We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Christol”
Review of Chamonix Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chamonix Lodge
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chalet Christol”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Chalet Christol in February 2013 where we had a lovely stay and a great weeks skiing. We were a large group of 15 and found the chalet perfect for us. We found the staff very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. On our day to Courmayeur we were hosted by Rachael and had a great day's skiing. The chalet hosts on the others days were also keen to show us around which was a bonus.

We all enjoyed the food over the week and the chalet hosts even made a birthday cake for one of the lads. Hot tub and Sauna were excellent and the lounge room was great for socialising. A couple of the rooms are on the smaller side but most have an ensuite which makes it easier to all get out on time in the morning.

We would highly recommend both Chalet Christol and Chamonix and we'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSimp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
5
23
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Château Mammoth and I'll definitely stay here again if I go back to Chamonix.

The château is well located just out of the town centre so very quiet in the evenings. It's also not too far away from the town centre if you do fancy a bit of apres skiing.

The accommodation has got all the facilities you need and it's handy that the owners also have a ski shop and can organise all your ski hire for a very reasonable price.

The staff are really friendly and always went out of their way to check that we were okay. It was also great that they drove us over to Italy for the day to go skiing at Courmayeur.

I'd definitely recommend that you check Mountain Highs out. For what you pay you really do get a great deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is my first Trip Advisor review. I am quite surprised at the negative comments below, and I hope that my review will add some balance.

I have just returned from a week's holiday at Chalet Christol, one of Mountain High's chalets. We were a group of 13 travelling from Scotland, London, Northern Ireland and the South of England. Logistically, we were a complicated group, however, the guys at Mountain Highs managed to organise all of our airport transfers, ski hire, boarding and ski lessons, ski passes, daily lifts to the slopes, and cater to some very particular dietary requirements with ease. We took advantage of all services that would make our trip easier and to no huge expense.

With so many people to coordinate and organise, it was a Godsend that Mountain Highs organised so much for us before we arrived. The only thing that didn't happen was that our ski hire was not delivered to the chalet before our arrival, although this was not hugely inconvenient as we were taken to the ski hire shop on arrival and were fitted there quickly. Any boots or items that weren't working well on the slopes after day one, were replaced. I broke a hired board binding early on and this was replaced quickly and without any charge from the ski hire shop. Nothing was a hassle.

Transfers were organised each day to the destination of our slopes and our drivers were always pleasant, chatty and flexible - they went out of their way to help us. One afternoon, they carried a change of shoes to pick us up from a day's skiing so that we could hit the pub comfortably for some apres-ski fun and returned our ski and board boots and equipment to the chalet.

Our chalet hosts were Ollie and Kelly. They prepared breakfast, afternoon treats and a three course meal every evening. Breakfast varied each day and included cereals, yoghurts, fruit, bread, cheese, jams, eggs, mushrooms etc. If anything ran out before we had all eaten, it was quickly provided by the guys. Dinner was always filling and well prepared. Some members of our group had specific requirements such as vegetarian, allergic to nuts, intolerant to dairy etc, and the hosts catered for us all excellently. There were no disruptions to our meals or delays and we all ate at the same time. No idea how they did it! Ollie and Kelly went to a lot of trouble for us and we really appreciated it. The flowing wine at dinner was great and of course we lapped it up! In the afternoon after skiing we were welcomed home with cake, cookies and different treats each day.

Our room was cleaned a couple of times during the week, enough for us, and fresh towels were made available on request.

On the hosts day off, we were given tips on where to eat and drink and a discount card for a local eaterie where we went most days to watch the football, rugby etc (jekyll and hyde). Happy hour was 4-7pm and we took advantage of the pitchers of beer for 8euro and glasses of wine for 2euro. The food was good and the portion sizes generous, ideal when skiing daily.

Overall, the standard of accommodation was good for the price. The rooms were on the small side, however, it is a small compromise considering the cost for one week's catered chalet!
When we arrived, we realised that the security key for each room was the same, so we asked for that to be changed for peace of mind. This was carried out quickly and effectively like all other requests we made.

The chalet living area with TV snug suited our group well and we hung out most evenings up there. There wasn't much room for storage in some of the rooms but as we were all friends, we helped each other out in this regard. We used the sauna and hot tub most nights to soothe our aches and pains which was great. Chalet Christol's hot tub was playing up so we were able to use Chalet Mammoth's tub. We took advantage of the free Wifi throughout our stay which was great for keeping on top of work emails or researching during the trip.

Before travelling, our group was extremely satisfied with the organisation of our trip. We appreciated the regular updates from Mountain Highs and were able to change details of our trip such as adding new guests at the very last minute. The booking system was easy to use and the invoice system helped us to budget ahead of the trip.

During our trip, we couldn't have asked for more. Our hosts were amazing and very good at what they do. They were very patient with us, despite it being a 'lively' rather group!!

We paid for most of the in-resort services on our last night in cash or by card which was really convenient. Our ski hire equipment was picked up by the ski shop so we had no hassles at the end of the stay whatsoever. The town centre was a ten minute walk which was easy for our group.

All-in-all we couldn't have asked for more from our stay at Chalet Christol. Everything was organised for us by the chalet owners and hosts and all we had to do was turn up! I would rate this Chalet, and recommend it to anyone. Our group was very easy-going - we knew it was not five star accommodation, although it was modern, clean and well equipped for our needs so suited us perfectly.

If you are very fussy about room size and storage space etc check the room dimensions before you book to avoid disappointment. If you aren't able to manage the ten minute walk to the centre, maybe try for somewhere closer to the town centre!

If you want to experience an excellent catered ski trip on a budget give this place a try!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor possibly better than ground floor check dimensions and storage capacity before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We kept thinking this chalet experience was too good to be true after booking but on arrival we soon learnt it wasn't - it was everything it claimed to be and provided a fantastic week for all of us.

The process before we left was impressibly efficient with emails promptly answered and an online booking system that each member of our group could use individually. It was easy to discuss queries to aid selection of the right options for us. Having provided all our weights and measures our skis and boots were waiting on arrival. The guys who helped with fitting had some great advice and the kit was quality. The chalet guys were really helpful when one member out of 15 needed to change her boots.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly during our stay and the chalet was newly refurbished and exceeded expectation. It was clean throughout and the price for the chalet plus airport transfers and a hot tub and sauna as well as wine with dinner is fantastic.

We took advantage of the offer to ski guide in Courmayeur. The chalet guys transported us all through the tunnel and guided us around the ski area to help us make best use of our one opportunity to go there on our ski pass.

The food was great each day: bread and cereals in the morning with something extra on all but staff day off, cake waiting on return and 3 courses each evening.

The transfers worked well each day. There are set times when the staff will drop you to and from the slopes because they have work to do during the day but they were always reasonably flexible, on time and were happy for some changes (within reason) to be arranged over the phone during the day if needed. On the one day off the staff have in the week we had to rely on the public bus which was busy and ran on 'French time', but it was only one day out of 6 and again wasn't really a lasting memory. There is a bus stop a short walk from the chalet which connected to the main bus lines but in the evening half the group walked it as there was a long connection wait but it didn't feel that it took too long even with skis and wearing ski boots.

Overall you will have the best experience possible without paying an extortionate amount. In some respects there are some minor things that enable the costs to be kept down but we're talking about own brand instead of main brand. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and if you go - have a great trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in this chalet over new year on a group skiing holiday. I'm disappointed to see some of the negative reviews as we couldn't have asked for more from the staff at this chalet. The chalet itself is amazing, and decorated to a high standard.

our room was pretty small but it didn't matter due to the large living area.

The staff did anything they could to help us, including extra pick ups from the slopes out of their allotted times on a couple of occasions.

The food was always good, not gourmet but had nothing to complain about. The staff were so friendly and accommodating with home made cake when we returned every day.

The hot tub and sauna were fab and we used them every day.

The rooms were not cleaned every day but it was kept tidy and it was cleaned enough times during our weeks stay.

I would not hesitate to return to this chalet and we are already discussing returning for a summer holiday.

This place is excellent value for money and you cannot expect 5 star luxury for what you pay for but to be honest it's not far off!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at Chalet Mammoth and frankly the experience bares no resembles to the description advertised. The "freshly prepared gourmet food" consists of a breakfast of bread and jam. No continental breakfast as expected. Afternoon tea is a cake wrapped in silver foil which you have to find on one of the tables. Evening meal, cold potatoes, over-cooked meat and fish again cold, burnt vegetables, moldy fruit salad from a tin.Our bedrooms and living areas were not cleaned or Hoovered all the time we were there and we had to ask them to empty the overflowing bins in the kitchen. The Chalet staff were too busy sometimes to take or collect us from the ski resorts as they were Boarding or at a Party! It was our holiday not theirs. We have given the Company the opportunity to address our complaints but they have chosen to just take our money and move on. If you are thinking of using this chalet beware they will take your money and give no value or service. Customer satisfaction is non existent.

Room Tip: I would suggest finding a Chalet closer to the center of the town as it is a good walk from the cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buntybarnstormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Chalet Mammoth in Chamonix and were very unhappy with the service of the company, Montain Highs. We were very disappointed with the accomodation, catering and company as a whole.
The food was incredibly low standard. No cleaning was done during our stay. There were heating and lighting problems. There were very many issues we could list that we had complaints about but the company addressed them in a very poor and unproffessional manor, by lying their way out of them.
We would like to voice our disappointment with our holiday booked with Montain Highs and we would definately NOT recommend this company to book your holiday with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josiesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
485 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamonix Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamonix Lodge

Property: Chamonix Lodge
Address: 92 Chemin de la Chna, 74400, Chamonix, France (Formerly Mountain Highs Chalet Christol)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal at Chamonix Lodge is to provide you with modern, great value hostel style accommodation and holidays in the wonderful mountain town of Chamonix. Chamonix Lodge operates hostel style accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis and we can offer you a fully equipped kitchen to use at other meal times. We have three separate living areas for you to relax in and most of our bedrooms are en-suite; we have many configurations in rooming type to suit your needs. From our large garden you can access the hot tub and sauna (all year round), and more specifically in the summer time you can make use of our relaxing hammocks, decking area, slackline, and barbecue area after a great day in the Chamonix mountains. Our hostel is owned and operated by mountain lovers! Whether you are here to take part in the numerous winter and summer outdoor activities or just for sightseeing, we want you to feel the love that we have for the amazing town of Chamonix and the stunning mountains that surround us. Chamonix Lodge is located a short distance from the centre of Chamonix, with a bus stop at the end of our road for those who don’t want to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Chamonix Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing