We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel l'Heliopic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Heliopic
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

an amazing location, right next to the Aguille du Midi lift and a short walk into town. all staff were friendly and helpful the spa was amazing and free to use (go down to the spa in your robe, slippers and swimwear thats the norm) after snowboarding all day my legs were achy and tired the ice room sorted that right out for the next day, not much snow left now if you planning on skiing only le grand montets open now. We had a double room with mountain view and balcony. Amazing! Huge bed, lovely crisp white sheets, very clean!! in the room there was a TV, DVD player (they have a selection of DVDs downstairs to borrow), big safe, kettle and coffee/ tea (thats not the best but tea and coffee free downstairs in reception also kiddies juices and sweets free.), Nuxe toiletries, lovely bath with shower over, space to dry boots and heated radiator to dry clothing. WIfi worked on out first day in the room but then didn't after that, which we rang reception about twice (i am being picky here), both occasions they said they will inform maintenance but nothing happened so we just went down to reception and we could pick up wifi no problems happy days.
Breakfast in the hotel is 15€ a head to be honest for what you get its worth it, if you go outside the hotel a coffee and croissant is about €10 so you may as well stay at the hotel and Breakfast is good lots of variety. we didn't eat at the hotel on a night as there was many of nice restaurants to try in the town, our faves include poco loco and monkey bar - awesome food. the hotel has a lovely little shop alsorts stuff you may have forgot to bring, travel plugs toothpaste ect very stylish.
Loved this hotel hope it keeps this excellent service up as we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crantok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    311
    66
    20
    8
See reviews for
288
513
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
187 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

As many others have said this is a great option for Chamonix - a modern, slightly funky, and effective hotel for Chamonix, well run and with great staff, being just a short walk from town we had a grand stay.

The positives:
- Staff were consistently genuine and friendly, engaging at all levels.
- Rooms spotless and well serviced - staff happily sourced extra pillows as only 1 per bed, but shower great and bathrobes nice touch.
- The bar had a good vibe in the evening - good for a drink on way out or in; music modern but not too loud / excessive; and set up made for relaxing.
- Ski hire shop was spot on - new equipment and excellent service. With lockers and a bus stop for slopes outside an easy option.
- Lift passes available from reception; and a visitor card was free for non skiers; giving free transport on busses and trains in valley - not promoted but available on asking.
- The spa was excellent - was busier late afternoon / early evening - but during the day a fantastic place to chill with spotless facilities and great Jacuzzi, sauna / stream etc. Cold plunge was just that - very cold and refreshing...

The (barely worth mentioning) negatives:
- Car park entrance is hard to find if you're daft enough to follow route planners and end up in town - access is from the by-pass. But car park has large spaces and easy to use.
- Room was hot, even in March / April and needed door open, OK for now, but lack of a controllable air-con a shame.
- Breakfast was a mixed bag - generally excellent but hot food did not have covers one day and was stone cold; coffee must be the worst tasted all weak - thick and strong.
- When outside areas are completed, particularly around the front café - this will finish the hotel off nicely.
- No mini bar / fridge in room - would be good to have a cold place for some milk / wine!

The hotel was all in all a great option - we felt very comfortable here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. price was not that cheap €137-€167 a night including breakfast and car park but seemed consistent with the higher shoulder season prices in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This brand new hotel (opened in December 2013) is really practical. It is not the cheapest in town, but with all its facilities it is worth its price.

I was there with a colleague/friend/ski buddy in March 2014. We were looking for a guide for some off piste adventure in Vallée Blanche (not just the normal route that 90% of the people do). The Compagnie des Guides de Chamonix didn't have *one* guide available. They were all booked as this was a very busy weekend (last WE of March and great weather forecast). Then we discovered that the Kaïlash Guide Bureau has a little outlet in the lobby of the hotel. Really practical. They found a guide for us and our skiing Saturday in Vallée Blanche was saved.

If you need to rent or buy skis or ski equipment, there is a sports store at the hotel entrance. And if you want to buy a picnic to bring with you for your day out skiing there is a little shop just outside the hotel.

The Aiguille du Midi gondola lift is next door, just a one-minute walk away from the hotel entrance.

The spa section is also very nice with several steam baths/saunas, a pool and a jacuzzi. OK, there were a few kids around, but it was not as bad as one of the reviews here commented.

The breakfast is very complete with something for everyone, whether you like egg and bacon, cereals, pancakes, pastries, fruit, youghurt etc etc.

We did not dine there, so no idea about that. Chamonix has several good restaurants for fine dining if you wish. You can find my reviews of those here on TripAdvisor, as well.

The staff at the reception desk is very friendly and helpful. One can also buy ski passes there, so you don't need to queue when you get to the slopes.

The only thing that should be fixed is the floor in the garage which is covered with a thick dust layer. It should be cleaned and then sealed with this special varnish for concrete floors. I assume they will fix that soon.

Wifi internet worked ok, but the signal was a bit weak in the room. That said, I still have to find a hotel where internet works as well as at home or in the office. Funny why hotels are unable to just give people good, fast internet. :-)

I was so pleased with my first stay that I came back the next weekend with one of my sons. Same good experience then. We rented randonnée skis from the in-house sports store. The skis were brand new and so were the boots.

All in all, a very good experience. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who comes to Chamonix, and especially if you plan to take the lift to Aiguille du Midi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geir-Ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a short break. We were on a late flight to Geneva and did not reach the hotel until after midnight. We notified the hotel in advance and received a prompt reply by e-mail that reception would be open and notified of our arrival time. When we arrived to a pleasant welcome, check in was efficient and we were in our room within minutes. A very good first impression.

Our room was well prepared and was very comfortable. Given the proximity of the main road, it was remarkably quiet and we could not hear traffic noise. Waking up to a glorious view from the balcony cemented the first impression. Only negative with the room was the wooden floor. Really functional for the room, but if the person in the room above has heels or boots, the sound transfer is significant - the floor acts as a sounding board. The room has tea/coffee making facilities, but would benefit from at least two of everything to avoid the argument over who has the Ceylon tea!

For a very new hotel, it strikes a good balance between modern and traditional. However, the scrolling LED display in front of the bar and reception took some getting used to - a bit too gaudy! There is plenty of communal space in the open plan reception and bar area. We had no problem with internet access and the speed was more than acceptable. We used the Spa. It is small, but not overcrowded during our stay.

Breakfast buffet was acceptable, rather than stunning. Relatively limited selection of hot food (bacon, sausage, hash browns and scrambled egg). On one morning, staff started clearing items some 15 minutes before the stated closing time of 10:00 am. Perhaps an area for improvement.

Overall a very pleasant stay. Plus points were comfort of the room, good sound insulation from external noise, very friendly staff, location to the local bus stop and cable car (and a comfortable 10 min walk into the town).

Hesitate to use negatives, but the hotel will improve when landscaping is complete. To get still better, Increase the amount resource for tea/coffee in the room as it saves having to ask reception or bring up a supply from breakfast. For a 4star hotel, increase the choice at breakfast, for the room, have some additional pillows available (when we called reception, we had extra within 5 mins).

Would we stay here again? Most certainly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in Hotel l'Heliopic for 2 nights. We booked the family room and were very pleased with it. Good size,very clean and comfortable beds. Polite and friendly staff. Lovely spa but wished the pool water was a little warmer. Breakfast was also amazing with large and good quality selection. Already thinking of coming back here next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a four night snow break here and could not be happier with the hotel. The staff were beyond helpful and were friendly and warm, particularly Thomas on reception and Florent in the bar (but everyone is great, we just chatted most with these guys). The rooms are very clean and comfortable, excellent mattresses and quality bedding and luxe toiletries in bathroom. The spa is fantastically appointed and also spotlessly clean... Make sure you try the hanging chairs near the fire... You may fall asleep! We didn't eat in the restaurant at night, but the breakfasts were great, lots of choice and good quality. If you are hardcore off-pisters (which we aren't), the hotel is literally next to the Aguille de Midi cable car.
If you are looking for somewhere as a perfect base in Chamonix go for this hotel :) Fantastic!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KateGreen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend of skiing with my Dad last week. It is a fantastic location, just a few minutes walk to the main bus station which takes you to all the ski areas. You can also easily walk to the train station and the lovely town centre. L'Aguille de Midi lift is next door....this trip is a must. However definitely not for the faint hearted, I witnessed many grown men shaking!!

The staff are fantastic at the hotel, incredibly helpful and friendly. There is brilliant ski hire shop near reception which we thought was very reasonable and made a very easy job of kitting yourself out.

I didn't take my children but there was a great kids area with playroom, tv, fridge stocked with juice etc which I'm sure would be a good hang out for little ones. In response to a negative comment I saw before travelling here, we didn't notice any children at the hotel at all so I can only put that down to traveling in school holidays.

Breakfast was great, there wasn't anything missing that you would usually expect. Of course the highlight of the hotel has to be the spa... It was the perfect place to go after a day skiing.

We had a fantastic trip to Chamonix, the only thing I would say is that we have only been skiing a few times before and found skiing here quite challenging ... It's probably not the best place for beginners. However the hotel, town, sights and people make it worth the visit anyway!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Heliopic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Heliopic

Property: Hotel l'Heliopic
Address: 50 Place de l'Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel l'Heliopic 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heliopic Hotel Sweet & Spa is set at the foot of Aiguille du Midi lift and will open its doors in December 2013. If you come as a couple, family or group, our hotel will take care of your well-being.The hotel offers the most innovative services and personalised attentions, such as a 500m2 spa, a restaurant, a bar, a ski shop, 4 conference rooms, a take-away shop and a covered car park with 44 spaces.The Heliopic Spa, where relaxation meets amazement, offers the following facilities: pool, relaxation area, hammam, banya, ice cave, tepidarium, treatment rooms and many other surprises ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel l'Heliopic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing