We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick service with good tasting food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West - CLOSED

The West
Cuisines: French, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Turkey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quick service with good tasting food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ok; burgers may not be your first choice in a French alpine town, but sometimes you need something familiar at affordable prices. The West can be the answer. Friendly staff who can speak English.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tekirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh. I didn't like it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I can't say anything less than average coz I went there with a bunch of mates who enjoyed it. But the food really was not great. I saw all of their meals, too, and none of them looked like something I'd wanna pay for at a restaurant. In saying that, it is fairly cheap so I spose you get what you pay for. But, Poco Loco, Midnight Express and l'Annexe (all in Chamonix) are far cheaper than The West and they're burgers are all bigger and a whole lot yummier!
Service at The West was actually pretty good, though, nice enough staff. Most of my friends did like their meals, the Caesar salad my girlfriend got was actually pretty good, too, but there were a couple of other girls who weren't very impressed with their meals. Mine just didn't taste right... Not a bad place, but I would definitely not reccomend it. If they had some Americans there it would probably be a lot better, more authentic obviously, and that's coming from a guy who isn't a huge fan of Americans.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielfilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food, decent prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice, once in the evening and we went back for the lunch time menu a different day.

Both times the food was really nice, big portion sizes!

My only niggle was with the lunch time menu, basically a salad or cheeseburger (salad was amazing!) a coffee and a dessert is what is offered.. Which led us to believe it was a choice of 'dessert' from the menu but it wasn't.. The dessert was just a plain doughnut, which was disappointing when i'd eyed up the orea cookie cake haha!
Overall a great place though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy7688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unpretensious Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had the lunch special great value at €9.50.

Home made cheeseburger decent size with a salad and chips.

Nice outdoor seating in the sunny courtyard.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lazyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent the season in Chamonix. Went there with 15 of us and one of the best meals we have had all season. Gutted we didnt find it earlier !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheddaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West also viewed

Argentiere, Chamonix
Vallorcine, Chamonix
 
Argentiere, Chamonix
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing