We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great value for money ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A plus if you speak French as the staff barely understands English.
Reception people are not very helpful and a concierge would make the experience significantly better.
The spa is disappointing: great view yet no service and closes too early (7 pm)
Breakfast buffet is average.
Location (very central) is the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cam_London_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathya C, Propriétaire at Park Hotel Suisse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Good afternoon Cam_London_13
Thanks for your comment. I am really sorry that your stay was not as you expected. We recently obtained the 4th star and we are working on improving our services so your opinion is very valuable. All our receptionists are speaking at least English and French.
We do not have a concierge yet, but all staff at reception are here to do that job (Booking transfers to and from the airport, booking tables at restaurant, the possibility to buy ski passes at the hotel among others).
Thanks again for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 403 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

the rooms are basic but comfortable and clean (if a little over air freshenered on some days) they have a bath, shower, fridge and UK TV - we were in the most basic but still got a view of mont black (across a courtyard)

the ski room is easy to get to as long as you take your ski boots off at the top of the stairs as they are a little narrow

The restaurant is very nice, with an open fire and offers a good choice of breakfast (we didnt eat dinner in there) the bar is a bit pricey but only in line with anywhere in chamonix.

The spa is out of this world. chilling in a bathwater hot rooftop pool with views of mont blanc after a hard days sking is one of thebest experiences ever. I nearly missed my transfer home I was so relaxed.

The staff were friendly and helpful even indulging me by responding to my appalling French in French not English and did a great job of explaining everything, including buses and recommending ski resorts and advise on lift passes.

The hotel is 50m from the bus stop so if you dont have a car its perfect. its also 50m form the main shopping and the supermarket so you can get all your provisions easily.

we will stay there agin without hesitation on our next trip. Many thanks

Room Tip: 214 was a family room with a sofa bed and a double, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathya C, Propriétaire at Park Hotel Suisse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear “Stone Family”, thank you so much for your support. The SPA has been open for two years now and we are glad to see that our guests really like it. In summer, all the superior rooms, up the Jacuzzi becomes a large outdoor solarium with long chairs and sofas.
We are waiting for your next stay and feel free to contact us again for any request!

Good afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Only a short walk from Chamonix train staton and a block from ski bus. Hotel was charming and cozy (knotty pine, dining room, nice room with balcony and view). Restaurant on site a plus for breakfast and dinner - small groups and return guests. Loved sitting in the rooftop spa jacuzzi and hot pool looking at Mont Blanc after day of skiing. Hotel a highlight of my first vsit to Chamonix...

Room Tip: Our 5th floor room faced the front, had a double/queen bed, balcony, mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diedra34108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathya C, Propriétaire at Park Hotel Suisse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear “Diedra34108”,
We wanted to thank you for your post. We are really pleased to hear that and we are working everyday to make your stay a great memory. We will make some improvement on some rooms for this summer, and we would be really glad to welcoming you again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any specific enquiries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

the desk personnel are extremely nasty, surly. they do not greet you .They do not give you any information of the hotel amenities. They look at you as if to say why do you dare come in ? They told us to park in public parking up the street because they said their garage was full. Then the very next people to come in they offered them the hotel parking. They said we could leave our belongings in storage and then on the day of check out ,,they said we could not! The rooms are small, cheap furnishings. A 2 star at best. considering the very rude behavior of staff I would give it 0 stars. Why stay at a hotel where they try their best to make you miserable??? Directly across the street from a construction site.Thank God we only had to stay for one night. we were staying at the grand hoteldes alpe and they did not have a room for us the last night . STAY AT GRAND HOTEL DES ALPE!!! BEAUTIFUL, GREAT SERVICE FRIENDLY, HELPFUL STAFF 6 STARS FOR THEM.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The adjectives we can think of for describing this hotel are all in negative: unhelpful, inefficient, unkind, to the extent of being almost dishonest. Despite our repeated inquiries for information/confirmation, for example regarding their shuttle bus services between the hotel and the airport, they failed to respond to our request. Result: we were obliged to find one on our own, and yet, to our surprise, they charged us 40 euros as the fare (we paid 35 euros for the taxi we took).
We had booked a triple room but were given a double and were charged for a triple! There were other unpleasant anecdotes but we won't go into them.
We are senior citizens traveling widely, and this was the worst experience we ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Condors918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathya C, Propriétaire at Park Hotel Suisse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear CONDORS918,
I would like to thank you that you took some of your time to write a comment on our hotel. I feel really sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. We can provide a transfer service between Geneva airport and the hotel. However, we need some information to book it that we ask all the time. If we don’t have that information, we can’t book it. We had at least 1 transfer to book per day and we never had any problems with that.
I think the room you had was a room with a sofa, and the sofa can be turned into a bed. And If you were charged the price of a triple room which appeared to be a double, we should have charged you a double, and not a triple. I think this was all a misunderstanding and you could contact us as we could find back your reservation file and check together what happened and try to fix this situation which is not usual in our hotel.
I would like to thank you again for your comments, and we are looking forward to haer from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The central location in Chamonix was ideal and our two rooms were generous in size. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool on the roof. I have difficulty recommending the hotel however, because the staff was so super unhelpful. The desk staff had no information about local restaurants. Their directions to places that were literally 100 yards away from the hotel were incomplete and vague. We witnessed over and over their distain for skiers and the accompanying equipment, boots, etc associated with skiing. Even asking basic questions, we were faced with employees who made somewhat fake efforts to get us answers although they had the distinct vibe that they hoped we would just go away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathya C, Propriétaire at Park Hotel Suisse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Good afternoon Barbara B,

I would like to thank you that you took time to write a comment about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the spa and our facilities. However, I am really sorry that you had an unpleasant feeling with our staff. Usually, we help finding and booking restaurants for our guests and I am pretty disappointed that it was not the case with you. Please accept our sincere apologies. We also do not hope our guest to go away and I am sorry you had this feeling. It is also really important to know that we are in the very center of the valley of Chamonix, which is really busy with skiers during winter, and we are really happy with our skiers clientele. We just ask them to store their skies in the Ski room, which is made for this and really convenient with the boots heaters with both access to outside and to the lifts. We try to have our room and hotel clean and dry for the comfort of everyone which would be a lot more complicated if everyone was storing their skies equipment in their room.
Again, I am really sorry you felt that way about our staff and our hotel and thanks again for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and found the rooms to be very comfortable (although too warm at night) and a good size. The location was great, although we found skiing in Chamonix a bit tedious without a hire car. The breakfasts were reasonable. Not all the staff were friendly, but some were. The spa was lovely, although, as hotel guests, it seemed a bit mean to have to pay extra for robes and extra towels! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LOLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Suisse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Suisse & Spa

Address: 75 allee du Majestic, 74402, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $172 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Suisse & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hôtel Suisse et Spa has been welcoming guests from all around the world since the 1930's with a single theme: "hospitality".This hotel is ideally located in the very heart of the town, in a quiet setting just opposite the tourist office.The Park Hotel Suisse & Spa has 66 rooms which enjoy a view on the Brévent side or on the Mont-Blanc side. The hotel also has a restaurant and bar, 2 meeting rooms as well as a spa area with an 360° breathtaking view on the Mont-Blanc range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hotel Suisse & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Suisse Chamonix
Hotel Park Suisse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing