We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice room, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Richemond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Richemond
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Richmond in the summer. We had a room for four and there was plenty of room. Magnificent view of Mont Blanc from the room. The staff was extremely helpful. It is an older hotel, and a little quirky, but it has a great location and it has parking. Handheld shower in the bathroom was fine. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd floor was able to receive the WI-FI signal some of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenceiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    106
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
78
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very good traditional hotel in the middle of Chamonix in the wonderful French Alps. Great view overlooking the Mont Blanc massif and other summits. Very homely, friendly hotel with lots of atmosphere and history. You walk straight in from the main boulevard, look up at Mont Blanc especially if you have a front balcony window ... what could be better!

Room Tip: At the front with a balcony - life could not be better - looking up at the Auguille de Midi, Mont Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed here as we began our Tour du Mont Blanc. The hotel is definitely starting to show it's age, but the staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and went out of there way to help us feel at home. The room was also clean and gave us a great view of Glacier des Bossons. Our only complaint with the room was the shower. As with many European bathrooms there was no curtain around the bathtub. The shower nozzle also had a mind of its own so it could not be left on when you didn't have it in your hand.
Also the breakfast is not included in the price of the room. That was not made clear to us when we checked in. It was a nice breakfast, and for the price better than we would have gotten in the city, but just be aware.

Room Tip: There is no AC so if you like to have the room cool at night you will need to sleep with the room op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayaker5629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJ-Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

For those who want to ski at Chamonix this is a excellente place.
The hotel is old, but this is not a problem. The hotel is very charmy.
The staff is very friendly. They will give to you all information necessary about the city and the ski areas. If you need something, they will try to do the best they can to give this to you.
The location is perfect. The hotel stay at the main street of the town, where you will find, by walk, restaurants, bars, minimarket, drugstore and stores.
Behind the hotel there is a stop bus that takes you to all places to ski. From 5 to 25 min depending the place you would like to ski.
The breakfast is nice.
The only problem the hotel is the noise. Sometimes I could heard the steps in room up of my. Sometimes I could heard the noise to the pub beside the hotel. But after a day of ski, you will be so tired that you will sleep like a baby.
At the first day I found my room a little cold, but later the room become confortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo_RJ_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I love this type of hotel. A proper hotel, with very welcoming and helpful people behind the front desk. Faded grandeur, a magnificent stone staircase and very impressive, if slightly tatty, looking reception area.
Triple room was enormous with beautiful balcony overlooking the town. Dodgy green flowery wallpaper that actually kind of suited. A dining table with chairs? Great bath. Down the impressive front drive, less than 50m and you're bang on the strip.
The breakfast room was amazing, it was snowing while we were there , and to sit watching the snow falling outside the massive picture windows was lovely. The breakfast food selection wasn't quite so amazing, but fine.
Only WIFI in the lobby and very patchy, had to pay for a code.
Played pingpong in the games room beside the lobby, and borrowed ball and bats from the reception.
Good parking.
Yes, it is noisy in the rooms, it sounded like the people in the room above were marching around in their ski boots. But hey, for all the good points this hotel has, we could put up with it.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wawagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just back from a long weekend at the Richemond after a recommendation from family member.
The room was great! Slightly outdated but falls on the right side of charming. £ per sq.m is the best I've seen in France! Huge room, lovely balcony overlooking the town and Mont Blanc. Clean bathroom with mountain view from the bath! Plenty of hanging space and chairs to relax with a beer after skiing. Beds could be comfier, pillows could be softer and walls could be thicker..but take earplugs, ski hard and have a night cap and these become minor problems!
Breakfast is sufficient. Continental..ham, croissants, bread, cereal etc..The biggest challenge is getting a soft boiled egg in the self service water tank..8 minutes is the winner!
The staff are extremely friendly and the night porter is very good (although my friend thinks this is just because he served me half pint measures of Baileys!)
The wifi is only available in the lobby and you have to log on and re-enter your details everytime..slightly annoying but c'est la vie!
All in all a fantastic hotel. Very good price for (smack bang in the) centre of Cham and free parking.
Don't know why I'm telling you all this coz I'll be livid if it's fully booked when I want to stay next year!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I love this beautiful, old fashioned, family run hotel. I have stayed here a couple of times now and tend to come back at least once a year during ski season. To me it feels like staying with family - they always remember me, my name and that I have stayed there before. I usually stay alone and always have the same room (room 31) with beautiful old wooden floors, a sleigh bed and outrageous wisteria wall paper. The hotel has not been refurbished in ages so it looks outdated but it is in good condition and very clean.The walls between rooms are paper thin so don't stay here if you are a ligth sleeper. If you are a sound sleeper like me, you'll appreciate the excellent value for money and the perfect location, slap bang in the centre of town, with on site customer parking and a bus sop for the free shuttle busses right behind the hotel. Breakfast is simple but good. Don't be detracted by the simple website and the fact that email responses may take forever, they usually have a good value room and are exceedingly friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richemond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richemond

Property: Hotel Richemond
Address: 228 rue du Docteur Paccard, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richemond 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Richemond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richemond Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing