cheap and clean. We are a married couple and loved it, also would work great for a small group of friends. If however you want luxury, a spa, bar and restauarant and actually intend to spend time in the hotel rather than just use it as a base then spend more money and maybe head elsewhere.

BE WARNED, IF YOU ARE CHECKING IN AFTER 7PM YOU WILL NEED TO GET THE PIN ACCESS CODE IN ADVANCE!!!!!! PHONE THE HOTEL ADVISING THEM OF LATE CHECKIN...or you will be sleeping in the car on your first night! ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed here because it was a really cheap option. As three blokes and having read some of the reviews we all just thought it would be a place to rest our heads and if its awful then so be it.

We were very suprised to find the staff were ultra friendly and helpfull, the room was very clean, I dont know where the dog blanket thing came from because ours were great, the kitchen was well equipped, there was plenty of storage space and its in a great location - quiet but within a 2 min walk of some great bars and the free bus and 5 mins walk from town centre. Theres a brilliant pizza place just round the corner and a good chinese resteraunt just up the road. On the main drag theres a little burger stand - get one they're awsome they put the chips in the bun???? very continental!

If you get there early you'll have to wait to book in till about 5 in the afternoon but they did say that when we booked so it wasn't a problem. This isn't the sort of hotel I'd imagine families enjoying though as there's nothing except the rooms in the hotel. We cleaned the room ourselves but you only need some washing up liquid and they provide a hoover, the guy had a very very brief look around then gave us our cash back there and then. Dont expect the ritz but for the money this is a great hotel I gave it above average because it was way better than expected.

Although the hotel is cheap chamonix is not!! everything about the place is expensive and youn need deep pockets to be going out on the town every night. The skiings great and we had a great time I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This accommodation was clean, had all the essentials and was close to both the slopes and the apres ski. If you are looking for somewhere which is clean, friendly, quiet, and with all of the amenities you could possibly need within a basic apartment then this is the place for you. Some of the other reviews of this place seem to have been written by people who don't have a clue what to expect from a self catering apartment in a European ski resort. The kitchen was fully equipped - minus a kettle but there are saucepans to boil the water. Bed comfortable, hot shower and bath, heating on demand and even a dishwasher!! You do need to clean the apartment but there is a brush and hoover. You can also buy an 8 euro cleaning kit from reception with dishwashing tablets and basic cleaning equipment. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn0wchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at the Residence after reading the reviews, and were a bit worried. We needn't have been, it was clean, recently renovated, with a dishwasher, microwave, big fridge, two rings, plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. Comfy sofa bed. What more do you want? It was 2 mins from the Ski bus stop and the "Chamonix Sud" pedestrian area with bars, shops etc and a whole 5 min walk to the main town centre.
You do need to provide your own towels, (or rent from reception) kettles aren't provided ( I have never been anywhere in France where they are - they are a British thing) and you can buy a cleaning kit from reception, as you need to clean the appartment at the end of the stay (or take a packet of Flash wipes and some Fairy liquid and a sponge!) hoovers provided.
There was a ski locker room.
The only thing I would say was if you had 4 people in the studio you only got 1 blanket and pillow each, (and 2 sheets) so you might want to consider an extra one or a sleeping bag, and if you like lots of pillows the same.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiliebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere - Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere - Aiglons

Address: 187 Promenade Marie Paradis, 74400, Chamonix, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Résidence La Rivière)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range: $76 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere - Aiglons 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine and typically Savoyard resort. Shops and activities close by. Entirely renovated apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere - Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence La Riviere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing