We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“skiing trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Balcons Du Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“skiing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here Jan 2014. Great apartment with view of my.Blanco on 5th floor excellent ski in-out options which would suit even the complete beginner. Spa, pool etc an added bonus, well equipped kitchen, linen, towels etc all good standard. Bus stop for both piste and general travel right outside. Not really any bar atmosphere though, just a pretty lounge and open fire very cute for couples and families but not ideal for groups of those looking for lively apres ski. But charm town more than makes up for this, overall excellent location, staff and facilities will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of main block and preferably on top floor for morning views of my blanc and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scout1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    112
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
156
81
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Where to start... You arrive to find everything costs extra, change of towels €16 euros, sauna €10, drier €5. Sheets weren't changed and bloody. Breakfast poor and you had to request that they open the breakfast room. Good location a plus but the only silver lining.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Conbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

First, the positives. Les Balcons has an unbeatable position, with great views and a short traverse to a beginners’ Poma which will take you up from where you can ski down close to the base of the Brévent gondola. Returning to the hotel from the gondola is even easier because after walking across the road and putting your skis back on it’s downhill and the traverse is even shorter. Also, the staff are uniformly charming and helpful and make you feel very welcome.
However -- I stayed for six nights in a studio apartment at Les Balcons. You do expect your bed to be made when you arrive at any hotel, let alone a 4-star establishment. In my room there were some folded sheets tossed onto a very uncomfortable single sofa bed, which I had to dismantle and make up. A small thing, perhaps, but we’re not talking about some cheap hostel accommodation.
Next, whenever I stuck the key card into the slot to turn the power on, about 50% of the time the master fuse blew. Again, not a huge problem, you just need to reset the switch in the fuse box by the door. But it’s irritating, especially at night with no light, fumbling around the fuse box, using your mobile phone for illumination.
Then there was the Wi-Fi. It was basically completely unreliable for the first couple of days, dropping in an out during my first 36 hours there, and unfortunately I needed the internet for professional reasons and so was forced to use my mobile phone hotspot and endure the expensive international roaming charges. It recovered the next day, and then occasionally dropped out again. When a hotel offers Wi-Fi, it ought to be reliable. Perhaps it was just an isolated glitch that could happen to anyone.
They are miserly with toiletries – I had to go down to reception and asked for toilet paper and more soap!
I don’t often write these reviews, and when I do I tend to be generous, accentuating the positive. This is the most critical review I’ve written. What with the uncomfortable, unmade bed, the unreliable Wi-Fi, the stinginess with the toiletries and the interesting electrics, they need to try just a little harder at Les Balcons. But having said all that, I would probably come back for the location alone if I was returning to Chamonix.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 189Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here with my family in a 1 bedroom apartment and my extended family also had the studio and 2 bedroom units. The hotel is in a great location for ski in/ski out type trip. You just cross the grassy (or snowy) area behind the hotel to hit the bunny slopes and gondola to the upper part of the mountain. My 4 year old had no problem walking it every morning. The rooms are fairly large with plenty of storage space. Each unit had its own parking space too and ski locker for extra gear. Having a kitchen was perfect for quick breakfasts and snacks but I wouldn't try cooking any major meals as it is quite small. The beds were comfortable, the pillows were plentiful and the balconies with unobstructed views on Monte Blanc were breathtaking! The bathrooms were very nice with big tub although showering proved difficult because there was no curtain and water got everywhere. This hotel also allows pets which was another reason we chose this location. The hotel is just up a small hill from the main street and is maybe a 3 minute walk to the pedestrian area with all the shops and restaurants. There is also a bakery right down the hill which was perfect for getting breakfast breads and pastries. We did not eat at the hotel as it was just too convenient to get the stuff fresh yourself. Although very pricey, it is the location you are paying for. I would gladly stay here again for its pure convenience to the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony with views of Monte Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location, we are living tomorrow and lm so glad we were here...worth for every $ we spend....we have an apartment and its with kitchen better than u have at home... clean , toilets super , the view is wonderful ... everything is so close u never need to take your car, the cantar is 2 min walk ...you have to see it....words cannot describe it ...
also great for children because of the ski kids area in front of the hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was staying during my 3 days working in Chamonix. It was not a peak season, so the hotel was almost complete empty.
It's a cabin style kind of hotel, it offers wooden look like rooms. Perfect for the skiers. It hast also indoors swimming pool but unfortunately was not open during my stay.
The hotel also have wifi connection which only work best around the lobby area. But their own made croissant is absolute Devine.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerryErwanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, great staff & service, very nice flat with superb view (A/410). Very good and friendly massage (Karine). Nice pool and game room for kids. Bus to Grand Montet very close, Brevent cable car can be raeched on skis. Cross country ski is 10' away. Second time there and we will be back in 2 months. Best flats in Chamonix... by far.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Property: Les Balcons Du Savoy
Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing